[GUIDE]How to add/remove 3-dot menu

Search This thread

Spex

Senior Member
Oct 8, 2011
2,235
2,403
Zagreb
This is simple guide to add 3-dot menu.
It works on any stock ics or custom rom based on it.

To add 3-dot menu:
  1. Decompile your framework-res.apk
  2. Go to values folder
  3. Open bools.xml
  4. Search for
    <bool name="config_showNavigationBar">false</bool>​
    and change it to
    <bool name="config_showNavigationBar">true</bool>​
  5. Save it
  6. Now open dimens.xml
  7. Search for
    navigation_bar_height and navigation_bar_width
    Change dip of both to 0.0
  8. Save it
  9. Recompile your framework-res.apk

To remove 3-dot menu:
  1. Decompile your framework-res.apk
  2. Go to values folder
  3. Open bools.xml
  4. Search for
    <bool name="config_showNavigationBar">true</bool>​
    and change it to
    <bool name="config_showNavigationBar">false</bool>​
  5. Recompile your framework-res.apk
 

Diaz1999

Senior Member
Oct 13, 2012
696
584
HEX 5375726162617961
Google Pixel 2
In CM10 is more simple :p

9y2agy3y.jpg

Auto Signature™ by Tapatalk 2.6 Beta said:
Sent from my WT19i using Tapatalk
 
Y

yamin8000

Guest
stuck at bootanimation and reboot after changing framework with new framework
 

whalesplaho

Senior Member
Feb 1, 2012
10,694
2,670
Treasure Island
If i edit my framework-res, it wont recompile... Dnt know why!

If i decompile & recompile, it will work but if i should decompile, edit, it wony recompile. Will pop lots of error

Am using a CM9 rom.

Sent from Nypon using XDA app
 

Diaz1999

Senior Member
Oct 13, 2012
696
584
HEX 5375726162617961
Google Pixel 2
If i edit my framework-res, it wont recompile... Dnt know why!

If i decompile & recompile, it will work but if i should decompile, edit, it wony recompile. Will pop lots of error

Am using a CM9 rom.

Sent from Nypon using XDA app
CM9? :p
Open Settings > System > Hardware keys and...

9y2agy3y.jpg


See? E-A-S-Y aka EASY!!!
Auto Signature™ by Tapatalk 2.6 Beta said:
Sent from my WT19i using Tapatalk
 

Spex

Senior Member
Oct 8, 2011
2,235
2,403
Zagreb
For people having bootloop it isnt problem in framework. It just happens sometimes when you change framework.
So try making flashable zip with your framework
 

bejunk

Senior Member
May 9, 2013
1,991
2,304
Berlin
need some help...

To add 3-dot menu:

Decompile your framework-res.apk
Go to values folder
Open bools.xml
Search for

hello comunity and spex,

everytime i've want to decompile some apk, like settings, framework-res etc..

apk-tool gives me errors while decompiling (see log at bottom) ... i dont know why this happens;

while java is updated and all other necessary stuff; i decompile if with apktool from this thread http://xdaforums.com/showthread.php?t=2011254, but have also tried other apktools.....

every file is from xNXT ROM so i asked pranav if i need some custom files for recopiling, he says no, only resign apk with copy and paste..:rolleyes:

it will be great if anybody can give me a solution b'cuz its annoying to beeing not able to de-/recompiling apk :silly:

thanks!

apk-tool-log:

[*] "C:\ANDROID DEV\AutoAPKTool2.0.4\_INPUT_APK\framework-res.apk"
decompiling "C:\ANDROID DEV\AutoAPKTool2.0.4\_INPUT_APK\framework-res.apk"...
I: Loading resource table...
I: Loaded.
I: Decoding file-resources...
W: Cant find 9patch chunk in file: "drawable-hdpi/tab_selected_holo.9.png". Renaming it to *.png.
W: Cant find 9patch chunk in file: "drawable-hdpi/tab_unselected_holo.9.png". Renaming it to *.png.
W: Cant find 9patch chunk in file: "drawable-hdpi/tab_selected_focused_holo.9.png". Renaming it to *.png.
W: Cant find 9patch chunk in file: "drawable-hdpi/tab_selected_pressed_holo.9.png". Renaming it to *.png.
W: Cant find 9patch chunk in file: "drawable-hdpi/tab_unselected_pressed_holo.9.png". Renaming it to *.png.
I: Decoding values*/* XMLs...
I: Done.
I: Copying assets and libs...

i've also edited and recomilng the apk but i think not sucessfull b'cuz every time i push it back to system i get bootloop.....

peace, bejunk
 
Last edited:

cuvix

Senior Member
Feb 15, 2012
68
23
Selong
hello comunity and spex,

everytime i've want to decompile some apk, like settings, framework-res etc..

apk-tool gives me errors while decompiling (see log at bottom) ... i dont know why this happens;

while java is updated and all other necessary stuff; i decompile if with apktool from this thread http://xdaforums.com/showthread.php?t=2011254, but have also tried other apktools.....

every file is from xNXT ROM so i asked pranav if i need some custom files for recopiling, he says no, only resign apk with copy and paste..:rolleyes:

it will be great if anybody can give me a solution b'cuz its annoying to beeing not able to de-/recompiling apk :silly:

thanks!

apk-tool-log:
[*] "C:\ANDROID DEV\AutoAPKTool2.0.4\_INPUT_APK\framework-res.apk"
decompiling "C:\ANDROID DEV\AutoAPKTool2.0.4\_INPUT_APK\framework-res.apk"...
I: Loading resource table...
I: Loaded.
I: Decoding file-resources...
W: Cant find 9patch chunk in file: "drawable-hdpi/tab_selected_holo.9.png". Renaming it to *.png.
W: Cant find 9patch chunk in file: "drawable-hdpi/tab_unselected_holo.9.png". Renaming it to *.png.
W: Cant find 9patch chunk in file: "drawable-hdpi/tab_selected_focused_holo.9.png". Renaming it to *.png.
W: Cant find 9patch chunk in file: "drawable-hdpi/tab_selected_pressed_holo.9.png". Renaming it to *.png.
W: Cant find 9patch chunk in file: "drawable-hdpi/tab_unselected_pressed_holo.9.png". Renaming it to *.png.
I: Decoding values*/* XMLs...
I: Done.
I: Copying assets and libs...

i've also edited and recomilng the apk but i think not sucessfull b'cuz every time i push it back to system i get bootloop.....

peace, bejunk

You got it right, no error. That was normal when you have the pngs that have .9 in its name where it has the wrong chunk. Could be because the pngs not compiled as it should before.
You can ignore the message and try to replace that pngs from another framework-res or leave it as is now (withot .9 in its name). :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: bejunk

GabrielSousa

Senior Member
Feb 15, 2011
4,443
2,074
Leiria
OnePlus 9 Pro
To remove 3-dot menu:
  1. Decompile your framework-res.apk
  2. Go to values folder
  3. Open bools.xml
  4. Search for
    <bool name="config_showNavigationBar">true</bool>​
    and change it to
    <bool name="config_showNavigationBar">false</bool>​
  5. Recompile your framework-res.apk
[/FONT]

i want to remove the 3-dot on PA rom, but has the <bool name="config_showNavigationBar">false</bool>

is there other place where i can remove the 3-dot ?
 

Top Liked Posts

  • There are no posts matching your filters.
  • 9
    This is simple guide to add 3-dot menu.
    It works on any stock ics or custom rom based on it.

    To add 3-dot menu:
    1. Decompile your framework-res.apk
    2. Go to values folder
    3. Open bools.xml
    4. Search for
      <bool name="config_showNavigationBar">false</bool>​
      and change it to
      <bool name="config_showNavigationBar">true</bool>​
    5. Save it
    6. Now open dimens.xml
    7. Search for
      navigation_bar_height and navigation_bar_width
      Change dip of both to 0.0
    8. Save it
    9. Recompile your framework-res.apk

    To remove 3-dot menu:
    1. Decompile your framework-res.apk
    2. Go to values folder
    3. Open bools.xml
    4. Search for
      <bool name="config_showNavigationBar">true</bool>​
      and change it to
      <bool name="config_showNavigationBar">false</bool>​
    5. Recompile your framework-res.apk
    5
    In CM10 is more simple :p

    9y2agy3y.jpg

    Auto Signature™ by Tapatalk 2.6 Beta said:
    Sent from my WT19i using Tapatalk
    1
    I think the option is available only for CM10 and above no CM9:confused:
    1
    I think the option is available only for CM10 and above no CM9:confused:

    You think Right!!
    I moved from cm9 to cm10 for this feature it is very nice!!

    Sent from my LT26w using Tapatalk 2
    1
    hello comunity and spex,

    everytime i've want to decompile some apk, like settings, framework-res etc..

    apk-tool gives me errors while decompiling (see log at bottom) ... i dont know why this happens;

    while java is updated and all other necessary stuff; i decompile if with apktool from this thread http://xdaforums.com/showthread.php?t=2011254, but have also tried other apktools.....

    every file is from xNXT ROM so i asked pranav if i need some custom files for recopiling, he says no, only resign apk with copy and paste..:rolleyes:

    it will be great if anybody can give me a solution b'cuz its annoying to beeing not able to de-/recompiling apk :silly:

    thanks!

    apk-tool-log:
    [*] "C:\ANDROID DEV\AutoAPKTool2.0.4\_INPUT_APK\framework-res.apk"
    decompiling "C:\ANDROID DEV\AutoAPKTool2.0.4\_INPUT_APK\framework-res.apk"...
    I: Loading resource table...
    I: Loaded.
    I: Decoding file-resources...
    W: Cant find 9patch chunk in file: "drawable-hdpi/tab_selected_holo.9.png". Renaming it to *.png.
    W: Cant find 9patch chunk in file: "drawable-hdpi/tab_unselected_holo.9.png". Renaming it to *.png.
    W: Cant find 9patch chunk in file: "drawable-hdpi/tab_selected_focused_holo.9.png". Renaming it to *.png.
    W: Cant find 9patch chunk in file: "drawable-hdpi/tab_selected_pressed_holo.9.png". Renaming it to *.png.
    W: Cant find 9patch chunk in file: "drawable-hdpi/tab_unselected_pressed_holo.9.png". Renaming it to *.png.
    I: Decoding values*/* XMLs...
    I: Done.
    I: Copying assets and libs...

    i've also edited and recomilng the apk but i think not sucessfull b'cuz every time i push it back to system i get bootloop.....

    peace, bejunk

    You got it right, no error. That was normal when you have the pngs that have .9 in its name where it has the wrong chunk. Could be because the pngs not compiled as it should before.
    You can ignore the message and try to replace that pngs from another framework-res or leave it as is now (withot .9 in its name). :)