FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[APP][Root][OFFICIAL] AdAway v4.3.2 :: [2019-12-29]

603 posts
Thanks Meter: 5,256
 
Post Reply Email Thread
2nd December 2019, 10:42 PM |#14171  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 46
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ktmom

First, what is the size of the hosts file after Adaway had been applied? Another way to determine if the hosts file had been modified is to look at the banner at the top of the file. It will indicate it was modified by Adaway.

Did you reboot after applying the hosts file?

Specifically, what app(s) are still displaying ads?

As far DNS logging, look at the bottom of the wiki page for reasons it might not work.

1.7 MB, yes it is modified by adaway. Yes it is rebooted. Youtube is displaying ads.

But now it looks like ad blocking is working in Chrome, it was not working before, I tested for 2 days. But youtube still display ads.
2nd December 2019, 10:58 PM |#14172  
ktmom's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter: 2,757
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by peterf81

1.7 MB, yes it is modified by adaway. Yes it is rebooted. Youtube is displaying ads.

But now it looks like ad blocking is working in Chrome, it was not working before, I tested for 2 days. But youtube still display ads.

You could have saved yourself some hassle by searching "YouTube" in this thread. Adaway can not help with apps that have the ads served internally. There are options though.

BTW, if you have data saver on in chrome, you'll have trouble with ads.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ktmom For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift ktmom Ad-Free
3rd December 2019, 01:48 AM |#14173  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by peterf81

1.7 MB, yes it is modified by adaway. Yes it is rebooted. Youtube is displaying ads.

But now it looks like ad blocking is working in Chrome, it was not working before, I tested for 2 days. But youtube still display ads.

You can use Magisk plus the Youtube Vanced module for that.
The Following User Says Thank You to BhNeP For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift BhNeP Ad-Free
3rd December 2019, 03:14 AM |#14174  
Senior Member
Flag Indianapolis, IN
Thanks Meter: 1,587
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by peterf81

1.7 MB, yes it is modified by adaway. Yes it is rebooted. Youtube is displaying ads.

But now it looks like ad blocking is working in Chrome, it was not working before, I tested for 2 days. But youtube still display ads.

Adaway will not block ads in youtube, as has been stated many, many times till we are all blue in the face!
3rd December 2019, 03:18 AM |#14175  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,684
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by martyfender

Adaway will not block ads in youtube, as has been stated many, many times till we are all blue in the face!

Lol this was way too spot on to not post.
3rd December 2019, 07:03 PM |#14176  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by raizor6th

Hi,
I'm trying to enable ad-blocking on adaway but magisk wont promt to allow/deny root access. I'm using miui11 can you help me!.

I think you are using MIUI based rom open app drawer>settings>apps>manage apps>select magisk manager>put auto start on>other permissions>check 3rd option in the screenshot
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2019-12-03-23-32-37-378_com.miui.securitycenter.jpg
Views:	854
Size:	187.7 KB
ID:	4893181  
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to ttreddy2210 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift ttreddy2210 Ad-Free
8th December 2019, 03:35 PM |#14177  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Hello, what entry should I add to block ads on Facebook messenger?

Wysłane z mojego Redmi K20 Pro przy użyciu Tapatalka
8th December 2019, 05:31 PM |#14178  
ktmom's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter: 2,757
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by NightRiders87

Hello, what entry should I add to block ads on Facebook messenger?

Wysłane z mojego Redmi K20 Pro przy użyciu Tapatalka

On any app you can log DNS requests. Then add domains to the blacklist that you want to block.

Facebook has a vested interest in serving you ads (like YouTube and others) so the ads are tightly integrated and don't make DNS requests. Searching this thread should find alternatives.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ktmom For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift ktmom Ad-Free
8th December 2019, 05:33 PM |#14179  
PoochyX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 380
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ktmom

On any app you can log DNS requests. Then add domains to the blacklist that you want to block.

Facebook has a vested interest in serving you ads (like YouTube and others) so the ads are tightly integrated and don't make DNS requests. Searching this thread should find alternatives.

Just use the ad free messenger mod from xda thread just search for it

(09-09-18)
11th December 2019, 11:50 PM |#14180  
j1gga84's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bremen
Thanks Meter: 2,697
 
More
Is there an alternative link for http://sbc.io/hosts/hosts because only https links are allowed.

Edit:
You find the answer when you click on the link, nevermind for asking

Regards

Sent from my SM-G960F with Tapatalk
12th December 2019, 12:13 AM |#14181  
zgfg's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,247
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by j1gga84

Is there an alternative link for http://sbc.io/hosts/hosts because only https links are allowed.

Edit:
You find the answer when you click on the link, nevermind for asking

Regards

Go to Energized Protection, there you can find packages of your choice (hosts merged from various sources, incl. also from sbc.io)

You can choose in which format you want (take hosts txt) - and all are hosted by https

See post:
https://forum.xda-developers.com/sho...753&p=80873149
The Following User Says Thank You to zgfg For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift zgfg Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
ad block, adaway, adblock, adblocker, source

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes