FORUMS

 View Poll Results: Was this thread helpful?

Yes, I am happy with the replies.
 
1,211 Vote(s)
59.22%
Yes, kind of.
 
483 Vote(s)
23.62%
No, needs improvement.
 
351 Vote(s)
17.16%

[Ask Any Question][Newbie Friendly]

14,332 posts
Thanks Meter: 5,170
 
By Droidriven, Senior Member on 29th April 2013, 12:24 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
28th June 2020, 07:10 PM |#30891  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Droidriven

Android isn't quite to the point of being universal with everything, probably never will be due to each manufacturer having their own interests to protect plus the push by some manufacturers to leave some things behind in order to promote "new ways" of doing things and new software/hardware elements to do things that used to be done differently.

Sent from my SM-S767VL using Tapatalk

Yea what I do won't be common. I just find that older versions of android worked very well in this area. Including a great deal of input devices as well. Such as the interface for the cursor icon. On Android 7.0 and below, that worked very well. But then I will be one of the very few that use a mouse at times. On all android versions since this, the centre of the typical arrow shape cursor is what selects things, not the fine point it points to at the tip, which you would expect. The scrolling is also broken whenever you get an options menu pop up in system settings, such as the multiple different notification sound options. You can scroll down it fine with your bluetooth/wireless mouse, but as soon as you click, it sends you to the top of the menu and selects that one. It only registers you touching the screen properly in that regard. Also on many map apps, it registers scrolling up and down as the words suggest, but it doesn't zoom in and out like it used to. Android seems that is just doesn't support these things in the same way it used to. I know I have some cheap branded stuff, but I find some of this poor, especially given that some brands include a touchpad in their keyboard case which is specially made for the tablet that came with android that doesn't seem to fully support it. Should the manufacturer tweak android to make their touchpad work with it or should android have kept supporting it better? I guess a bit of both really. I used to use a touchpad and keybaord in a case with one of my tablets and now am trying to get used to using the touch keyboard because of the limitations newer android versions seem to have. This clearly won't matter to most. Android is just accounting to more modern needs probably, i just wish it would continue to support what it used to.
3rd July 2020, 03:53 PM |#30892  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
I wish I could help others as I seem to be asking a lot in this forum!

I've noticed some streaming apps such as NowTV and My5 look like they are playing the quality content they claim, but something about the video doesn't look right. But this is just how one of my tablets seems to do things. It over sharpens the image making pixals incredibly obvious. MX player also had this problem until I disabled hardware (or hardware+) decoder and set it to software. This seemed to make the image softer and more like it should (I really don't think that is related to the name - but hey). My Lenovo tab4 8 plus looks find with everything by default. My Teclast M16 looks fine on everything until you start streaming videos. You can sort it out in MX player as I described, but watching F1 practice sessions on NowTV on my other tablet seems to look rather unreal. It is just too sharp and I'm unsure what is causing this. I keep thinking it is something related to the programs as the screen doesn't have this issue when not running them. Another example is the on screen f1 graphics. The text has very hard edges and looks blocky. It isn't a like comparing 480p to 360p or anything like that as it is still sharp, but I'm not sure what it is.

I could share my experience if NowTV would let me take a screenshot but they sure to like to restrict everything you can do.

I've attached examples from a race I recorded last year. The way these tablets deal with streaming video seems very different. Unless they are both using MX player in with the software decoder.

It was hard to get the exact same frame. The image with a 16:10 ratio was from my Lenovo using MX player in HW+ decoder. Although that looks full of tearing when paused (this is common with MTS video), it nicely softens the edges of things and stops things from looking pixalated when playing. It looks like this on my PC as well. The other shot from my Teclast tablet is very close to the same frame. You can see from the shadows that the edges are very blocky and it seems to be attempting to make everything as sharp as possible. It sort of is effective, but a lot of the time makes the picture look very artificial. You can solve this in MX player by selecting SW decoder, then it looks like my Lenovo does.

But as I mentioned, most online streaming apps like the ones I mentioned also over sharpen the image but I can't work out a solution to solve it. It certainly isn't anything related to the tablet having a poor screen as it outputs this poor image via HDMI too.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20200703-153436.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	211.5 KB
ID:	5053069   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20200703-152253.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	216.9 KB
ID:	5053071  
5th July 2020, 12:54 AM |#30893  
Gurren Lagann's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pompey Town
Thanks Meter: 23
 
More
Can someone recommend me great wired earbuds with crystal clear sound under $25.00?
5th July 2020, 03:59 PM |#30894  
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gurren Lagann

Can someone recommend me great wired earbuds with crystal clear sound under $25.00?

https://budgetreport.com/best-cheap-earbuds/

I suggest you do a Google search for:

"Best wired earbuds under $25"

That gives a lot of results and reviews to read through. I'm sure you'll find something that satisfies your wants/needs.

Sent from my SM-S767VL using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to Droidriven For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Droidriven Ad-Free
5th July 2020, 11:39 PM |#30895  
Gurren Lagann's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pompey Town
Thanks Meter: 23
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Droidriven

https://budgetreport.com/best-cheap-earbuds/

I suggest you do a Google search for:

"Best wired earbuds under $25"

That gives a lot of results and reviews to read through. I'm sure you'll find something that satisfies your wants/needs.

Sent from my SM-S767VL using Tapatalk

Yup. But I was kinda hoping for your own personal opinions based on the earbuds you have had in the past.
Yesterday, 07:54 AM |#30896  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I might be lost
Okay so I bought a Samsung S10e, just three weeks ago from my Carriers website on payments and when it arrived it appeared NEW as expected and was a fantastic phone coming from the S8 Active, but anyhow, I go to the lake 4th of July and the T-Mobile signal is not too good there. Well I get a call from my wife and I noticed I had an option to use (I later found out) is called Text Calling, but hours later chatting with my adult daughter I look and I see my screen (see image attached) has this greenish screen saying unauthorized software etc etc??

And now everyone I show it to says the "I" flashed it with a ROM or something and I need Odin? Anyhow I did no such thing and I have been told T-Mobile will also say I flashed it, or Rooted it or whatever but I didn't. How could this have happened and is it fixable? Or will I end up paying for a phone I did not hack, plus a new one?

Advice?

How do I add an image on my desktop to this thread?
Yesterday, 09:39 AM |#30897  
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gurren Lagann

Yup. But I was kinda hoping for your own personal opinions based on the earbuds you have had in the past.

I'm no expert on earbuds, I prefer full, cover the ear headphones. It's heavier but the sound quality is excellent.

My wife, however, likes earbuds and she has always been satisfied with the Skullcandy Ink'd earbuds, and they get good reviews, such as these:

https://www.skullcandy.com/shop/earbuds/wired-earbuds

Sent from my SM-S767VL using Tapatalk
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Droidriven For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Droidriven Ad-Free
Yesterday, 01:45 PM |#30898  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
GSI / Treble related question
Hi Guys,

i am currently flashing different GSI to my Galaxy A20e.
Since the experimental TWRP only worked after i flashed an Adroid 9 based Stock firmware, i was until now also only able to flash Pie based GSI using TWRP.

The Q Based GSI won´t boot.

Does it make a difference wich stock FW i flashed before installing TWRP and flashing the GSI.
Is a flashed Q Stock FW required to install Q based GSI?

As far as i thought the Stock FW does not affect these parts, since i was able to flash the GSI even after breaking the installed FW.. but i am just a little Newbie

Thanks in advance!
Yesterday, 02:51 PM |#30899  
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamsungCust20

Okay so I bought a Samsung S10e, just three weeks ago from my Carriers website on payments and when it arrived it appeared NEW as expected and was a fantastic phone coming from the S8 Active, but anyhow, I go to the lake 4th of July and the T-Mobile signal is not too good there. Well I get a call from my wife and I noticed I had an option to use (I later found out) is called Text Calling, but hours later chatting with my adult daughter I look and I see my screen (see image attached) has this greenish screen saying unauthorized software etc etc??

And now everyone I show it to says the "I" flashed it with a ROM or something and I need Odin? Anyhow I did no such thing and I have been told T-Mobile will also say I flashed it, or Rooted it or whatever but I didn't. How could this have happened and is it fixable? Or will I end up paying for a phone I did not hack, plus a new one?

Advice?

How do I add an image on my desktop to this thread?

This is the most up to date firmware that I could find for G970U T mobile:

https://sfirmware.com/downloads-file...jmqtmnp0ys_fac

Then you need to flash that firmware via Odin.



Sent from my SM-S767VL using Tapatalk
Yesterday, 07:24 PM |#30900  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I know nothing about this issue I am having I could not figure out how to post a picture of what my screen looks like and I cannot get into the phone at all, I tried holding down volume with power and I cannot get it into safe mode or some one mentioned download mode, I cannot get to that part. I don't know what flashing and what Odin and firmware, all over my head.
Yesterday, 08:24 PM |#30901  
SubwayChamp's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 911
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamsungCust20

How do I add an image on my desktop to this thread?

You'll find an option to attach files included images through the controls when you start or reply a post.

---------- Post added at 08:24 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:47 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by hannes22

Hi Guys,

i am currently flashing different GSI to my Galaxy A20e.
Since the experimental TWRP only worked after i flashed an Adroid 9 based Stock firmware, i was until now also only able to flash Pie based GSI using TWRP.

The Q Based GSI won´t boot.

Does it make a difference wich stock FW i flashed before installing TWRP and flashing the GSI.
Is a flashed Q Stock FW required to install Q based GSI?

As far as i thought the Stock FW does not affect these parts, since i was able to flash the GSI even after breaking the installed FW.. but i am just a little Newbie

Thanks in advance!

Similarly that Pie based GSIs require a stock Pie firmware also Android 10 based GSIs most likely require Android 10 stock firmware as base.
Specifically bootloader and modem are used to boot and run properly, it might be required too a modded kernel to achieve it.
I guess the A20e was updated to Android 10.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
ask any question, bricked phone, cwm roms and kernels, help thread, noob, noob friendly, question, rcs in action

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes