FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[TOOL] Tickle My Android - Decompile & Recompile With Ease

6,616 posts
Thanks Meter: 8,423
 
By Ticklefish, Recognized Themer on 3rd May 2012, 04:15 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Announcement from Ticklefish: Version 16 Now Available!!
2nd July 2019, 01:29 PM |#7781  
Tulsadiver's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 4,010
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by yklaxds

……how to download it. I can't found it....

Under the downloads tab in the header of the thread.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20190702-073030.png
Views:	270
Size:	94.3 KB
ID:	4786292  
The Following User Says Thank You to Tulsadiver For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Tulsadiver Ad-Free
 
 
15th July 2019, 01:25 PM |#7782  
jututt's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 34
 
More
@Ticklefish Couple of suggestions: add option "Decompile single file" in Decompile menu;
Do not create 8 WorkAreas on installation by default, just 1, add option "Add WorkArea" in Main Menu instead
EDIT :: I'm reading only now about your personal situation, stay strong!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jututt For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift jututt Ad-Free
17th July 2019, 10:19 AM |#7783  
Quote:
Originally Posted by jututt

@Ticklefish Couple of suggestions: add option "Decompile single file" in Decompile menu;
Do not create 8 WorkAreas on installation by default, just 1, add option "Add WorkArea" in Main Menu instead
EDIT :: I'm reading only now about your personal situation, stay strong!

Thanks for your kind words - I'm getting there slowly but surely.

I wasn't sure about removing the option to decompile a single file. You still can with V16 but it's slightly more involved. This was a deliberate decision to streamline the menu but I can always reintroduce the option in a later version if enough people want it...and if I make another version.

As for the WorkAreas, I see where you're coming from but I might not implement that. The different WorkAreas have different colour folder icons (if installed straight to "C:"). This isn't something that can be done by code, at least not the type of code I'm using, so I'm keeping the WorkAreas as they are for now.
Of course, if enough people want this option then I'll bow to public pressure and see about putting it in. TMA is made for the users, after all!
17th July 2019, 11:11 AM |#7784  
Tulsadiver's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 4,010
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ticklefish

Thanks for your kind words - I'm getting there slowly but surely.

I wasn't sure about removing the option to decompile a single file. You still can with V16 but it's slightly more involved. This was a deliberate decision to streamline the menu but I can always reintroduce the option in a later version if enough people want it...and if I make another version.

As for the WorkAreas, I see where you're coming from but I might not implement that. The different WorkAreas have different colour folder icons (if installed straight to "C:"). This isn't something that can be done by code, at least not the type of code I'm using, so I'm keeping the WorkAreas as they are for now.
Of course, if enough people want this option then I'll bow to public pressure and see about putting it in. TMA is made for the users, after all!

I personally wouldn't mind having 10 folders, LOL!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Tulsadiver For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Tulsadiver Ad-Free
17th July 2019, 01:37 PM |#7785  
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulsadiver

I personally wouldn't mind having 10 folders, LOL!

You're tempting me now. I can never resist the siren call of a coding challenge..

I'll look into adding this to v16.1. If I ever make a v16.1, that is.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Ticklefish For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Ticklefish Ad-Free
14th August 2019, 08:11 PM |#7786  
JimzFreebies's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ludhiana
Thanks Meter: 192
 
Donate to Me
More
Trying to decode modded app as i don't have original app but its giving error while decompiling. i have tried all apk tools in the list of TMR. Please help

Quote:

I: Decoding file-resources...
Exception in thread "main" brut.androlib.AndrolibException: File path does not start with "res/" or "r/":
at brut.androlib.res.data.value.ResFileValue.getStrip pedPath(ResFileValue.java:43)
at brut.androlib.res.decoder.ResFileDecoder.decode(Re sFileDecoder.java:46)
at brut.androlib.res.AndrolibResources.decode(Androli bResources.java:258)
at brut.androlib.Androlib.decodeResourcesFull(Androli b.java:131)
at brut.androlib.ApkDecoder.decode(ApkDecoder.java:12 4)
at brut.apktool.Main.cmdDecode(Main.java:164)
at brut.apktool.Main.main(Main.java:73)

[email protected] --- File Not Decompiled

15th August 2019, 10:29 AM |#7787  
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimzFreebies

Trying to decode modded app as i don't have original app but its giving error while decompiling. i have tried all apk tools in the list of TMR. Please help

Intriguing. This would seem to imply that your apk is missing a "res" folder. Which isn't impossible if it's already been modded.

Could you share the file and your framework files please? I'll take a look and see if I can come up with something clever.
15th August 2019, 11:27 AM |#7788  
JimzFreebies's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ludhiana
Thanks Meter: 192
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ticklefish

Intriguing. This would seem to imply that your apk is missing a "res" folder. Which isn't impossible if it's already been modded.



Could you share the file and your framework files please? I'll take a look and see if I can come up with something clever.

Sir I sent you the apk in pm. Please check

Sent from my Redmi 4 using Tapatalk
16th August 2019, 12:18 PM |#7789  
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimzFreebies

Trying to decode modded app as i don't have original app but its giving error while decompiling. i have tried all apk tools in the list of TMR. Please help

Thanks for sharing your APK. It looks like apktool isn't able to decode the entire res folder. Some of the subfolders (or the files in them - I can't tell) are showing as having a bad address. Don't ask me how this happened - the best answer I can think of is that the APK got corrupted at some point.

You can decompile the APK if you select the option to not decode the "resources.arsc" file (in the advanced options) but I can't guarantee that the recompiled APK will work properly.

This is the problem you can get when you're modifying an already modified APK. I'd suggest either modifying the stock APK, or speaking to whoever modified the APK that you're trying to use.
16th August 2019, 12:39 PM |#7790  
JimzFreebies's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ludhiana
Thanks Meter: 192
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ticklefish

Thanks for sharing your APK. It looks like apktool isn't able to decode the entire res folder. Some of the subfolders (or the files in them - I can't tell) are showing as having a bad address. Don't ask me how this happened - the best answer I can think of is that the APK got corrupted at some point.

You can decompile the APK if you select the option to not decode the "resources.arsc" file (in the advanced options) but I can't guarantee that the recompiled APK will work properly.

This is the problem you can get when you're modifying an already modified APK. I'd suggest either modifying the stock APK, or speaking to whoever modified the APK that you're trying to use.

Thanks bro for checking it. I'm confused how the modder of app recompiled it without any problem and but its working fine without any issue. So, is there any another way to Decompile it with resources by ignoring the errors?

Sent from my Redmi 4 using Tapatalk
16th August 2019, 01:01 PM |#7791  
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimzFreebies

Thanks bro for checking it. I'm confused how the modder of app recompiled it without any problem and but its working fine without any issue. So, is there any another way to Decompile it with resources by ignoring the errors?

Sent from my Redmi 4 using Tapatalk

I've no idea what they did so I can't comment. It's possible that the app is working because you're not using it on a device that would use those folders. Dunno.

As for decompiling it, apktool is the only tool I know of that can decompile an entire APK. You can try decompiling without decoding the resources.arsc, then recompling without the assembling the resources.arsc. TMA has options for this in the advanced settings. The worst thing that'll happen is that the app won't work. I'm guessing this is a modded version of WhatsApp. In which case, it won't stop your phone from working so there's no harm in trying.
The Following User Says Thank You to Ticklefish For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Ticklefish Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
apktool, decompile, recompile, smali, xml

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes