FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Simple guide to [VM firmware recovery thread] v2

1,312 posts
Thanks Meter: 253
 
By jlechner, Senior Member on 11th May 2012, 01:22 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
16th May 2012, 01:09 PM |#491  
jcfunk's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 494
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayjam99

So you were one of his testers?

Yes, lucky one to brick. Then unbrick. Then one of the few left with a radio not working. So spent all day in front of 3 computers to fix, or break. LOL

OH! Phone didn't float.
WD40 hard to clean off.

Sent from my DOWNGRADED EVO 3D
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jcfunk For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift jcfunk Ad-Free
 
 
16th May 2012, 01:19 PM |#492  
jayjam99's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lima, OH
Thanks Meter: 227
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcfunk

Yes, lucky one to brick. Then unbrick. Then one of the few left with a radio not working. So spent all day in front of 3 computers to fix, or break. LOL

OH! Phone didn't float.
WD40 hard to clean off.

Sent from my DOWNGRADED EVO 3D

I really hope this is good news and a step in the direction of having this fix released. I just want my 3G back!
16th May 2012, 01:53 PM |#493  
jcfunk's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 494
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayjam99

I really hope this is good news and a step in the direction of having this fix released. I just want my 3G back!

Not hard, just easier for me not having to switch between OSes. Going to reVM. to retest fix. And give Unknown files to compare.

Sent from my DOWNGRADED EVO 3D
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jcfunk For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift jcfunk Ad-Free
16th May 2012, 01:55 PM |#494  
jlechner's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Kansas City
Thanks Meter: 253
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by oblivion2k

I get "Lack of Heap!" when I bootloader tries to flash the 2.17 PG86IMG.zip at the end of the guide. CRC checks out fine and I followed your direction to the letter AFAIK. Help please?

I didn't upload a 2.17 PG86IMG. there is a link for it in the beginning.

Sent from my Sprint/Virgin Mobile hybrid
16th May 2012, 02:40 PM |#495  
jayjam99's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lima, OH
Thanks Meter: 227
 
More
I dont know if it was ever mentioned here but thanks to buddywiser (In Vins other thread about this whole mess) I have now managed to regain my 3G connection!
It was nothing more than changing the setting in EVDO from "CDMA only" to "automatic". (In the ##3282# menu)
So now the only thing im still dealing with is the VM banners. (My PRI is downgraded and I have 3G again.)
The Following User Says Thank You to jayjam99 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift jayjam99 Ad-Free
16th May 2012, 03:02 PM |#496  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
My experience:

Flashed VM Firmware (without Hboot) the night it came out and flashed the Virgin leak. Everything worked great.

Switched to CleanROM RC1 (for Wifi Tether) with no issues. Everything worked great. (Actually increased both 3G and 4G speeds)

Had a couple of SMS data errors when sending messages, but corrected itself and all messages sent except one.

Changed realm to "sprintpcs.com" instead of Virgin settings

Finally YESTERDAY all things went weird. Data Roaming started coming on all the time. Voice was roaming and horrible reception (even when bars appeared full). Call quality was gone. Had to start using VOIP for calls.

Then 3G disappeared that same day. 4G continued to work, but at slower speeds.

Tried a couple of settings in EPST ##DATA# (changed profiles from 0 to 1 and made sure EVDO was auto). No help.

Flashed the Roaming setting and 3D fix and changed roaming to sprint only. Helped for a little bit, but when I woke up this morning it was no 3G again.

Used chads PRI fix to get to _145. Updated PRL and Updated Profile and everything works great again. Still showing VM banners obviously. But chad's PRI fix certainly solved the data/voice/roaming issues and I have nice solid connection and high speeds on 3g and 4G.


Don't know if this helps anyone, but just thought I would share. I guess the important thing here is: Even if you think you are fine after flashing the VM firmware (like I was) you are probably facing disaster at some point. I would keep chad's PRI fix handy on your SD if I were you.

NOTES: HW0002, HBoot 1.4 S-off, CWM
16th May 2012, 03:21 PM |#497  
Unknownforce's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 4,309
 
Donate to Me
More
You guys are lucky, haha... I was about to give up hope on this and have to go back to the drawing boards, because a 50/50 chance of either fixing or completely breaking, is just unacceptable...

But, jcfunk got his working again, it's going to add a few steps I think... But I'm going to look into this more in depth. Hopefully to keep it simple and keep it in the "all-in-one" tool that it is right now.
The Following 20 Users Say Thank You to Unknownforce For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Unknownforce Ad-Free
16th May 2012, 05:18 PM |#498  
Senior Member
Flag Austin, TX
Thanks Meter: 27
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ministersin

My experience:

Flashed VM Firmware (without Hboot) the night it came out and flashed the Virgin leak. Everything worked great.

Switched to CleanROM RC1 (for Wifi Tether) with no issues. Everything worked great. (Actually increased both 3G and 4G speeds)

Had a couple of SMS data errors when sending messages, but corrected itself and all messages sent except one.

Changed realm to "sprintpcs.com" instead of Virgin settings

Finally YESTERDAY all things went weird. Data Roaming started coming on all the time. Voice was roaming and horrible reception (even when bars appeared full). Call quality was gone. Had to start using VOIP for calls.

Then 3G disappeared that same day. 4G continued to work, but at slower speeds.

Tried a couple of settings in EPST ##DATA# (changed profiles from 0 to 1 and made sure EVDO was auto). No help.

Flashed the Roaming setting and 3D fix and changed roaming to sprint only. Helped for a little bit, but when I woke up this morning it was no 3G again.

Used chads PRI fix to get to _145. Updated PRL and Updated Profile and everything works great again. Still showing VM banners obviously. But chad's PRI fix certainly solved the data/voice/roaming issues and I have nice solid connection and high speeds on 3g and 4G.


Don't know if this helps anyone, but just thought I would share. I guess the important thing here is: Even if you think you are fine after flashing the VM firmware (like I was) you are probably facing disaster at some point. I would keep chad's PRI fix handy on your SD if I were you.

NOTES: HW0002, HBoot 1.4 S-off, CWM

Austin had a really bad Sprint day yesterday (5/15). All phones had bad coverage not just yours.

You can see this on the Sprint Community forums that they had (or may still have) outages for any Sprint phone at ~170 towers in the Austin/San Marcos market.
16th May 2012, 06:47 PM |#499  
oblivion2k's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unknownforce

You guys are lucky, haha... I was about to give up hope on this and have to go back to the drawing boards, because a 50/50 chance of either fixing or completely breaking, is just unacceptable...

But, jcfunk got his working again, it's going to add a few steps I think... But I'm going to look into this more in depth. Hopefully to keep it simple and keep it in the "all-in-one" tool that it is right now.

I'm really excited for this tool, I tried fixing it manually but I'm getting a weird error when I try to flash the 2.17 PG86IMG.zip, here's hoping your tool will work where I could not. Will you make a new thread once the tool is ready to be published?
16th May 2012, 06:54 PM |#500  
Member
Flag Quakertown, PA
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
I tried over the past couple of days. Copied the partition before applying firmware. Stupidly applied firmware and made partition, then "downgraded". Fun fun. Everything is STILL not wonderful but I had fun
16th May 2012, 07:23 PM |#501  
Unknownforce's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 4,309
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by oblivion2k

I'm really excited for this tool, I tried fixing it manually but I'm getting a weird error when I try to flash the 2.17 PG86IMG.zip, here's hoping your tool will work where I could not. Will you make a new thread once the tool is ready to be published?

Yes, I have created a thread already, which is locked currently, but I will at that point request the downgrade thread to be removed from sticky and put up the new thread as the sticky. I will update when I have more.

At this time, I will ask for some more brave testers for tonight. We have figured out the radio parts, and from what I've gathered thus far, with a "proper" backup, we can fully restore the device now.

So the risk SEEMS minimal at this point, I of course cannot completely 100% guarantee this to work, as we've already seen after the last test that it was a 50/50 shot... But we have more insight now and hopefully will have better results in Alpha phase 2.

I'm currently asking closeone to make a cd for use here... I will ask testers to use the cd only at this point, as I'm also testing another theory of Ubuntu causing issues at the same time.

If you're willing to risk and test for us, please PM me!

Also, do not expect a response for a couple hours while I sort out some things, write up the instructions and get done with work and get the link from closeone for the bootable image.
The Following 11 Users Say Thank You to Unknownforce For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Unknownforce Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes