FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[GUIDE] Return your European M8 to 100% Stock - S-OFF REQUIRED

15,281 posts
Thanks Meter: 4,034
 
By EddyOS, Senior Member on 29th April 2014, 12:20 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
5th February 2018, 05:39 PM |#1001  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 6,516
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMadKing

So, a friend of mine recently bought a second hand M8, and I tried to convert it to European stock.

(bootloader) version-main: 6.12.401.4

Main version shown indicates that the 6.12.401.4 RUU or firmware flashed, or at least partially flashed, and broke the radio.

You have the Verizon version M8, which is not compatible with other M8 versions' RUU or firmware. You should not try to change to another CID/MID and flash other version RUU/firmware, otherwise radio brick is a known result. Try to revert to stock Verizon RUU as instructed in response to your post in another thread.
 
 
22nd February 2018, 10:44 AM |#1002  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by messuphard

i did download the mentioned RUU zip (here : https://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=24369303960687057)

i went into bootloader mode and entered:
- fastboot oem rebootRUU
then
fastboot flash zip ...(filename)

but i get an error installing the zip:
(bootloader) zip header checking ...
(bootloader) shift signature_size for header checking ...
FAILED (remote: 32 header error)
...
what could this mean?
i found that, i have to use the htc_fastboot command. i will post if it works with an updated linux environment

I finally found time to do the correct htc_flash (on windows7). and it worked fine instantly.
before i go ahead, i wanted to ask if i can be hopefull that calls work fine with custom ROMS (now based on this RUU) ?
i would like to try
https://forum.xda-developers.com/htc...ne-m8-t3669070
or
https://forum.xda-developers.com/htc...pload-t3064838
can someone recommend a AOSP or as close as possible, that also support the special HTC Sound?

thanks a lot!
2nd March 2018, 01:29 PM |#1003  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
i still have the same problem (noaudio/mic during calls) with the mentioned RUU, which i could install without any signs of wrongsgoings (https://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=24369303960687057)

any ideas please!? ?
5th March 2018, 04:22 PM |#1004  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 6,516
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by messuphard

i still have the same problem (noaudio/mic during calls) with the mentioned RUU, which i could install without any signs of wrongsgoings (https://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=24369303960687057)

any ideas please!? ?

If you are still having audio/mic issues after successful RUU, then unfortunately it may be a hardware issue.
26th May 2018, 11:10 PM |#1005  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I need to get S-OFF
FIREWATER is not working
SUNSHINE says that there is a problem with my rom : lineage os 14
Please help im stuck
27th May 2018, 05:03 AM |#1006  
Einwod's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lardos, Rhodes, Greece.
Thanks Meter: 2,016
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by YahyaChagri

I need to get S-OFF
FIREWATER is not working
SUNSHINE says that there is a problem with my rom : lineage os 14
Please help im stuck

Firewater hasn't been available for years. Go back to stock and then Sunshine will work. Why do you NEED s-off? Are you sure you need it?

Sent from my Honor View 10 using XDA Labs
The Following User Says Thank You to Einwod For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Einwod Ad-Free
28th May 2018, 03:59 PM |#1007  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Einwod

Firewater hasn't been available for years. Go back to stock and then Sunshine will work. Why do you NEED s-off? Are you sure you need it?

Sent from my Honor View 10 using XDA Labs

I need S OFF to get to stock ... as the thread said
i need to rewrite my cid so i can use RUU from htc site
please tell me that there is a better way
29th May 2018, 05:28 AM |#1008  
Einwod's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lardos, Rhodes, Greece.
Thanks Meter: 2,016
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by YahyaChagri

I need S OFF to get to stock ... as the thread said
i need to rewrite my cid so i can use RUU from htc site
please tell me that there is a better way

If you never had s-off before, you certainly don't need it now and have no need to change your CID to go back to stock. Post the results of fastboot getvar all after removing your serial and IMEI numbers. We'll be better able to point you in the right direction.

Sent from my Honor View 10 using XDA Labs
The Following User Says Thank You to Einwod For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Einwod Ad-Free
29th May 2018, 10:51 PM |#1009  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Einwod

If you never had s-off before, you certainly don't need it now and have no need to change your CID to go back to stock. Post the results of fastboot getvar all after removing your serial and IMEI numbers. We'll be better able to point you in the right direction.

Sent from my Honor View 10 using XDA Labs

(bootloader) version: 0.5
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 3.19.0.0000
(bootloader) version-baseband: 1.29.214500021.12G
(bootloader) version-cpld: None
(bootloader) version-microp: None
(bootloader) version-main:
(bootloader) version-misc: PVT SHIP S-ON
(bootloader) serialno: xxxxxxplzhlp
(bootloader) imei: xxxxxxxxxxxxx
(bootloader) imei2: Not Support
(bootloader) meid: 00000000000000
(bootloader) product: m8_ul
(bootloader) platform: hTCBmsm8974
(bootloader) modelid: 0P6B10000
(bootloader) cidnum: HTC__001
(bootloader) battery-status: good
(bootloader) battery-voltage: 0mV
(bootloader) partition-layout: Generic
(bootloader) security: on
(bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
(bootloader) boot-mode: FASTBOOT
(bootloader) commitno-bootloader: 76df2b54
(bootloader) hbootpreupdate: 11
(bootloader) gencheckpt: 0
all: Done!
thank youuu
30th May 2018, 04:38 AM |#1010  
Einwod's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lardos, Rhodes, Greece.
Thanks Meter: 2,016
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by YahyaChagri

(bootloader) version: 0.5
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 3.19.0.0000
(bootloader) version-baseband: 1.29.214500021.12G
(bootloader) version-cpld: None
(bootloader) version-microp: None
(bootloader) version-main:
(bootloader) version-misc: PVT SHIP S-ON
(bootloader) serialno: xxxxxxplzhlp
(bootloader) imei: xxxxxxxxxxxxx
(bootloader) imei2: Not Support
(bootloader) meid: 00000000000000
(bootloader) product: m8_ul
(bootloader) platform: hTCBmsm8974
(bootloader) modelid: 0P6B10000
(bootloader) cidnum: HTC__001
(bootloader) battery-status: good
(bootloader) battery-voltage: 0mV
(bootloader) partition-layout: Generic
(bootloader) security: on
(bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
(bootloader) boot-mode: FASTBOOT
(bootloader) commitno-bootloader: 76df2b54
(bootloader) hbootpreupdate: 11
(bootloader) gencheckpt: 0
all: Done!
thank youuu

Have a read at this thread. https://forum.xda-developers.com/htc...-twrp-t3086860
Everything you need is in the first 5 posts. Read carefully, read it again and then follow the instructions to the letter. If you follow the instructions you cannot fail.

Sent from my Honor View 10 using XDA Labs
The Following User Says Thank You to Einwod For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Einwod Ad-Free
30th May 2018, 04:19 PM |#1011  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 6,516
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by YahyaChagri

I need S OFF to get to stock ... as the thread said
i need to rewrite my cid so i can use RUU from htc site
please tell me that there is a better way

You only need s-off for the method given at the top this thread (to return to stock). However, the method in this thread is long obsolete. There are more up-to-date methods to return to stock (Euro version) that do not require s-off. I've addressed this several times in this thread. I wish folks would read the updates (skim through the last few pages of the more recent posts) on a thread, before following instructions that are over 4 years old! It's really just common sense to do so.

You do NOT need s-off to flash the signed RUU intended for your (Euro) device. Which can be found (with instructions) here: https://forum.xda-developers.com/sho...26&postcount=6

In many cases, it is not recommended to change your CID and flash other version RUUs (for other regions). Doing do will change the phone's band support, and possibly break or otherwise affect the connectivity you have with your local carrier. Unless of course, the specific intent is to change the band support.
The Following User Says Thank You to redpoint73 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift redpoint73 Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes