[GUIDE] HOW TO Enable Wi-Fi Tether on stock Kit Kat 4.4.2

Search This thread

TheFuzz

Feb 28, 2006
Google Pixel 7 Pro
I took the update because I boot looped my phone trying to upgrade to a rooted stock version of Kit Kat.

After going to stock I lost root and of course custom recovery. As many have noticed, there is no viable tether app that works with Kit Kat on this device. In doing a search it appears that this is the case with many devices that have gotten Kit Kat.

So I did a search and through several different threads I believe I have found the workaround.

I am new to doing "How-To's" so please forgive me if this is not as professional as others. I am not a developer but have some knowledge of working with various facets of Android. So, here goes:

1. Go to settings--> Tethering and networks ---> Mobile networks --> Access point names
2. Under Access point names, you should have T-Mobile LTE
3. Click menu ---> New APN
4. Name --> Whatever you want
5. APN ---> should say "Not Set" change to "Fast.T-Mobile.com"
6. APN Type--> type "default,supl,mms,dun"
7. APN Protocol --> Be sure it says "IPv4"
8. Menu--> Click save
9. Change APN to the newly created Access Point
10. Download : https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.foxfi
11. Download the PC app (if needed)
12. (Optional) Download: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.foxfi.key

Follow instructions on setting up FoxFi which I will not cover here.

I am using this now to type this thread. It is a little buggy but I think that is FoxFi not necessarily this method of tether. I have to at times disable/re-enable the PC app if I lose connection.

I hope this helps folks out there.

Ivanprskalo

Aug 27, 2011
Ljubuški
Wait, is it not easier way to do this:
(if you have root)
1. download SQlite editor app from G.Play (pay for it few bucks)

2. search for com.android.providers.settings and open it

3. open "settings.db" then "global" and under "tether_dun_required" change 1 to 0,