FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[TOOLS][ZIPS][SCRIPTS] osm0sis' Odds and Ends [Multiple Devices/Platforms]

13,611 posts
Thanks Meter: 29,956
 
By osm0sis, Recognized Developer / Recognized Contributor on 18th April 2013, 12:37 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
31st May 2019, 03:20 PM |#2381  
osm0sis's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer / Recognized Contributor
Flag Halifax
Thanks Meter: 29,956
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by _Lenny_

Hello, for some time now I'm looking for a solution to my problem but I can't find any, that's why I'm asking here now.

So, when I try to install the Busybox module, either through magisk download or manually download and flash through magisk or recovery the same thing happens: The installation doesn't give any errors (except in the log), but after installation either before reboot or after, busybox doesn's show in the module list nor is it installed...

I thought it may be the same problem like the person before me because it semmed similar, but I can't find a su.img anywhere on my phone (searched at root using mixplorer).

- OP3T, stock oos 8.0, magisk 19.1, though problem was already there on 19.0, can't remember if it maybe even was before that (Needed to go on 19.0 to use gpay).

Here's my log:

- Copying zip to temp directory
- Installing Busybox_for_Android_NDK-1.30.1.zip
Archive: /data/user/0/com.iNDDV3AMkuY.dTna/cache/install.zip
inflating: install.sh
inflating: module.prop

Busybox Installer Script
by osm0sis @ xda-developers

mount: can't read '/etc/fstab': No such file or directory
Mounting...
mount: can't read '/etc/fstab': No such file or directory
mount: can't read '/etc/fstab': No such file or directory

Extracting files...
Archive: /data/user/0/com.iNDDV3AMkuY.dTna/cache/install.zip
creating: META-INF/
creating: META-INF/com/
creating: META-INF/com/google/
creating: META-INF/com/google/android/
inflating: META-INF/com/google/android/update-binary
inflating: META-INF/com/google/android/updater-script
inflating: README.md
inflating: busybox-arm
inflating: busybox-arm64
inflating: busybox-mips
inflating: busybox-mips64
inflating: busybox-x86
inflating: busybox-x86_64
inflating: install.sh
inflating: module.prop

Installing...
Using architecture: arm64
umount: can't unmount /dev/tmp/su: No such file or directory
Using path: /dev/tmp/su/xbin

Cleaning...

Creating symlinks...

Unmounting...
umount: can't unmount /system: Device or resource busy
umount: can't unmount /data: Device or resource busy
umount: can't unmount /cache: Device or resource busy

Done!


Sorry if I've done something wrong or something's missing, I'm pretty new here.

Thanks.

Yeah you've definitely also got a su.img hiding somewhere.

It could be one of two locations to get picked up by the installer: https://github.com/Magisk-Modules-Re...install.sh#L58

So look for /data/su.img or /cache/su.img and remove it. If for some reason you still can't find those then just use my unSU zip to start fresh.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to osm0sis For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
31st May 2019, 09:49 PM |#2382  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by osm0sis

Yeah you've definitely also got a su.img hiding somewhere.

It could be one of two locations to get picked up by the installer:

So look for /data/su.img or /cache/su.img and remove it. If for some reason you still can't find those then just use my unSU zip to start fresh.

Thanks so much! Deleting the su.img in /cache fixed the problem.
I didn't find it before, because for some reason mixplorer doesn't show everything in /data and /cache isn't there at all, so I deleted it using the file explorer in TWRP.

Thanks alot
1st June 2019, 03:18 AM |#2383  
m0han's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,245
 
More
excuse the ot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Lenny_

... for some reason mixplorer doesn't show everything in /data and /cache isn't there at all...

try a reinstall and remember to use the latest stable/beta of mixplorer.
Quote:
Originally Posted by azthemansays

.. got mixplorer baked into my phone and it's less than useless.

can't Solid Explorer delete it for you?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_MiXplorer_20190601-074507.png
Views:	266
Size:	239.3 KB
ID:	4769363   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_MiXplorer_20190601-074525.png
Views:	264
Size:	104.0 KB
ID:	4769364   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_MiXplorer_20190601-074542.png
Views:	260
Size:	173.7 KB
ID:	4769365  
1st June 2019, 03:26 AM |#2384  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by m0han

can't Solid Explorer delete it for you?

Delete mixplorer?

On stock rom and I'm afraid that I wouldn't be able to do updates if I removed a system app.
1st June 2019, 05:05 AM |#2385  
Senior Member
Flag Conyers GA
Thanks Meter: 558
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by azthemansays

Delete mixplorer?



On stock rom and I'm afraid that I wouldn't be able to do updates if I removed a system app.

I think you're both talking about different file explorers. MiXplorer AFAIK doesn't come built-in to a stock rom, only custom. MIUI devices use MiFileExplorer, I believe is what it's called. HootenParsa says in his thread what it's called.

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to evilvoice For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift evilvoice Ad-Free
1st June 2019, 05:19 AM |#2386  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by evilvoice

I think you're both talking about different file explorers. MiXplorer AFAIK doesn't come built-in to a stock rom, only custom. MIUI devices use MiFileExplorer...

Mi A1 is Android One not MIUI.
Here's an SS of it from my Titanium Backup.

here
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20190601-000825.png
Views:	266
Size:	231.5 KB
ID:	4769411  
1st June 2019, 05:44 AM |#2387  
ashyx's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 9,428
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by azthemansays

I was too late to try to help. Sorry, can't find the delete button.



While this is still up, may I suggest you look into "Solid Explorer?"

I've got mixplorer baked into my phone and it's less than useless.

IMO there's only one root file explorer worth having if you want stability.
It's been about for years and is a serious app used by many a developer and does what a root file manager is meant to do without all the silly bells and whistles. It's well worth it's small price and that's ROOT EXPLORER.

If all you care about is free then MK EXPLORER seems to be a good no fuss root file manager.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ashyx For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift ashyx Ad-Free
1st June 2019, 06:01 AM |#2388  
Senior Member
Flag Conyers GA
Thanks Meter: 558
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by azthemansays

Mi A1 is Android One not MIUI.
Here's an SS of it from my Titanium Backup.

here

What's funny is I originally said Mi, but changed it to MIUI. Anyways, with it being in data and not system, you can either remove it or update it, your choice

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to evilvoice For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift evilvoice Ad-Free
1st June 2019, 06:42 AM |#2389  
BillGoss's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 2,685
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by evilvoice

What's funny is I originally said Mi, but changed it to MIUI. Anyways, with it being in data and not system, you can either remove it or update it, your choice

OT: I've been using TB for years and until I saw your screenshot I didn't know that you could bring up that information in TB!
Thanks for teaching me something new.

Sent from my OnePlus 3T using XDA Labs
The Following User Says Thank You to BillGoss For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift BillGoss Ad-Free
1st June 2019, 10:04 AM |#2390  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by azthemansays

I was too late to try to help. Sorry, can't find the delete button.



While this is still up, may I suggest you look into "Solid Explorer?"

I've got mixplorer baked into my phone and it's less than useless.

Quote:
Originally Posted by m0han

excuse the ot.

try a reinstall and remember to use the latest stable/beta of mixplorer.
can't Solid Explorer delete it for you?

A reinstall of Mixplorer fixed it and it now shows everything, it's supposed to.

Thanks
The Following User Says Thank You to _Lenny_ For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift _Lenny_ Ad-Free
5th June 2019, 05:18 AM |#2391  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,940
 
More
@osm0sis
Weird. I'm getting errors and a bad install of busybox. I was experimenting with some things so wiped out the existing install and went to reinstall.
The only thing that ended up on the bin directory was
[
[[
busybox
See attached image. Also including install logs. One is just a regular install log. The other is a full trace
It's been a while since I installed/upgraded this. Only thing I can think of is the June patch for Pie (Pixel 3 XL).

Need anything else just ask. Fortunately I can work around this.

Edit: beginning to suspect that coreutils is stepping on something. I haven't gone through the trace in detail. I need to know the exact command(s) it's going bad on. Probably look at it tomorrow.
It looks like if I remove both coreutils and busybox, then reboot, busybox installs clean. (Normally I'd just delete the directories then reinstall without rebooting - which means the system still has access to the deleted files)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20190605-000509.jpg
Views:	1172
Size:	37.0 KB
ID:	4771660  
Attached Files
File Type: zip Busybox-install-logs.zip - [Click for QR Code] (21.1 KB, 16 views)
The Following User Says Thank You to jcmm11 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift jcmm11 Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
automation, batch, flashable zip, script, tool

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes