FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[FIX] Slow GPS fix

894 posts
Thanks Meter: 68
 
By Claus72, Senior Member on 9th January 2011, 07:11 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
12th December 2011, 03:51 PM |#41  
Cloonix's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Munich
Thanks Meter: 23
 
More
Thanks Claus!
 
 
13th December 2011, 12:26 PM |#42  
crash_b.'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 27
 
More
There's a very good thread about this subject here, [Trick] Speed Up Satelite Fix for GPS on Android
17th December 2011, 09:00 PM |#43  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
thanks for all europen guys
7th September 2012, 09:30 PM |#44  
bihslk's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag You wish to know :P
Thanks Meter: 308
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Claus72

I have had one problem with gps fix, it took about 90 sec to fix satellites.
I have found a thread in the Desire section that have solved this problem.
Now my gps takes about 15-30 sec to fis the satellite.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=727887

This fix is only for European users and need to have root privilege.

You have to edit the file gps.conf located at /system/etc. I have used root explorer to edit the file.
You have to change the server like this:

NTP_SERVER=europe.pool.ntp.org
instead of
NTP_SERVER=north-america.pool.ntp.org

For me it is working fine. I hope it is the same for you.
Sorry for my English.

Tnx man. I installed Android 4.0.4 on my S2 and i didnt get lock then i changed it to europe and it locked the sattelite in 10 sec
8th September 2012, 11:34 AM |#45  
Junior Member
Flag Jiangsu Xuzhou
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Let me try it

Sent from my HTC HD2 using xda premium
8th September 2012, 12:43 PM |#46  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
the app worked out of the box
Android Blue Droid V6

very fast GPS now
7th December 2012, 12:03 PM |#47  
suiller's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Turin (Piedmont)
Thanks Meter: 384
 
Donate to Me
More
for EU this server works faster (less abused )

ntp1.ien.it
7th January 2019, 10:35 PM |#48  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
i don't understand why it is necessary to change the ntp time server.
what if the unit does not have a network connection?
Are you saying the GPS can't get a fix, because no timeserver is available?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes