FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[APP][Root][OFFICIAL] AdAway v4.3.2 :: [2019-12-29]

603 posts
Thanks Meter: 5,256
 
Post Reply Email Thread
15th November 2019, 09:17 AM |#14141  
zgfg's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,247
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by JAYNO20

I am having a problem with adaway. It blocks ads everywhere in the OS except for chrome. I've ensured data saver is not on and I've even unchecked and rebooted and then rechecked the systemless module, cleared data/cache on chrome, uninstalled/installed adaway and updated to the most recent version with no luck. I am on the November patch Android 10 on my Pixel 3. It doesn't matter if I'm on Wi-Fi or data ads are not blocked in chrome. Any help I can get will be greatly appreciated.

For Chrome you need additional procedure as described here:
https://forum.xda-developers.com/mat...7/post80526823
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to zgfg For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift zgfg Ad-Free
15th November 2019, 10:33 AM |#14142  
ithehappy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Calcutta
Thanks Meter: 1,951
 
More
Hi, I'm a long time AdAway user, but never posted here. As it would block Ads almost anywhere including YouTube app too I think. But now it doesn't work on YouTube app (hasn't been blocking any ads within the app for a while though), but also for Chrome it does block the ads., but the space consumed by those ads still remain as an empty, white space! Is there a way i can have them removed? Please refer to the screenshots to see what I'm talking about.

Also additional query, if there's any thing better than Adaway which will block ads for everything on my phone then please mention. I would not prefer one of those VPN rerouting type of apps though.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20191112-171512.png
Views:	726
Size:	133.8 KB
ID:	4876763   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20191112-171504.png
Views:	732
Size:	234.9 KB
ID:	4876765  
15th November 2019, 10:57 AM |#14143  
smint86's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dortmund
Thanks Meter: 721
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ithehappy

Hi, I'm a long time AdAway user, but never posted here. As it would block Ads almost anywhere including YouTube app too I think. But now it doesn't work on YouTube app (hasn't been blocking any ads within the app for a while though), but also for Chrome it does block the ads., but the space consumed by those ads still remain as an empty, white space! Is there a way i can have them removed? Please refer to the screenshots to see what I'm talking about.

Also additional query, if there's any thing better than Adaway which will block ads for everything on my phone then please mention. I would not prefer one of those VPN rerouting type of apps though.

I can't help you concerning the white space.

If you want to block ads from YouTube on your phone, you'll need a modded version of the app. Look for "Vanced YouTube" here on xda, I got it running as a Magisk module and it's working like a charm. Adblocking and some fancy additional features.
The Following User Says Thank You to smint86 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift smint86 Ad-Free
15th November 2019, 11:07 AM |#14144  
zgfg's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,247
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ithehappy

Hi, I'm a long time AdAway user, but never posted here. As it would block Ads almost anywhere including YouTube app too I think. But now it doesn't work on YouTube app (hasn't been blocking any ads within the app for a while though), but also for Chrome it does block the ads., but the space consumed by those ads still remain as an empty, white space! Is there a way i can have them removed? Please refer to the screenshots to see what I'm talking about.

Also additional query, if there's any thing better than Adaway which will block ads for everything on my phone then please mention. I would not prefer one of those VPN rerouting type of apps though.

I don't have empty spaces in Chrome, see #14145 from an hour ago (but it may depend on Web page you're reading)
For YT it was also answered yesterday, #14143
The Following User Says Thank You to zgfg For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift zgfg Ad-Free
15th November 2019, 01:37 PM |#14145  
ktmom's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter: 2,753
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ithehappy

Hi, I'm a long time AdAway user, but never posted here. As it would block Ads almost anywhere including YouTube app too I think. But now it doesn't work on YouTube app (hasn't been blocking any ads within the app for a while though), but also for Chrome it does block the ads., but the space consumed by those ads still remain as an empty, white space! Is there a way i can have them removed? Please refer to the screenshots to see what I'm talking about.

Also additional query, if there's any thing better than Adaway which will block ads for everything on my phone then please mention. I would not prefer one of those VPN rerouting type of apps though.

The empty space in websites is the websites programming to hold a consistent space for the ad. Adaway can't make that space collapse, but a add-on in a browser called uBlock can. It's not available, AFAIK, for the mobile chrome, but there are chrome based browsers like Kiwi browser that can run add-ons. I use Firefox based browsers which also accept add-ons.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ktmom For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift ktmom Ad-Free
15th November 2019, 03:36 PM |#14146  
patrickdrd's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 120
 
More
adguard can do that as well
16th November 2019, 09:32 AM |#14147  
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Hi,
I have a problem with setting adaway up after updating to android 10
oneplus 7pro
magisk 20.1
adaway 4.3.0

I have magisk systemless hosts module enabled but still see adds in some apps, where there were none when I was on pie.

I did multiple reinstalations, cache clears but no success.
Any help will be apreciated. Thanks
16th November 2019, 01:11 PM |#14148  
drnightshadow's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 251
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gruby_grubas

Hi,
I have a problem with setting adaway up after updating to android 10
oneplus 7pro
magisk 20.1
adaway 4.3.0

I have magisk systemless hosts module enabled but still see adds in some apps, where there were none when I was on pie.

I did multiple reinstalations, cache clears but no success.
Any help will be apreciated. Thanks

Use search... already answered about 100-times...
tip: host(s), hardcoded ip
The Following User Says Thank You to drnightshadow For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift drnightshadow Ad-Free
16th November 2019, 01:41 PM |#14149  
ktmom's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter: 2,753
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gruby_grubas

Hi,
I have a problem with setting adaway up after updating to android 10
oneplus 7pro
magisk 20.1
adaway 4.3.0

I have magisk systemless hosts module enabled but still see adds in some apps, where there were none when I was on pie.

I did multiple reinstalations, cache clears but no success.
Any help will be apreciated. Thanks

Adaway Wiki
Quote:

Note that none of that matters if an app bypasses the hosts mechanism and calls a numeric IP directly, builds in their own ads or leverages a proxy. Those direct calls, common in some games, don't go through DNS at all and therefore can't be altered by AdAway or the hosts file. The same applies to processes that use an external DNS resolution scheme, such as the Chrome proxy ("reduce bandwidth usage") or the DNS bypass used by some ISPs (Satellite providers, for example).

The Following User Says Thank You to ktmom For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift ktmom Ad-Free
16th November 2019, 01:48 PM |#14150  
PoochyX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 380
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ktmom

Adaway Wiki

Like the random ads that still come on in YouTube Vance...

(09-09-18)
17th November 2019, 12:50 AM |#14151  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ktmom

It does work with A10. Start with, is the systemless hosts module installed in Magisk? Magisk manager -> settings -> tap on systemless hosts after install, reboot and try applying Adaway again.

What device?

I'm having the same issue on the Pixel 3 with Magisk Canary, I can't seem to find that module though or find those settings in Magisk Manager.

Nevermind, I'm dumb, found it lol
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
ad block, adaway, adblock, adblocker, source

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes