FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

remap volume buttons to power button - for people with broken power button Captivates

38 posts
Thanks Meter: 17
 
By puneet_champ, Member on 7th June 2012, 01:00 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
27th November 2013, 01:44 PM |#21  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I remapped the Camera button to act as a PowerButton. When the phone (Spice Mi 350n- GB-Sandwich ROM) is awake the new functionality is working, but when the phone enters into sleep mode, the Camera key no longer respond. I'm thinking this has something to do with the wakelock functionality. Can someone explain or give me a workaround for this ??? Thanks.
 
 
28th November 2013, 03:52 AM |#22  
willbs94's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lebanon, MO
Thanks Meter: 42
 
More
I'm going to actually fix mine. I have made a thread in the galaxy s III section for AT&T. If I get enough feedback then I will do a video for the captivate as well.

Sent from my LG-D800 using Tapatalk 4
15th April 2018, 04:34 AM |#23  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
thanks!
I will try to do that!

Quote:
Originally Posted by puneet_champ

Hi every1,

I have a captivate with a broken power button and it was driving me nuts for the last 2 months since I couldnot wake up the phone if it went to lock screen. I tried no lock and other apps but they didnt work 100% of the time. Today I found this thread :
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=850464

It is button remapper utility but it doesnot support captivate yet. However my only concern was to remap my volume buttons to power button.
This is how I did it :

Firstly, we'll need to pull the file that controls the buttons which is entitled "aries-keypad.kl" in "system/usr/keylayout".

To pull the file, connect your captivate and run:


Edit this pulled file like below :


Key 115 was VOLUME_UP while Key 114 was VOLUME_DOWN. I reassigned both to behave as POWER button.

After you're done with your edits, you'll need to save the file properly (NO .txt files!), and then you'll have to push it back to the phone.



Reboot your phone, and then check to see if the remapping works as expected. Your volume buttons should now behave as power button.

Simple and Effective!

For more info, look at threads :
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=850464
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=695936

24th September 2018, 02:10 PM |#24  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hi ppl,

I have a sm t230 with the power button broken, i remapped power button to volume - but works only for shut down and i can' t power up using him.
I made this thing happend by reading this post.
so any ideea how can i make him and for power on?

thanks!
11th December 2018, 04:42 PM |#25  
Junior Member
Flag Pune
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Does this all requires root
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes