FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

ADB.exe

883 posts
Thanks Meter: 154
 
By hav0c, Senior Member on 10th January 2011, 04:59 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
19th December 2011, 05:59 PM |#21  
paulckruger's Avatar
Member
Flag NE Florida
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Question
Quote:
Originally Posted by hopscotchjunkie

As already stated, it is not installed with the SDK by default. In the tools folder there's a text file called "adb_has_moved.txt" which tells you that you need to launch the SDK and install "Android SDK Platform-tools" to get it. Like chrisz5z said.


It showed the tools to be installed but after I just did a new update that file now appears under /platform-tools

I guess for some reason the original install of the tools did not complete yet still indicated in the SDK that it was installed.

Thanks.
 
 
31st December 2011, 02:02 PM |#22  
gaeilgeganeagla's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dublin
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
hey was wondering if anyone can help me
i cant seem to get adb to work on my DHD i have the latest sdk and evrything done and downloaded. debugging is on aswell and im running ics 9.6 lords build and his kernel 8.8b1. im on mac btw and when i open terminal i type in adb devices and the daemon starts and then it doesnt show my device listed yet it works with fastboot everytime
thanks if you can help
22nd July 2012, 11:34 PM |#23  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
adb and fastboot tools
Quote:
Originally Posted by gillepy

I do believe your correct.

Sent from my Desire HD using XDA App

The adb tool has moved to platform-tools/

If you don't see this directory in your SDK,
launch the SDK and AVD Manager (execute the android tool)
and install "Android SDK Platform-tools"

Please also update your PATH environment variable to
include the platform-tools/ directory, so you can
execute adb from any location.
22nd August 2012, 11:11 AM |#24  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Platform Tools missing too
Hi, Guys

I've been trying to install this and came across something weird that may help someone later on.

As the OP stated, adb.exe is "missing". I can confirm that the issue is definitely that you must download Platform Tools from within the SDK Manager. I tried to fetch all repos but found nothing, if this happens to you, you may be running a proxy (like my office does).

Make sure to set up the proxy rules in SDK Manager. This can be found under Tools > Options

Hope this helps.

- twitch
24th March 2013, 04:45 AM |#25  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by glenedwards33

Hi, Guys

I've been trying to install this and came across something weird that may help someone later on.

As the OP stated, adb.exe is "missing". I can confirm that the issue is definitely that you must download Platform Tools from within the SDK Manager. I tried to fetch all repos but found nothing, if this happens to you, you may be running a proxy (like my office does).

Make sure to set up the proxy rules in SDK Manager. This can be found under Tools > Options

Hope this helps.

- twitch

I cannot get the SDK Manager to run. It opens up and closes?
25th March 2013, 04:19 AM |#26  
Member
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 18
 
More
this is utterly annoying. some of us just want or need to grab the ADB executable for a brief moment, often while working on someone else's phone and on someone else's computer.

i for one don't WANT to install the whole huge SDK, run it, create all those extra steps and dirs, etc... just to grab one goddamn executable that is a few megs in size. is there NO repository anywhere for JUST new versions of ADB.exe ??

it's like Android devs started saying to one another "oh my, it seems that the hoi polloi masses are finding ways to hack and mod their android devices, but this sort of thing should really be the prerogative of us learned few... let's make ADB harder to get!"

i mean, what other purpose does it serve to remove ADB.exe from the standard SDK that you can just extract and then throw away?
6th April 2013, 11:23 PM |#27  
Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deviant Ollam

this is utterly annoying. some of us just want or need to grab the ADB executable for a brief moment, often while working on someone else's phone and on someone else's computer.

i for one don't WANT to install the whole huge SDK, run it, create all those extra steps and dirs, etc... just to grab one goddamn executable that is a few megs in size. is there NO repository anywhere for JUST new versions of ADB.exe ??

it's like Android devs started saying to one another "oh my, it seems that the hoi polloi masses are finding ways to hack and mod their android devices, but this sort of thing should really be the prerogative of us learned few... let's make ADB harder to get!"

i mean, what other purpose does it serve to remove ADB.exe from the standard SDK that you can just extract and then throw away?

Did you ever find the latest ADB.exe?
8th June 2015, 11:20 AM |#28  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
ADB.exe
ABS.exe is C:\Users\*****\AppData\Local\Android\sdk\platform-tools
25th March 2019, 12:49 AM |#29  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hav0c

Sorry for the noob question but when I download the latests SDK there is no ADB.exe file in the tools directory anymore.

How do I start ADB with the latest SDK release?

I can't believe this is the top search result for adb.exe and it's taken this long to get to a simple answer. Most of us really don't want a full studio install just to have to download some more platform tools to get to an tiny little exe file. I'm surprised google didn't just say "here, take your damn adb.exe file download and stop hogging all my bandwidth for nothing"..... well it turns out they did, you just had to look a little harder.

https://developer.android.com/studio...ools#downloads
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes