FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[SOLVED] error: protocol fault (no status)

117 posts
Thanks Meter: 47
 
By dfwcomputer, Senior Member on 28th March 2011, 05:40 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hi all,

When trying to adb to my legend on windows 7 I kept getting,

Code:
C:\AndroidSDK\tools>adb devices
error: protocol fault (no status)
after searching for 2 days through various posts I still could not get it to work, even though it had worked fine previously.In the end it was a simple fix

Open task manager and search for adb.exe and right click > end process.

Hope this helps someone else

Ive also attached a batch file that does the job 4 u.
Attached Files
File Type: zip adb-fix.zip - [Click for QR Code] (143 Bytes, 32094 views)
The Following 11 Users Say Thank You to dfwcomputer For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift dfwcomputer Ad-Free
1st August 2011, 07:57 AM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Great, it fixed my same error, thank you so much!
24th January 2012, 11:13 AM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Cool! That's really helps me a lot !
10th November 2013, 11:44 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Flag Sangli
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfwcomputer

Hi all,

When trying to adb to my legend on windows 7 I kept getting,

Code:
C:\AndroidSDK\tools>adb devices
error: protocol fault (no status)
after searching for 2 days through various posts I still could not get it to work, even though it had worked fine previously.In the end it was a simple fix

Open task manager and search for adb.exe and right click > end process.

Hope this helps someone else

Ive also attached a batch file that does the job 4 u.

Sir i bought an Locked Sprint HTC ONe...
Unlocked it..
But the Mobile Sharing Option is not visible...
So i am not able to insatll apk via Computer..
its Showing Errors... Device Not Found and Fault error..
6th May 2016, 03:09 PM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
cool. realy work
30th September 2016, 02:20 AM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
thank you. this works for me. task manage> abd.exe>end process.
cheers...
30th March 2017, 09:06 AM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
protocol problem
hello Sir i have amazon fire phone 64gb . I tried a custom rom after that i am stuck on amazon logo i tried to install stock rom with adb but after some % it shows error protocol fault(no status) . I have tried every step but its happening yet please help me how to fix my phone
12th November 2019, 01:22 PM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thank you so so much!!! You saved my day!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
adb, error, protocol fault

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes