FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Unable to Haz Root (log attached)

1,903 posts
Thanks Meter: 469
 
Post Reply Email Thread
3rd May 2011, 02:59 AM |#21  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 242
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by agentJBM

Hate to say it, but it sounds like a isolated issue. Thousands of people used the flash tool and superoneclick successfully. Are you sure you selected the next tab, "root permissions" after root? You need to do that to install SuperUser and Busybox.

Yeah it has to be either his computer or something he's doing wrong... works for literally everyone else who has tried
3rd May 2011, 03:15 AM |#22  
chrisrotolo's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Corona, CA
Thanks Meter: 469
 
Donate to Me
More
somethings totally borked.. im guessing adb/ driver issues, ive tried 2 different drivers, made sure adb is set up in env var. and included 64 bit java path, restarted phone and pc many times,

now all i get is adb cannot connect to daemon and protocol status errors.

i have SEUS and PC Companion 2.0 installed.

even when i had adb working, didnt seem to connect well in the root programs, but that doesnt explain why .apks like x10root dont work it says exploid launched and toggles wi fi off and on, but still nothing after reboot.

can anyone walk me back to 1.6, and maybe start from the beginning, I dont thin we can enable non-market apps on 1.6, but im hoping some root method would work and maybe i could keep root and update to 2.1??

i'll be searching around in the meantime.

thanks guys.


edit: why do i feel that Sony has some security in the drivers preventing connection?
3rd May 2011, 03:19 AM |#23  
chrisrotolo's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Corona, CA
Thanks Meter: 469
 
Donate to Me
More
yes also tried ask root permission after rooting with flash tool, and says waiting for device, it should pop up and ask me to allow but never does.
3rd May 2011, 03:26 AM |#24  
agentJBM's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Orlando
Thanks Meter: 243
 
More
XP, maybe... Win7, should have no problems with usb drivers.

If it says root successful, what makes you think it wasn't? Does superuser appear in app tray?

Also, unknown sources needs to be ON, as well as usb debugging in settings / applications.
The Following User Says Thank You to agentJBM For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift agentJBM Ad-Free
3rd May 2011, 03:29 AM |#25  
chrisrotolo's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Corona, CA
Thanks Meter: 469
 
Donate to Me
More
ive tried win 7 and xp, even running flashtool in compatibility mode, after root finishes wit flash tool I do not see superuser app, i can install it with astro, but more is needed than just the app.

i see the script to install superuser in flashtool, but i dont see the .apk in there anywhere, im using 0.2.8, yes ive tried 0.2.9.1 beta

yes usb debug and unknown sources are checked.

my SDK is on C:\

and i put any flash/root programs on root of pc in c:\ and run them as admin

ive also tried running them from desktop.

and as of now, still no adb? just cant connect and protocol status error.

just to make sure, let me check my wifes cappy in adb.

update: wifes rooted cappy works a charm, adb devices, show up right away, adb shell and su work instantly and ls shows file system, so Im 99% sure its not adb set up on my comp., aren't there adb files on the phone?, maybe these are corrupt?? somehow? idk?, or my drivers are not configured properly..

in device manager, it says sony ericsson sa101> under that it says..> sony ericsson sa101 ADB inerface driver, ive tried the lastest ones , from march and april 2011
3rd May 2011, 03:34 AM |#26  
agentJBM's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Orlando
Thanks Meter: 243
 
More
If says root successful try installing superuser yourself.

Also, I would use flash tool 0.2.9.1 beta. Completely uninstall flash tool, SEUS, and PC Companion. Reinstall SEUS, run repair software. That will reinstall usb drivers. Then install flash tool 0.2.9.1 and root.

ADB is not required for flash tool. I would not have them in the same path.
3rd May 2011, 04:07 AM |#27  
chrisrotolo's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Corona, CA
Thanks Meter: 469
 
Donate to Me
More
tried running in safe mode with networking, nothing.

trying uninstalling everything and rebooting and using 0.2.9.1 beta flashtool right now, thanks!

update:

uninstalled evevrything, SE USB drivers, SEUS, PC Companion, and flash tool.

restarted pc and phone installed SEUS, repaired/re-installed software, fresh 2.1, ran falsh tool 0.2.9.1. , same old error: unable to identify device??????????, selected x10, ran ROOT, and finishes saying root should be available after reboot. after reboot, i have no superuser.apk or busybox.apk on app drawer, try running ask root perms from flashtool and says click allow, but of course i dont ge any allow message, because Im not rooted..

good night.

have to try again later, thanks everyone.
3rd May 2011, 12:53 PM |#28  
chrisrotolo's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Corona, CA
Thanks Meter: 469
 
Donate to Me
More
widh me luck, i think I may have a solution, I need the latest SDK, in the process its downloading every platform and API version ever, I think this may actually be the answer. Will post back soon.

all the lastest sdk doesnt work either, yes I updated my adb path, too.

oh well will try on my xp computer at work.

peace guys!
3rd May 2011, 08:37 PM |#29  
chrisrotolo's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Corona, CA
Thanks Meter: 469
 
Donate to Me
More
latest sdk r10 with platform-tools r3, x10 drivers from SE support site, still getting adb cant connect to daemon errors.

That aside, x10root.apk doesnt work, and neither does SOC or Flashtool.

Someone please tell me should I flashtool generic 1.6, and hope to root on 1.6?

3rd May 2011, 09:12 PM |#30  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 39
 
More
My gosh. Bro when u root you have to reboot the phone then install busy box. If you don't have superuser after you root then install it from the market. But you have to reboot

Sent from my X10i using XDA Premium App
3rd May 2011, 09:23 PM |#31  
chrisrotolo's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Corona, CA
Thanks Meter: 469
 
Donate to Me
More
yeah , thanks buddy Im well aware of that as I said previously superuser doesnt seem to get installed during root, and I have rebooted, many times. I am still trying, I cant even find 1.6 .ftf, to revert back. If i try to download flashtool from phone, it says this type of file is not supported( maybe certificate issues ).

OK, how about some one with a rooted 2.1 pull system.img, boot.img, and anything else I might need and bundle a rooted 2.1 *.ftf fo me, can this be done??

about the only thing I have done successfully is go to generic 2.1

@Lion3494, I have rooted many devices, I'm not a beginner, just new to X10. I have tried installing Busybox after reboot and guess what it tells me? not rooted.

Im not mad, a little upset, but mostly confused... and determined!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes