FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[ROM] [5.1] [10/22/15] LolliGPE - Sense Apps, Xposed, F2FS, Themes[MULTICARRIER]

3,622 posts
Thanks Meter: 12,019
 
By digitalhigh, Inactive Recognized Developer on 13th April 2014, 07:45 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Announcement from digitalhigh: Lollipop GPE for All HTC M8 Carriers
26th April 2017, 04:06 AM |#14961  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
FYI LTE 4G not working fix not always working with 4.4.4 firmare/RUU
Hello
I know this is a super old thread and maybe no one cares anymore, but I have hosed my 4G on two VZW M8 phones so far and read every post I could find on XDA about firmware flashing, RUUs etc., including this comment in the OP:
-----------------begin quote from OP
"HELP! I flashed this ROM, and now my LTE doesn't work...even on other ROMS!

First off, chill out. This is a known issue with HTC devices as a result of nothing more than flashing ROMS over and over and over and over again. While it is alarming, it's fairly easy (albeit involved) to fix. Read below:

Anyone having radio issues: The NV partition, which handles the radios, may be corrupted. Especially if you do a lot of ROM and firmware flashing. You can flash all the ROM's and firmware you like but it will not change the fact something is corrupt. The only way to reset the partition to out of the box stock is to flash your carrier's 4.4.4 firmware and the stock recovery for you device. Reboot to recovery and select factory data reset and let it do it's thing. If you watch the reset log you will see it mention resetting the NV partition. Then just flash back your recovery of choice and ROM of choice. This has been the proven fix for HTC devices for a few years now. "
----------------end quote from OP
I have flashed my Verizon stock firmware 4.4.4 and then got into stock recovery and did a full reset, the on-screen log showed Verizon NV getting reset, and then rebooted the stock rom and it DID NOT FIX MY 4G. I have then flashed every firmware that I could find down to the 1.55.605.2 version, which is the version my phone came with and the earliest firmware I thought was available, repeated the recovery reset and still NO 4G!
Just a few minutes ago I found the 1.12.605.11 RUU and flashed it (BTW, you MUST be S-off, or find an S-ON FUU version 1.12.605.11, if it even exists), and HOORAY!!! 4G is fixed, I didn't even have to do the recovery reset, just flashed the RUU zip file using hboot/fastboot method on my ext sd with the correct file name for my Verizon 0P6BIMG.zip.
I just wanted to post this because it may help others, it ended a months long frustrating nightmare for me.
26th April 2017, 07:19 PM |#14962  
santod040's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Recognized Contributor
Flag NorCal
Thanks Meter: 23,634
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by imonxda

Hello
I know this is a super old thread and maybe no one cares anymore, but I have hosed my 4G on two VZW M8 phones so far and read every post I could find on XDA about firmware flashing, RUUs etc., including this comment in the OP:
-----------------begin quote from OP
"HELP! I flashed this ROM, and now my LTE doesn't work...even on other ROMS!

First off, chill out. This is a known issue with HTC devices as a result of nothing more than flashing ROMS over and over and over and over again. While it is alarming, it's fairly easy (albeit involved) to fix. Read below:

Anyone having radio issues: The NV partition, which handles the radios, may be corrupted. Especially if you do a lot of ROM and firmware flashing. You can flash all the ROM's and firmware you like but it will not change the fact something is corrupt. The only way to reset the partition to out of the box stock is to flash your carrier's 4.4.4 firmware and the stock recovery for you device. Reboot to recovery and select factory data reset and let it do it's thing. If you watch the reset log you will see it mention resetting the NV partition. Then just flash back your recovery of choice and ROM of choice. This has been the proven fix for HTC devices for a few years now. "
----------------end quote from OP
I have flashed my Verizon stock firmware 4.4.4 and then got into stock recovery and did a full reset, the on-screen log showed Verizon NV getting reset, and then rebooted the stock rom and it DID NOT FIX MY 4G. I have then flashed every firmware that I could find down to the 1.55.605.2 version, which is the version my phone came with and the earliest firmware I thought was available, repeated the recovery reset and still NO 4G!
Just a few minutes ago I found the 1.12.605.11 RUU and flashed it (BTW, you MUST be S-off, or find an S-ON FUU version 1.12.605.11, if it even exists), and HOORAY!!! 4G is fixed, I didn't even have to do the recovery reset, just flashed the RUU zip file using hboot/fastboot method on my ext sd with the correct file name for my Verizon 0P6BIMG.zip.
I just wanted to post this because it may help others, it ended a months long frustrating nightmare for me.

Old HTC recovery, used to restore NV radio partitions during a factory reset.
As of Lollipop, I believe it was, they stopped doing that.
Which is why the stock recovery factory reset no longer works for this purpose, on current m8 firmware, as well as on the M9, m10, etc.

The process now, just requires erasing the modems via fastboot, which is actually a much quicker process anyhow.


On m8 and m9:

fastboot erase modem_st1
fastboot erase modem_st2


On the HTC 10:

fastboot erase modemst1
fastboot erase modemst2


Notice the difference of the underscore...
Anyhow, thought I'd drop that info here, to point out a much simpler alternative and the reason why that old process doesn't work anymore...

Sent from my HTC6545LVW using Tapatalk
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to santod040 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th April 2017, 02:08 AM |#14963  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
NV radio LTE/4G fix for flashaholics
Quote:
Originally Posted by santod040

Old HTC recovery, used to restore NV radio partitions during a factory reset.
As of Lollipop, I believe it was, they stopped doing that.
Which is why the stock recovery factory reset no longer works for this purpose, on current m8 firmware, as well as on the M9, m10, etc.

The process now, just requires erasing the modems via fastboot, which is actually a much quicker process anyhow.


On m8 and m9:

fastboot erase modem_st1
fastboot erase modem_st2


On the HTC 10:

fastboot erase modemst1
fastboot erase modemst2


Notice the difference of the underscore...
Anyhow, thought I'd drop that info here, to point out a much simpler alternative and the reason why that old process doesn't work anymore...

Sent from my HTC6545LVW using Tapatalk

Wow, thanks. I wish I knew this before I needlessly RUUed my phone and had to go through hours of restoring what I had.
Just a small question, is there anything I need to do after this "erase" ? BTW I'm stubbornly stuck on KK firmware cause I love KitKat the way it works compared to any other Android, except Nougat, but not much variety of Nougat roms for my MultiRom obsession And related question, do you know if I upgrade firmware to latest for M8, will it limit me from installing and having well working old roms based on old firmware with MultiRom?
Right now, I got a CRAZY number of roms installed and all features work using the KK firmware (Verizon M8 3.28.605.4). I can install just about ANY rom I want (with the "right" MR-TWRP version), except the majority Nougat roms fail to install - only Mokee 7.1.1 and a few others install.
3rd April 2018, 11:42 AM |#14964  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Duo Camera
Hello i have installed this rom on my rooted M8, but the problem is there is no Duo camera effects,because what it has is a newer version of a camera,with no Ufocus,Foreground,3d etc. options.
30th July 2018, 09:53 PM |#14965  
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
any alt mirror for this? California, USA #1 is super slow and the connection fail. thanks
31st July 2018, 03:32 AM |#14966  
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
it seems that was server congestions, was able to download later
20th August 2018, 05:08 PM |#14967  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by santod040

Old HTC recovery, used to restore NV radio partitions during a factory reset.
As of Lollipop, I believe it was, they stopped doing that.
Which is why the stock recovery factory reset no longer works for this purpose, on current m8 firmware, as well as on the M9, m10, etc.

The process now, just requires erasing the modems via fastboot, which is actually a much quicker process anyhow.


On m8 and m9:

fastboot erase modem_st1
fastboot erase modem_st2


On the HTC 10:

fastboot erase modemst1
fastboot erase modemst2


Notice the difference of the underscore...
Anyhow, thought I'd drop that info here, to point out a much simpler alternative and the reason why that old process doesn't work anymore...

Sent from my HTC6545LVW using Tapatalk

Santod040, I know this is an old thread, but I'm hoping you can help me.

I've tried doing what you described above and I get the following error:

PS C:\ADB\platform-tools> ./fastboot erase modem_st1
******** Did you mean to fastboot format this ext4 partition?
Erasing 'modem_st1' FAILED (remote: not allowed)
Finished. Total time: 0.016s

I'm not real sure how to proceed.

Thanks in advance for any help.
21st August 2018, 05:50 AM |#14968  
santod040's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Recognized Contributor
Flag NorCal
Thanks Meter: 23,634
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orig_Pinn

Santod040, I know this is an old thread, but I'm hoping you can help me.

I've tried doing what you described above and I get the following error:

PS C:\ADB\platform-tools> ./fastboot erase modem_st1
******** Did you mean to fastboot format this ext4 partition?
Erasing 'modem_st1' FAILED (remote: not allowed)
Finished. Total time: 0.016s

I'm not real sure how to proceed.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Need to be booted to bootloader to run the commands.

Sent from my HTC6545LVW using Tapatalk
24th August 2018, 05:20 PM |#14969  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by santod040

Need to be booted to bootloader to run the commands.

Sent from my HTC6545LVW using Tapatalk

OK. Stupid question. So I connect phone to PC via USB. Everything is recognized.

I start ADB. I input "./adb devices" and I see my phone.
I input " ./adb reboot bootloader" and the phone reboots into FASTBOOT
I input "./fastboot devices" and I see my phone.

Here is where I am stuck. You said to go into bootloader which I think is the option "HBOOT". Whenever I leave the FASTBOOT menu I here the computer ding like the phone was disconnected. So either I am going into the wrong menu or I'm in the wrong place completely or something LOL.

Can you quickly walk me through it?

TIA
24th August 2018, 05:24 PM |#14970  
santod040's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Recognized Contributor
Flag NorCal
Thanks Meter: 23,634
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orig_Pinn

OK. Stupid question. So I connect phone to PC via USB. Everything is recognized.

I start ADB. I input "./adb devices" and I see my phone.
I input " ./adb reboot bootloader" and the phone reboots into FASTBOOT
I input "./fastboot devices" and I see my phone.

Here is where I am stuck. You said to go into bootloader which I think is the option "HBOOT". Whenever I leave the FASTBOOT menu I here the computer ding like the phone was disconnected. So either I am going into the wrong menu or I'm in the wrong place completely or something LOL.

Can you quickly walk me through it?

TIA

If I'm not mistaken, (been a while since I've touched my m8 and things have changed since on newer HTC devices) ...
If the proper fastboot drivers are installed on your PC, the device would read: "Fastboot USB", not just "Fastboot".
Which is what mode I believe you need to be in.
You also need to be s-off if I recall. (I always am)

Sent from my HTC6545LVW using Tapatalk
24th August 2018, 05:33 PM |#14971  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by santod040

If I'm not mistaken, (been a while since I've touched my m7 and things have changed since on newer HTC devices) ...
If the proper fastboot drivers are installed on your PC, the device would read: "Fastboot USB", not just "Fastboot".
Which is what mode I believe you need to be in.


Sent from my HTC6545LVW using Tapatalk

So it does read "FASTBOOT USB" and I get the same error when trying to delete the modems. I am S-OFF as well.

PS C:\ADB\platform-tools> ./fastboot devices
HT44ESF01016 fastboot
PS C:\ADB\platform-tools> ./fastboot erase modem_st1
******** Did you mean to fastboot format this ext4 partition?
Erasing 'modem_st1' FAILED (remote: not allowed)
Finished. Total time: 0.016s

There has to be something I'm missing.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes