FORUMS
Post Reply Email Thread
Hi guys,

I'm afraid my emmc is fried. After occasional crashes/freezes/FC's in different apps/Android modules in CM7 over a few months, one day I opened this site in the browser, and the browser FC'ed and then kept FC'ing when opened. When rebooting, the phone gets stuck looping in the CM7 animated start-up logo. When I boot in Clockworkmod (v4.0.1.0) , I get this error:

E: Can't mount /cache/recovery/command
E: Can't mount /cache/recovery/log
E: Can't open /cache/recovery/log
E: Can't mount /cache/recovery/last_log
E: Can't open /cache/recovery/last_log

and I can't use Clockworkmod. Cannot mount/wipe cache, cannot install anything. I tried checking the eMMC with ADB and FASTBOOT, but they can't see the device, though Heimdall does see it as I was able to flash recovery.bin again in d/l mode (but without fixing the problem). Please help, I've run out of ideas and have no phone...
4th June 2012, 09:48 PM |#2  
droidstyle's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Fort Wayne
Thanks Meter: 3,616
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bollorr

Hi guys,

I'm afraid my emmc is fried. After occasional crashes/freezes/FC's in different apps/Android modules in CM7 over a few months, one day I opened this site in the browser, and the browser FC'ed and then kept FC'ing when opened. When rebooting, the phone gets stuck looping in the CM7 animated start-up logo. When I boot in Clockworkmod (v4.0.1.0) , I get this error:

E: Can't mount /cache/recovery/command
E: Can't mount /cache/recovery/log
E: Can't open /cache/recovery/log
E: Can't mount /cache/recovery/last_log
E: Can't open /cache/recovery/last_log

and I can't use Clockworkmod. Cannot mount/wipe cache, cannot install anything. I tried checking the eMMC with ADB and FASTBOOT, but they can't see the device, though Heimdall does see it as I was able to flash recovery.bin again in d/l mode (but without fixing the problem). Please help, I've run out of ideas and have no phone...

you need to get into recovery via the power menu...depending on what kernel version your running, three fingering into recovery will cause a bootloop. the same thing applies to all ICS roms. If you can no longer get the phone to boot up then simply odin cwm4 fixed for cm7, three finger into recovery, wipe data, then reflash the rom. Make sure everything is backed up first. More information can be found in section 3 here:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1238070
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to droidstyle For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift droidstyle Ad-Free
17th March 2016, 09:48 AM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
HELP
hey fort help me out i am facing out the same issue on my moto e since past cant flash anything out same problem cant mount anything


please please please help
5th June 2012, 12:39 AM |#4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Thanks for your reply. I explained that the phone doesn't boot up anymore (gets stuck in a loop), and while booting into ClockworkMod works (3 fingers), I get these errors, so even though the up/down/power buttons work (I can scroll through the recovery menus/options), certain things don't work, like wiping the cache (it cannot mount or open the cache) or re-flashing CM7 from SD-card... I get errors.

I've had problems with Odin before (it said it flashed stuff, but stuff didn't work), so I've been using Heimdall for a while instead. Like I said, I was able to successfully re-upload ClockworkMod to the phone (in d/l mode) with Heimdall, but it doesn't fix the problem. The problem seems to be that the cache partition is corrupted, and I can't do much from within ClockworkMod (though it worked without problems in the past).

I've found tips on here (http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1284196) that the errors I get are sometimes (though not always) because of physical corruption of eMMC. Is it possible to flash CM7 or CM9 using Heimdall or (Heimdall-frontend), are there instructions on this, though I doubt it will work...I'm new to this lol. I want to at least have a working phone, until I can figure out how to fix the cache problem and make Clockworkmod work again. Thanks.
The Following User Says Thank You to bollorr For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift bollorr Ad-Free
5th June 2012, 01:28 AM |#5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Is it possible to just fix the cache partition or re-partition using a program like Heimdall?
7th May 2018, 12:32 PM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bollorr

Is it possible to just fix the cache partition or re-partition using a program like Heimdall?

Not possible
5th June 2012, 03:18 AM |#7  
crazymonkey05's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag stilwell, OK
Thanks Meter: 230
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bollorr

Hi guys,

I'm afraid my emmc is fried. After occasional crashes/freezes/FC's in different apps/Android modules in CM7 over a few months, one day I opened this site in the browser, and the browser FC'ed and then kept FC'ing when opened. When rebooting, the phone gets stuck looping in the CM7 animated start-up logo. When I boot in Clockworkmod (v4.0.1.0) , I get this error:

E: Can't mount /cache/recovery/command
E: Can't mount /cache/recovery/log
E: Can't open /cache/recovery/log
E: Can't mount /cache/recovery/last_log
E: Can't open /cache/recovery/last_log

and I can't use Clockworkmod. Cannot mount/wipe cache, cannot install anything. I tried checking the eMMC with ADB and FASTBOOT, but they can't see the device, though Heimdall does see it as I was able to flash recovery.bin again in d/l mode (but without fixing the problem). Please help, I've run out of ideas and have no phone...

i have the exact same problem with my fascinate i would think that if i could get odin to flash a new rom to it it would boot but im not intirely sure
1st June 2013, 09:47 AM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Unhappy
i hava the same problem with you, i have compiled a recovery for mt6577,but the recovery get stuck while backing up boot partition.
20th March 2016, 05:21 AM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
galaxy s3 stuck "samsung galaxy sIII on sreen".
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazymonkey05

i have the exact same problem with my fascinate i would think that if i could get odin to flash a new rom to it it would boot but im not intirely sure


Hi, i also got same problem on galaxy s3, con,t update firmware through kies, and odin. just stuck "galaxy siii" on screen . but i can go to recovery mode but it comes up with lot red letters say E: Can't mount /cache/recovery/command
E: Can't mount /cache/recovery/log
E: Can't open /cache/recovery/log
E: Can't mount /cache/recovery/last_log
E: Can't open /cache/recovery/last_log

even i tried adb side tool to flash proper rom , but it loads upto 59% and it says instalation abort. again same messages on phone, con't mount cache/recovery/log

any solutions plz
23rd March 2016, 06:25 AM |#10  
crazymonkey05's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag stilwell, OK
Thanks Meter: 230
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by balachandra2k3

Hi, i also got same problem on galaxy s3, con,t update firmware through kies, and odin. just stuck "galaxy siii" on screen . but i can go to recovery mode but it comes up with lot red letters say E: Can't mount /cache/recovery/command
E: Can't mount /cache/recovery/log
E: Can't open /cache/recovery/log
E: Can't mount /cache/recovery/last_log
E: Can't open /cache/recovery/last_log

even i tried adb side tool to flash proper rom , but it loads upto 59% and it says instalation abort. again same messages on phone, con't mount cache/recovery/log

any solutions plz

To me it sounds like your NAND has failed. Not to uncommon for devices this old, try creating a thread in your devices forum.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes