FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA
Post Reply Email Thread
This is an app that changes what carrier name is diplayed in for example the lock screen and the status bar. It requires root because it modifies system files, and because it uses root it's potentially dangerous. Use it at your own risk, I'm not responsible if your device explodes in your face!

I had much trouble figuring out how to do this so I wanted to spare others the trouble by making this app. Please send me bug reports so I can fix any bugs you find.

Update1: Don't use any special characters because it will be used in an xml file so for example a double quote sign will break the file.

Update2: This will probably not work on the evo with stock rom and will not work with any rom that only shows what network you're connected to. This app only changes the carrier name wich is taken from your sim card. There are some roms that allows you to change this for example Cyanogenmod 6 where you can change so that it shows your spn.

Update3: I'm currently working on making this app work on all android devices by patching framework-res.apk

This app is also availble on the android market for $0.99, please consider buying the app it would make my face go

Carrier Name in the Android app market

mirror

ChangeLog:
[1.0]
- Initial release
[1.1]
- Big bug fix, should be working now
[1.2]
- Should be supported on more devices now
- Backup function now works as initially intended
Attached Files
File Type: apk Carrier Name.apk - [Click for QR Code] (27.4 KB, 14073 views)
File Type: apk Carrier Name 1.1.apk - [Click for QR Code] (27.5 KB, 4709 views)
File Type: apk Carrier Name 1.2.apk - [Click for QR Code] (27.9 KB, 70881 views)
The Following 69 Users Say Thank You to Holabalola For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Holabalola Ad-Free
6th January 2011, 02:08 AM |#2  
Twolazyg's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Twin Cities
Thanks Meter: 122
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Holabalola

This is an app that changes what carrier name is diplayed in for example the lock screen and the status bar. It requires root because it modifies system files, and because it uses root it's potentially dangerous. Use it at your own risk, I'm not responsible if your device explodes in your face!

I had much trouble figuring out how to do this so I wanted to spare others the trouble by making this app. Please send me bug reports so I can fix any bugs you find.

This app is also availble on the android market for $0.99, please consider buying the app it would make my face go

Carrier Name on the Android app market

ChangeLog:
[1.0] Initial release

Thanks for this, I'll check it out next time I flash GB. and let you know if I find anything, should be less than a day or two.
The Following User Says Thank You to Twolazyg For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Twolazyg Ad-Free
6th January 2011, 02:21 AM |#3  
Senior Member
Flag Manhattan
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
Doesn't seem to work on g2 running cm6:1.1

Sent from my HTC Vision using XDA App
6th January 2011, 03:15 AM |#4  
BryanChung's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 69
 
More
So I can put my own name instead =P
1st October 2011, 08:57 PM |#5  
Junior Member
Bandung
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanChung

So I can put my own name instead =P

agree...
8th October 2011, 11:52 PM |#6  
0kti's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 248
 
More
Smile
Works great in ZTE Blade
12th October 2011, 10:41 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Let's debug this issue...
Got CyanogenMod 7.1.0-1 stable on LG G2x (P999) device. Just flashed it and I need to fix the operator written (the current charset provided by ISP is wrong).

Using your app modifyied:
/system/etc/spn-conf.xml
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<spnOverrides>
<spnOverride numeric="302500" spn="Videotron"/>
</spnOverrides>

still shows Vid[]otron (bad charset) on the lockscreen (and notification panel).

I've looked at modifying:
apns-conf.xml
spn-conf.xml
telephony.db (/data/data/com.android.providers.telephony/databases)

And I created (as other post instructed) to create/modify the operator table of:
optable.db


All those configuration files got an ascii version of "Videotron" and still I'm getting "Vid[]eotron" on the phone. And no, this is not a CDMA device, it does work with a sim card.

# adb logcat
I/TelephonyRegistry( 1072): notifyServiceState: 0 home Vidotron Vidotro 302500 HSPA+ CSS not supported -1 -1RoamInd: -1DefRoamInd: -1EmergOnly: false

The operator name is received this. This *is* what I'm trying to override by changing the operator name.

Any idea?

---------- Post added at 05:41 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:20 PM ----------

I also tried using eri.xml:
<EriFile VersionNumber="1357" NumberOfEriEntries="1" EriFileType="1">
<CallPromptId Id="0" CallPromptText="CallPromptId0"/>
<CallPromptId Id="1" CallPromptText="CallPromptId1"/>
<CallPromptId Id="2" CallPromptText="CallPromptId2"/>
<EriInfo RoamingIndicator="128" IconIndex="1" IconMode="0" EriText="Videotron" CallPromptId="0" AlertId="0"/>
</EriFile>

Still showing "Vid[]otron"
15th October 2011, 02:27 PM |#8  
skiddingus's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Canton Ohio
Thanks Meter: 44
 
More
Didn't work on a Verizon Fascinate with PWGB b3 and TKSGB kernel.
15th October 2011, 02:58 PM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Droid Bionic, not working for me. Still says Verizon Wireless.
System: 5.5.886.XT875
Ver: 2.3.4
Kernel: 2.6.35.7
Build: 5.5.1_84_DBN-55

~Mike
15th October 2011, 04:31 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Flag chennai
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Hello....

It is working on my Samsung Galaxy 3 i5800.
But it also shows my original carrier.
It is like
Original Carrier + The new name.

This is my file...

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<spnOverrides>
<spnOverride numeric="40504" spn="Lol"/>
</spnOverrides>


This is the screenshot.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SC20111015-205136.jpg
Views:	626
Size:	13.3 KB
ID:	750667  
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
app, carrier, holabalola, root

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes