FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

 View Poll Results: Did you find this thread useful?

Yes, it was very helpful to me.
 
1,608 Vote(s)
64.01%
No, I didn't feel it helped me.
 
416 Vote(s)
16.56%
I don't know.
 
488 Vote(s)
19.43%

[HELP THREAD] Ask ANY Question. Noob Friendly.

4,429 posts
Thanks Meter: 1,927
 
Post Reply Email Thread
1st December 2018, 07:26 PM |#42481  
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheGiantHogweed

my tablet isn't rooted. And if I'm correct, the manufacturers don't like you rooting their devices. As they will probably not accept a return for any sort of fault if they find your device has been rooted. I just don't think i should risk rooting it. From one thing it mentions, it looks like it it is difficult getting apps that work with it without me having to root it. As the speaker has a 3.5mm input, i may just have to stick with that. Given how expensive some bluetooth speakers can get, if by default you only have 14/15 steps for the volume, that is pretty poor. I'm wondering what it was about my old tablets that allowed me to use bluetooth with this speaker and use the volume on the tablet and speaker separately. It seems that higher end tablets and phones add this feature that basically restricts your volume options. Quite frustrating. I can see the big advantage in that you can leave your speaker out of reach and control the volume on the tablet, but you can't do it precisely at all. At least some video players (BS player in my case) Have an option for the volume to be from 1 to 100% going up 1% each step.

Thanks for the response, but I would rather not do anything that involves rooting the device.

It is very easy to undo any changes that made and then remove root, then it is just like new and no one can tell the device was ever rooted, meaning, you still have your warranty.

But, to each his own.

Sent from my LGL84VL using Tapatalk
2nd December 2018, 02:49 PM |#42482  
DB126's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9,354
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Droidriven

It is very easy to undo any changes that made and then remove root, then it is just like new and no one can tell the device was ever rooted, meaning, you still have your warranty.

Famous last words that apply to many, but not all, devices and rooting methodologies. Experience and discipline of the human operator also comes into play. Finally, it is fairly easy to detect a previously rooted device unless OEM certified stock is meticulously restored. That said, most warranty claims never get that far as it's usually a quick evaluation by an entry level tech/sales rep that determines eligibility.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to DB126 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift DB126 Ad-Free
3rd December 2018, 04:17 AM |#42483  
DomAlberts's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Durban
Thanks Meter: 217
 
Donate to Me
More
Hi there please could one of you help me, i am about to receive my p20 pro. but it is locked with the network tellcell from mexico. where i am currently residing. can i put the global rom on it? i dont need it rooted. just unlocked network. well if so how would i do this?
3rd December 2018, 04:22 AM |#42484  
xunholyx's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Vancouver
Thanks Meter: 5,060
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DomAlberts

Hi there please could one of you help me, i am about to receive my p20 pro. but it is locked with the network tellcell from mexico. where i am currently residing. can i put the global rom on it? i dont need it rooted. just unlocked network. well if so how would i do this?

you should ask in the p20 pro q&a forum: https://forum.xda-developers.com/huawei-p20-pro
The Following User Says Thank You to xunholyx For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift xunholyx Ad-Free
4th December 2018, 06:50 PM |#42485  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hi everybody,
Probably a simple question but I can't seem to fin the answer:
Going to mount my Lenovo TAB 2 A7-10F in my car, it will be enclosed so I will not have access to the keys so I need it to turn itself on and off when power is applied.
For the power off it should be easy once rooted with apps like tasker or similar, but for the power on, that seems so easy for other devices, I'm struggling to find the solution, I've seen that in other devices you access a menu holding power and volume and set it on there but in this the only menu I've been able to access with volume UP and power buttons is in chinese and (thanks to google translate) seems to be only to perform some testing.
Does anyone know what I can do?
Tanks in advance
6th December 2018, 05:02 PM |#42486  
Senior Member
Flag Damascus
Thanks Meter: 76
 
More
Hi
How could i flash a Stock ROM without a PC ?
I have ROOT & TWRP
My PC is dead now and i won't fix (cuz of exams xD)
And thank you!
6th December 2018, 05:25 PM |#42487  
Quote:
Originally Posted by BasharSYR

Hi
How could i flash a Stock ROM without a PC ?
I have ROOT & TWRP
My PC is dead now and i won't fix (cuz of exams xD)
And thank you!

1) Restore a nandroid backup of stock ROM if you have one or can get one from another member thst has the same device. If you use a nandroid backup that was pulled from someone else's device, they will need to make sure their backup does not contain any of their personal data or their IMEI to avoid flashing their IMEI on your device.

2) If there is a flashable zip that has been created from the stock firmware for your device, you can flash that via TWRP.

There are other, considerably more tricky methods for advanced users, but I suggest using one of the two methods I described above if one of them is available to you.





Sent from my LGL84VL using Tapatalk
8th December 2018, 01:14 AM |#42488  
Member
Flag port richeyl, Florida
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I don't own a computer I am looking to Root either my ZTE Max blade or my LG K20 plus is there any program that I can install on one of the other phone is to act as a computer to do the USB connection to download the the ADB
8th December 2018, 01:56 AM |#42489  
Quote:
Originally Posted by BasharSYR

Hi
How could i flash a Stock ROM without a PC ?
I have ROOT & TWRP
My PC is dead now and i won't fix (cuz of exams xD)
And thank you!

Wait, are you asking for your Samsung device?

If so, you said it is rooted, go ahead and try the mobile Odin app, it flashes the stock .tar.md5 the same as you would use with Odin on PC.

Sent from my LGL84VL using Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 08:55 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:42 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pbsipher1

I don't own a computer I am looking to Root either my ZTE Max blade or my LG K20 plus is there any program that I can install on one of the other phone is to act as a computer to do the USB connection to download the the ADB

Well, its "possible" to run a linux OS on Android without root, but I very highly doubt it would run adb in a manner that could be used to root the other device.

Even still, to even get the OS to run in a manner that would actually be usable to install the proper packages to even be able to use adb/fastboot in any kind of effective manner at all is slim to none, not to mention the very slim odds of it being able to interact with another device in a manner that can push files the way you need to that device.

Long story short.....

No, just, no.


Sent from my LGL84VL using Tapatalk
10th December 2018, 01:59 AM |#42490  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Root for j5 prime sm-g5700
I've read some post about rooting this specific model, but im not sure with one should i follow.
Anyone who have this phone can help me with a guide which you are sure it work with this model? im pretty new at rooting, previus root was using kingroot, which i guess is the simplest way to root, so i dont know much about odin, twrp or flashing.
PS: this one have android 7.0
10th December 2018, 02:11 AM |#42491  
scorpio76r's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag All over like street lights
Thanks Meter: 316
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by oeg91

I've read some post about rooting this specific model, but im not sure with one should i follow.
Anyone who have this phone can help me with a guide which you are sure it work with this model? im pretty new at rooting, previus root was using kingroot, which i guess is the simplest way to root, so i dont know much about odin, twrp or flashing.
PS: this one have android 7.0

What's the model?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
ask any question, beginner, confused, guidance, help needed, help thread, lost, newbie, noob, questions and answers

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes