FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[Temp] Fix for missing apps on froyo

4,895 posts
Thanks Meter: 5,424
 
By shabbypenguin, Inactive Recognized Developer on 23rd November 2010, 07:24 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
in your build.prop replace the current text with this: you can get things like tv.com back

Code:
ro.build.description=passion-user 2.2.1 FRG83 60505 release-keys
ro.build.fingerprint=google/passion/passion/mahimahi:2.2.1/FRG83/60505:user/release-keys
i would upload one for people to flash but as some many people are on diff roms/kernels it would just cause more issues then its worth best way to go about fixing it is pulling the file from your phone (or the zip from teh rom your on). swapping out the text and pushing it back to /system


all credit goes to Decad3nce for the fix
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to shabbypenguin For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift shabbypenguin Ad-Free
24th November 2010, 05:52 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag Charleston
Thanks Meter: 67
 
More
Didn't s work for me...

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App
24th November 2010, 05:57 AM |#3  
shabbypenguin's Avatar
OP Inactive Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 5,424
 
Donate to Me
More
you may have to reboot
24th November 2010, 06:31 AM |#4  
dangdang's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Texas
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Worked for me! Thanks.

Sent from Froyo!
24th November 2010, 10:48 AM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Thanks worked great!!
24th November 2010, 02:36 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,392
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by shabbypenguin

in your build.prop replace the current text with this:

Wouldn't you like to be more specific? Your current instructions technically mean to replace the entire file with just those three lines...

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App
24th November 2010, 03:30 PM |#7  
Dameon87's Avatar
Inactive Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,151
 
Donate to Me
More
Please note that users of Quantum Rom already have this fix applied, since 1.3
(Used the epic 2.1 key in 1.3, 1.4+ use the nexus one key)
Thanks shabby xD

Sent from my SPH-D700 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to Dameon87 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Dameon87 Ad-Free
24th November 2010, 06:51 PM |#8  
dangdang's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Texas
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Here's what I did from my PC with adb. (I have adb in my PATH so adjust the commands for wherever you might have adb.exe)

adb pull /system/build.prop

Then I edited the 2 lines on my PC with notepad++ and saved. Then I put it on my sdcard, remounted /system readwrite and copied it over to /system/build.prop and then rebooted.

adb push build.prop /sdcard/build.prop
adb shell
su (if your ROM didn't already drop you in to root, and check your phone for the superuser popup)
mount -t rfs -o remount,rw /dev/block/stl9 /system
cat /sdcard/build.prop > /system/build.prop
reboot

Sent from Froyo!
The Following User Says Thank You to dangdang For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift dangdang Ad-Free
14th December 2010, 04:22 PM |#9  
xeonbuilder's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 68
 
More
didnt work for me. I been trying to get the PayPal 2.2 to show up on the market but its a no go.

Im using Froyo also.

anyway we could just get the paypal.apk??
20th December 2010, 12:11 AM |#10  
Milkman00's Avatar
Senior Member
Tampa Bay, Florida
Thanks Meter: 131
 
More
This didn't work for me either. Trying to get Pocket Blu installed, but it isn't working. TV.com isn't showing either. FWIW I have the new Market app if that means anything.

Any ideas?
20th December 2010, 01:18 AM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 110
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Milkman00

This didn't work for me either. Trying to get Pocket Blu installed, but it isn't working. TV.com isn't showing either. FWIW I have the new Market app if that means anything.

Any ideas?

Did you reboot your phone?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes