FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

 View Poll Results: Did you find this thread useful?

Yes, it was very helpful to me.
 
1,594 Vote(s)
63.96%
No, I didn't feel it helped me.
 
414 Vote(s)
16.61%
I don't know.
 
484 Vote(s)
19.42%

[HELP THREAD] Ask ANY Question. Noob Friendly.

4,429 posts
Thanks Meter: 1,930
 
Post Reply Email Thread
16th May 2019, 02:46 AM |#43461  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Droidriven

There is a difference in hardware, not just software, if it's CDMA then you're stuck with CDMA. There is one exception, "some" CDMA devices have been known to have a GSM(Global) mode that allows them to be used on GSM network, I doubt that a TracFone device is one of them.

Sent from my LGL84VL using Tapatalk

I thought as much. I think i'll just buy a T-mobile motherboard on ebay and swap it out. Ill try and contact the network to find out but as you said i doubt it because looking through the phone its missing things a regular stylo 4 would have such as the NFC and fast charge. phones takes about 2 hours to charge from 0%.

Quote:

I have a Stylo 4, CDMA originally via Comcast -a Verizon MVNO-, and I now am using as a GSM just as @Droidriven has described [correctly] as being one of these uncommon examples of a device possessing this capability. The question to determine is does the specific Tracphone variant maintain this capability and I'm kind of leaning towards similar doubts, as expressed by @Droidriven.
Under SETTINGS - NETWORK & INTERNET - MOBILE NETWORK 6 - SYSTEM SELECT you may find the ability to choose GLOBAL option. Though I'm uncertain that would guarantee operation with your perspective service provider. IF you have the GLOBAL option then, by all means, seek confirmation through that provider.
You might also Google search on GSMARENA or similar sights for Tracphone specific interoperability with GSM.

Now that I think about it for some reason in the sellers post they showed the IMEI on the screen on the phone but now that search the phone status i'm only seeing the the MEID. According to the Googles MEID=CDMA and IMEI=GSM, so maybe it has it. But when I follow your instruction and go to MOBILE NETWORK the Phone pushes me out of the option so i dunno.
The Following User Says Thank You to Gheddox For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Gheddox Ad-Free
 
 
16th May 2019, 06:09 AM |#43462  
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gheddox

I thought as much. I think i'll just buy a T-mobile motherboard on ebay and swap it out. Ill try and contact the network to find out but as you said i doubt it because looking through the phone its missing things a regular stylo 4 would have such as the NFC and fast charge. phones takes about 2 hours to charge from 0%.



Now that I think about it for some reason in the sellers post they showed the IMEI on the screen on the phone but now that search the phone status i'm only seeing the the MEID. According to the Googles MEID=CDMA and IMEI=GSM, so maybe it has it. But when I follow your instruction and go to MOBILE NETWORK the Phone pushes me out of the option so i dunno.

Yeah, my Tracfone Stylo 3 doesn't have it either. They probably removed the option to prevent switching the device to a GSM region/network.



Sent from my LGL84VL using Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 01:06 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:53 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Isaac Zackary

First post and complete noob!

I've been searching the web for some answers and keep getting directed to XDA-Developers. So here it goes.

I'm looking to replace my Windows Phone and my frugalness tells me to buy an Android phone instead of an iPhone. The whole reason I'm looking to replace my phone is that Microsoft is ending support for it this December. But everything I read says that most Android phones get security updates for only 2 years, with the exception of Google phones that get 3. The problem is that I really don't want to have to pay for another phone just yet. But if I'm going to have to anyway, it would be nice to have a phone that lasts a while, not just a couple years. So my questions are:

Is keeping an Android Phone for 5 years or so reasonable?
Do security updates really end after only 2 years?
How important is it to keep up with having the latest Android version?
Would installing a custom ROM or OS be the way to go to keep up with the latest security updates?
Does it matter which phone I get?
How hard could it be to install a custom ROM on a phone?

Thank you in advance!

1) yes, plenty of users here are using devices well beyond the 5 year mark.

2) depends on the manufacturer or carrier the device is bought from.

3) not very important but at some point, certain apps and features stop working when your android version is too old to support new software.

4) yes, but it depends on whether or not the developer of the custom ROM takes the time to update the ROM when security updates are released.

5) the phone you get doesn't necessarily matter, it really depends on exactly what you are looking for in a device. Depending on your purposes and what kinds of things that you will be using the device for may or may not be a factor in deciding which device you choose. There is a thread here in the Q&A section intended for people that are looking for new device suggestions, post your questions there concerning which device to choose.

6) it depends on the particular method required to root and/or flash the device. Some are easy, some are complicated and risky, it all depends on the exact device model you choose.

Sent from my LGL84VL using Tapatalk
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Droidriven For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Droidriven Ad-Free
16th May 2019, 10:17 AM |#43463  
Senior Member
Flag bendigo
Thanks Meter: 85
 
More
Hello

My Nokia 5 ta-1024 won't charge past 50% apparently since I flashed Nokia 6 firmware fromthis site.

What can I do? should I flash Nokia 5 firmware from that site or is my Nokia damaged!!

Edit: flashed stock nb0 symptoms are still there help!!
16th May 2019, 04:55 PM |#43464  
Senior Member
Flag bendigo
Thanks Meter: 85
 
More
Am I ever going to get an answer?

Or will I just be ignored, lol.
16th May 2019, 05:28 PM |#43465  
GOOGLE_USER's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 278
 
More
BALANCE
Quote:
Originally Posted by jason_l367

Am I ever going to get an answer?

Or will I just be ignored, lol.

TROUBLESOME DROID?
PATIENCE

Try battery recalibration methods if actual usage does not reflect diminished battery.

*EDIT* I would deplete the battery with device powered on and then FULLY recharge with device powered off.
I was just curious really whether or not you were experiencing less usage time with, what is possibly nothing other than, an erroneous charge state being reported.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Naldo1995

Could somebody help me odex a rom

CLICK HERE

Or perhaps CLICK HERE?
16th May 2019, 11:19 PM |#43466  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Droidriven

Yeah, my Tracfone Stylo 3 doesn't have it either. They probably removed the option to prevent switching the device to a GSM region/network.

I was talking to my brother about it today and he made the point that phones arent made strictly cdma anymore as its old tech barely anyone uses so he told me about the secret menu that probably exists on the phone and it worked D:
The Following User Says Thank You to Gheddox For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Gheddox Ad-Free
17th May 2019, 12:18 AM |#43467  
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gheddox

I was talking to my brother about it today and he made the point that phones arent made strictly cdma anymore as its old tech barely anyone uses so he told me about the secret menu that probably exists on the phone and it worked D:

Yeah, that's the dialer menu to access radio settings, very handy in different ways, it can actually be used to gain more overall control of virtually everything that the radio does and when.

Also, it isn't necessarily a matter of it being "old tech", it's a matter of that is the network type that two major cell providers use and they usually do just about everything they can to prevent their devices from being activated on other networks. That makes for a lot of CDMA devices that they would prefer staying on a CDMA network if they had their way about it.



Sent from my LGL84VL using Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 07:18 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:51 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by jason_l367

Hello

My Nokia 5 ta-1024 won't charge past 50% apparently since I flashed Nokia 6 firmware fromthis site.

What can I do? should I flash Nokia 5 firmware from that site or is my Nokia damaged!!

Edit: flashed stock nb0 symptoms are still there help!!

The Windows phone and Nokia sections would probably get you better and more experienced answers. Most of us are only experienced with the typical android devices.

Sent from my LGL84VL using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to Droidriven For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Droidriven Ad-Free
17th May 2019, 12:21 AM |#43468  
Senior Member
Flag bendigo
Thanks Meter: 85
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Droidriven


The Windows phone and Nokia sections would probably get you better and more experienced answers. Most of us are only experienced with android devices.

Not sure if you're serious.. I've a Nokia 5..
17th May 2019, 12:36 AM |#43469  
Quote:
Originally Posted by jason_l367

Not sure if you're serious.. I've a Nokia 5..

The point is, yes, it's android, but it's android that is of a flavor that isn't exactly what most of us are use to. AmazonOS is also "android" but it's still quite a bit different "under the hood", so to speak. I still say that the Nokia section would get you more experienced answers as the members there are definitely more experienced with Nokia devices than most of us here.

Sent from my LGL84VL using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to Droidriven For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Droidriven Ad-Free
17th May 2019, 12:42 AM |#43470  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Droidriven

Yeah, that's the dialer menu to access radio settings, very handy in different ways, it can actually be used to gain more overall control of virtually everything that the radio does and when.

Also, it isn't necessarily a matter of it being "old tech", it's a matter of that is the network type that two major cell providers use and they usually do just about everything they can to prevent their devices from being activated on other netwotks. That makes for a lot of CDMA devices that they would prefer staying on a CDMA network if they had their way about it.


Ha tell me about it. Tracfone said they wont be unlocking the phones and every unlocking service avoids Tracfone with a 10ft pole. I know the phone is currently unflashable because no one can unlock the bootloader, but is there any other way i can unlock the phone. I'm Fresh out of options.
17th May 2019, 12:43 AM |#43471  
Senior Member
Flag bendigo
Thanks Meter: 85
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Droidriven

The point is, yes, it's android, but it's android that is of a flavor that isn't exactly what most of us are use to. AmazonOS is android but its still quite a bit different "under the hood", so to speak. I still say that the Nokia section would get you more experienced answers as the members there are definitely more experienced with Nokia devices than most of us here.

Ok .. anyway, I've drained the battery , I'm charging it up now. If that fails I guess I'll go and seek help on another thread, thankyou .
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
ask any question, beginner, confused, guidance, help needed, help thread, lost, newbie, noob, questions and answers

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes