FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[APP][Root][OFFICIAL] AdAway v4.3.0 :: [2019-11-01]

595 posts
Thanks Meter: 4,832
 
Post Reply Email Thread
30th November 2019, 08:22 AM |#14171  
zgfg's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,217
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kucingbaik2

i use android 10 custom on kenzo with magisk canary latest

but got error on update ad away

like this

error message " copying of host file failed "

any solutions ??

Android 10 - read only system
Did you read above about systemless hosts?!
30th November 2019, 08:27 AM |#14172  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zgfg

Android 10 - read only system
Did you read above about systemless hosts?!

thank you problem solved....


work normaly
2nd December 2019, 07:46 AM |#14173  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 45
 
More
Magisk 20.1, Adaway 4.3.0, Android 6, systemless enabled.
Blocking does not work at all, and when I try to 'Log DNS requests' inside Adaway, the log file is empty.
The Following User Says Thank You to peterf81 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift peterf81 Ad-Free
2nd December 2019, 01:51 PM |#14174  
ktmom's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,430
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by peterf81

Magisk 20.1, Adaway 4.3.0, Android 6, systemless enabled.
Blocking does not work at all, and when I try to 'Log DNS requests' inside Adaway, the log file is empty.

First, what is the size of the hosts file after Adaway had been applied? Another way to determine if the hosts file had been modified is to look at the banner at the top of the file. It will indicate it was modified by Adaway.

Did you reboot after applying the hosts file?

Specifically, what app(s) are still displaying ads?

As far DNS logging, look at the bottom of the wiki page for reasons it might not work.
2nd December 2019, 10:42 PM |#14175  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 45
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ktmom

First, what is the size of the hosts file after Adaway had been applied? Another way to determine if the hosts file had been modified is to look at the banner at the top of the file. It will indicate it was modified by Adaway.

Did you reboot after applying the hosts file?

Specifically, what app(s) are still displaying ads?

As far DNS logging, look at the bottom of the wiki page for reasons it might not work.

1.7 MB, yes it is modified by adaway. Yes it is rebooted. Youtube is displaying ads.

But now it looks like ad blocking is working in Chrome, it was not working before, I tested for 2 days. But youtube still display ads.
2nd December 2019, 10:58 PM |#14176  
ktmom's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,430
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by peterf81

1.7 MB, yes it is modified by adaway. Yes it is rebooted. Youtube is displaying ads.

But now it looks like ad blocking is working in Chrome, it was not working before, I tested for 2 days. But youtube still display ads.

You could have saved yourself some hassle by searching "YouTube" in this thread. Adaway can not help with apps that have the ads served internally. There are options though.

BTW, if you have data saver on in chrome, you'll have trouble with ads.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ktmom For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift ktmom Ad-Free
3rd December 2019, 01:48 AM |#14177  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by peterf81

1.7 MB, yes it is modified by adaway. Yes it is rebooted. Youtube is displaying ads.

But now it looks like ad blocking is working in Chrome, it was not working before, I tested for 2 days. But youtube still display ads.

You can use Magisk plus the Youtube Vanced module for that.
The Following User Says Thank You to BhNeP For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift BhNeP Ad-Free
3rd December 2019, 03:14 AM |#14178  
Senior Member
Flag Indianapolis, IN
Thanks Meter: 1,572
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by peterf81

1.7 MB, yes it is modified by adaway. Yes it is rebooted. Youtube is displaying ads.

But now it looks like ad blocking is working in Chrome, it was not working before, I tested for 2 days. But youtube still display ads.

Adaway will not block ads in youtube, as has been stated many, many times till we are all blue in the face!
3rd December 2019, 03:18 AM |#14179  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,582
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by martyfender

Adaway will not block ads in youtube, as has been stated many, many times till we are all blue in the face!

Lol this was way too spot on to not post.
3rd December 2019, 07:03 PM |#14180  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by raizor6th

Hi,
I'm trying to enable ad-blocking on adaway but magisk wont promt to allow/deny root access. I'm using miui11 can you help me!.

I think you are using MIUI based rom open app drawer>settings>apps>manage apps>select magisk manager>put auto start on>other permissions>check 3rd option in the screenshot
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2019-12-03-23-32-37-378_com.miui.securitycenter.jpg
Views:	802
Size:	187.7 KB
ID:	4893181  
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to ttreddy2210 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift ttreddy2210 Ad-Free
8th December 2019, 03:35 PM |#14181  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Hello, what entry should I add to block ads on Facebook messenger?

Wysłane z mojego Redmi K20 Pro przy użyciu Tapatalka
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
ad block, adaway, adblock, adblocker, source

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes