FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[APP][Root][OFFICIAL] AdAway v4.3.0 :: [2019-11-01]

595 posts
Thanks Meter: 4,829
 
Post Reply Email Thread
31st October 2019, 06:20 PM |#14071  
Ultramanoid's Avatar
Senior Member
日本
Thanks Meter: 4,239
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ktmom

Doesn't LineageOS have its own built in root? I thought it was just a mater of turning on root in Developer Options. If I'm right, maybe that's conflicting.

Not by default. The preference is there but a simple extra zip with su must be installed for it to be available.

https://download.lineageos.org/extras

( Edit : While people are certainly free to install Magisk, Lineage does not support it since there is a native su option; when Magisk causes issues they're on their own. )
 
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Ultramanoid For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Ultramanoid Ad-Free
31st October 2019, 06:52 PM |#14072  
Senior Member
Flag Bukit Jalil
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
I use Magisk because there are some modules I would like to use too.
I installed Matlog, it requested root and I managed to grant root to Matlog. But not AdAway.
Here's the log:
Attached Files
File Type: zip logs-2019-11-01-01-04-46.zip - [Click for QR Code] (151.8 KB, 10 views)
31st October 2019, 08:13 PM |#14073  
ktmom's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,372
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pip_X

I use Magisk because there are some modules I would like to use too.
I installed Matlog, it requested root and I managed to grant root to Matlog. But not AdAway.
Here's the log:

Adaway is asking for root. These are the relevant lines:

Code:
11-01 01:03:39.167 E/AdAway  (9038): Failed to update hosts file.
11-01 01:03:39.167 E/AdAway  (9038): org.adaway.model.hostsinstall.HostsInstallException: Root access denied
11-01 01:03:39.167 E/AdAway  (9038): at org.adaway.model.hostsinstall.HostsInstallModel.applyHostsFile(HostsInstallModel.java:455)
11-01 01:03:39.167 E/AdAway  (9038): at org.adaway.ui.home.HostsInstallViewModel.lambda$update$2$HostsInstallViewModel(HostsInstallViewModel.java:124)
11-01 01:03:39.167 E/AdAway  (9038): at org.adaway.ui.home.-$$Lambda$HostsInstallViewModel$hr_O0jGNR8I8qQyGthIQYups81s.run(Unknown Source:2)
11-01 01:03:39.167 E/AdAway  (9038): at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor.runWorker(ThreadPoolExecutor.java:1167)
11-01 01:03:39.167 E/AdAway  (9038): at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor$Worker.run(ThreadPoolExecutor.java:641)
11-01 01:03:39.167 E/AdAway  (9038): at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:764)
11-01 01:03:39.167 E/AdAway  (9038): Caused by: org.sufficientlysecure.rootcommands.util.RootAccessDeniedException: stdout line is null! Access was denied or this executeable is not a shell!
11-01 01:03:39.167 E/AdAway  (9038): at org.sufficientlysecure.rootcommands.Shell.<init>(Shell.java:134)
11-01 01:03:39.167 E/AdAway  (9038): at org.sufficientlysecure.rootcommands.Shell.startRootShell(Shell.java:54)
11-01 01:03:39.167 E/AdAway  (9038): at org.sufficientlysecure.rootcommands.Shell.startRootShell(Shell.java:63)
11-01 01:03:39.167 E/AdAway  (9038): at org.adaway.model.hostsinstall.HostsInstallModel.applyHostsFile(HostsInstallModel.java:439)
11-01 01:03:39.167 E/AdAway  (9038): ... 5 more
I don't use LineageOS, so I'm not familiar with the potential conflicts. As a kick the tires type thing, I might completely remove Adaway and Magisk Manager (not unroot), reboot then reinstall MM and reboot before reinstalling Adaway.

---------- Post added at 14:13 ---------- Previous post was at 13:48 ----------

@Pip_X

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akomack

I can't seem to get Adaway to request root on android 10. Every other app will request root, but for some reason I can't get Adawy 4.2.9 to request it. 3.3 will request but won't apply hosts file. I have systemless module enabled, core only mode is disabled.

I'm at a loss, this is driving me nuts as I really can't function without adaway working. I keep trying, only to end up going back to pie due to it not working. Any help would be appreciated.

Pixel 1 XL
LOS 10 unofficial

Edit: Not sure why it double posted within the same post.


Quote:
Originally Posted by xxBrun0xx

I'm having the exact same issue on official Android 10 rom on OnePlus 7 Pro. Any help is greatly appreciated!


In response to the above two posts:

Quote:
Originally Posted by PerfectSlayer

Hi all,

Feedback:


It looks like there is some sort of issue, or at least, not as stable as expected in Android 10...


Actually, it should be enough for me to test and try to reproduce.
If I don't get the same behavior, I will ask for more logs


...(snipped since unrelated)...

I will have a look at Android 10 in the coming weeks (I would prefer say "days" but I am quite busy those last weeks) and plan to make a release with translation updates.
Thanks again all!



Then there is this from earlier in the thread:

Quote:
Originally Posted by guest4711

So it looks like your /data/adb/magisk.db is broken (our your Magisk Manager is not in sync with your Magisk). In this database all settings for Magisk Hide and Magisk SU are stored.

To check it, boot into TWRP, use internal filemanager to move this db out of the way (rename it to magisk.db.save e.g.) and reboot. Then try again.
If it does not solve your problem, you may boot into TWRP again and put your saved database back into place...

Good Luck!



Quote:
Originally Posted by r0tt0r

i gave this a try, other apps request root, adaway does not. but thanks for the tip

Update: thx to post of guest4711 i was finally able to solve the issue.
i edited the magisk.db file manually with sqlite and added under policies table a line:
uid 10196
name org.adaway
policy 2
unitl 0
logging 1
notification 1

deleted /system/xbin/su

then symbolic linked magisk su to system/xbin
ln -s /sbin/su /system/xbin/su

rebooted and adaway is working again.

31st October 2019, 08:46 PM |#14074  
Senior Member
Flag Bukit Jalil
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
It seems that other people who have the problem are on Android 10.
I'm on Android 9.
Some of the steps are too advance for me.
I shall wait for an update on AdAway.
Thanks

Edit: I used AdFree, it prompted for root and can apply the host. My phone is now blocking Ads. Thanks.
1st November 2019, 05:45 AM |#14075  
rwSN1PER's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Seattle, WA
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
After installing the Systemless Hosts module in Magisk 20.0, I am able to use AdAway 4.2.9 without issue on my OnePlus 7 Pro running crDroid 6.0.
1st November 2019, 12:09 PM |#14076  
PerfectSlayer's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4,829
 
Donate to Me
More
Hi all,

I have been pretty busy the last weeks but I finally got some progress with Android 10 issues (it's a day off here, it definitely helps!).

Feedback:

Quote:
Originally Posted by mariosaraylian

Here is the verbose logcat of whats going on. I am still getting the "Copy Failed" error when I try to update hosts and at "Bulding Hosts File" stages in AA.

Thanks for your log. Don't forget to enable verbose logging option from the settings and restart the app.
It will log shell commands so we can understand even better what happens on your device.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ipdev

@mariosaraylian

From the steps you describe.
I didn't see you mention AdAway requesting and gaining root access.

I haven't run into it lately, for me, it was always Magisk related.
All other apps / modules seem to work fine but, AdAway always showed me when my Magisk install was broken.

I know I've seen others mention just being able to toggle SU on or off/on for AdAway in Magisk's Superuser settings. If you take a look at the log file in Magisk, you should see a su request once or twice while AdAway is updating (or attempting) to update the hosts file.


@ktmom

May be a change coming down the line but, for now I would still recommend enabling the magisk systemless module.

Thanks for helping users and me with troubleshooting!

I would also recommend to use Magisk systemless module if you are running Magisk as root solution.
I just update the app in order to improve its systemless feature for the latest versions of Magisk:
  • It should be able to check if the module is installed (the directory /data/adb/modules/hosts is present) and running (a mount point on /system/etc/hosts is present)
  • If you try to enable / disable it from the app, it brings a popup explaining how to set it up from Magisk manager.

I hope it will help users with the remount failed errors.

About the root access not requested, killfrra proposed a patch to no more try to find su binary from known paths but call it directly from PATH.
It is how work ChainFire's libsuper and topjohnwu's libsu so it should work. I just hope it won't break any compatibility (but I honestly don't think so).
I merged it and it should resolve root request. May be it remains some old su binary or broken link to it and the past behavior triggered the wrong one. I will rely on PATH now.


Changelog:
  • Fix root not requested
  • Improve support for systemless hosts Magisk module
  • Update translations

Thanks:

Special thanks to killfra for its contribution and all of you for theirs helpful bug reports. @Vankog also did a great work with translations.

Donations:

I was recently accepted in the GitHub Sponsors program. It is a way GitHub proposes to help Open Source maintainers.
I setup up the support tiers and rewards, like stickers and supporter list on the project README.
Here is the link to my sponsor page: https://github.com/sponsors/PerfectSlayer
I am kind of new to this kind of this and I honestly want to know what you think about it: the principle of monthly fee and the tiers I choose (Too expensive? Too cheap? Any reward idea?).
GitHub takes no fee and double the donation the first year so I though it was a good idea to try it.
For the record, since the call for donation from @ktmom last month I received 10 donations for a total of 54€ to pay the shipping taxes. Thanks a lot!

Download:

AdAway 4.3.0 on AndroidFileHost (md5: 54bc1ab9aa83bcdb300de7e4bf7e6271)
The Following 132 Users Say Thank You to PerfectSlayer For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift PerfectSlayer Ad-Free
1st November 2019, 06:19 PM |#14077  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
a suggestion
I like this ad blocking apps, because it's also featuring url redirection so i can access some sites that have been blocked by our government.
I have suggestions for the url redirection feature
Rather than adding one-by-one ip and domain/hostname, can devs make it looks like table/list

Also if possible can devs add feature "add host list from file or url"?
like from my redirection list
Thanks in advance
1st November 2019, 09:56 PM |#14078  
cujo6801's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Rancho Cucamonga
Thanks Meter: 3,191
 
More
Thanks .....
I know people hate when people clutter up the thread with thank you but sometimes you just have to say it
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to cujo6801 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift cujo6801 Ad-Free
1st November 2019, 10:46 PM |#14079  
ktmom's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,372
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by PerfectSlayer

...

I would also recommend to use Magisk systemless module if you are running Magisk as root solution.

...

Here is the link to my sponsor page: https://github.com/sponsors/PerfectSlayer
I am kind of new to this kind of this and I honestly want to know what you think about it: the principle of monthly fee and the tiers I choose (Too expensive? Too cheap? Any reward idea?).
GitHub takes no fee and double the donation the first year so I though it was a good idea to try it.
...

I hope that discussion didn't come across as, "don't use the systemless hosts module". We were (are) fascinated by the various update glitches

I love the idea of a subscription service. Those of us who rely on Adaway could certainly consider giving up a morning muffin once every two months to afford the lowest tier . If enough did that, it would add up.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ktmom For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift ktmom Ad-Free
4th November 2019, 07:17 AM |#14080  
mariosaraylian's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 102
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ktmom

You are an example of the complexity of the problem. You do not have a system as root (SAR) device*, but are on Magisk 20. I think this is the core of your problem.

I personally would be interested in what would happen if you deleted the systemless hosts module itself, rebooted, then tried to install a hosts file. It will error out again I'm sure.

Then re-enable systemless hosts which should download the module again, reboot and try again with Adaway.

If that doesn't work, I would revert Magisk to 19.3 (which was still a SAR A10 fix) or earlier. I'm sure that will work.


*SAR devices are all minimally released with 9.0

---------- Post added at 08:29 ---------- Previous post was at 08:27 ----------


This exists. It's called DNS logging.

ktmom:

I installed the new Magisk 20.1 and the new Adaway v4.3.0. I also tried your suggestions of uninstalling Systemless Hosts and Re-installing etc. I DID have the same problem. But, after a reboot again, for "shits and giggles" I changed the Target Hosts path to /data/hosts, (instead of /system/etc/hosts) in AdAway and re-installed the Hosts and it WORKED!

I even switched the Target back to /system/etc/hosts again for the hell of it, and it WORKED again.

No idea what I did or how it got fixed........but thanks for your help either way!

Hopefully it will stick!
5th November 2019, 04:10 AM |#14081  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
More
Does 4.3.0 support http protocol ? Also, when you update the host file, then does it warn you if the ALL HOST source url have created the final host file ?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
ad block, adaway, adblock, adblocker, source

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes