FORUMS

[TUTORIAL] Flash .kdz Files

530 posts
Thanks Meter: 56
 
By felipemadox, Senior Member on 16th September 2011, 07:30 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
This tutorial is destined to make your o2x with factory settings

+ You can brick your device if you make some step wrong

Before start be sure that LG Mobile Updater/LG Sync was closed (look in traybar)

| 1 |
Download these 3 apps: http://www.4shared.com/folder/YmFqLG2h/KDZ.html

| 2 |
- Install B2CTools LG
- Extract the KDZ_FW_UPD_EN.zip (ex.: C:\KDZ\)
- Install msxml.msi (located \KDZ)
- Extract WindowsEnabler.zip to the same folder as KDZ (ex.: KDZ\WindowsEnabler)

| 3 |
Run LGMobile update (must be on your desktop) and install the usb drivers

| 4 |
Reebot your O2x in SW Upgrade mode (remove the battery, turn on the device and hold the vol - key)

| 5 |
Open the Windows "Device Manager" > Modems > disable the LGE Mobile USB Modem

| 6 |
Run as administrator KDZ_FW_UPD.exe

| 7 |
- Run as administrator Windows Enabler.exe
- After run the app, an icon will appear on your tray, single-click on the icon util the "ON" text appears over the icon


| 8 |
- Go back to KDZ, locate press on the yellow folder and locate the .kdz file that you want to flash

- In my case, Optimus 2x P990h, the o type must be "3GQCT" and phonemode "DIAG"



| 9 |
- Click on "Launch Software Update" and don't click on anything else
- WAIT util your phone reboots automatically (5-7 min) and unplug the
cable

- Dont care about the errorlog, it's normal

If you got only bootloop after flash .kdz, just do a hard reset:
- press and hold [vol -] and [power] until you got the "android recovery figure" and wait until they reboot again.
The Following 28 Users Say Thank You to felipemadox For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift felipemadox Ad-Free
28th September 2011, 12:14 PM |#2  
Soulj4h's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Gurgaon
Thanks Meter: 24
 
More
I'm trying to do this on win7 and the program crashes everytime it tries to unpack the kdz file.
28th September 2011, 12:36 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 813
 
More
Same here.

XP and 7 32 bit works, but Win7 64 bit doesn't work.
28th September 2011, 01:44 PM |#4  
Soulj4h's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Gurgaon
Thanks Meter: 24
 
More
You flashed on win7 32 bit? On mine it was crashing. I guess it's because there wasn't actually a rom that was showing. With a .kdz file, is it necessary to flash baseband too?
28th September 2011, 01:52 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 813
 
More
The baseband is included in the kdz. If you flash it, it will flash the baseband, too.
The Following User Says Thank You to Flix123 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Flix123 Ad-Free
28th September 2011, 01:57 PM |#6  
felipemadox's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 56
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soulj4h

I'm trying to do this on win7 and the program crashes everytime it tries to unpack the kdz file.

- Click on "Launch Software Update" and don't click on anything else

Ignore the frozen windows of the app and WAIT until finish.
28th September 2011, 02:03 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 813
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by felipemadox

- Click on "Launch Software Update" and don't click on anything else

Ignore the frozen windows of the app and WAIT until finish.

It doesn't work on my PC with Win7 64 bit. There comes an error window "Error during extract kdz" or something like this.
28th September 2011, 02:59 PM |#8  
Mjuksel's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 249
 
More
Try running in compatibility mode XP/2000 ?
28th September 2011, 06:05 PM |#9  
Soulj4h's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Gurgaon
Thanks Meter: 24
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by felipemadox

- Click on "Launch Software Update" and don't click on anything else

Ignore the frozen windows of the app and WAIT until finish.

All right, but can this run from a bricked phone? I.E. if the screen is constantly on the s/w update screen or does it need a rom to be installed in the first place?
28th September 2011, 07:25 PM |#10  
felipemadox's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 56
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soulj4h

All right, but can this run from a bricked phone? I.E. if the screen is constantly on the s/w update screen or does it need a rom to be installed in the first place?

If your phone was recognized by pc i believe that's possible. Take a chance.
28th September 2011, 07:35 PM |#11  
Soulj4h's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Gurgaon
Thanks Meter: 24
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by felipemadox

If your phone was recognized by pc i believe that's possible. Take a chance.

Well, that's what I tried and it kept crashing. Lol. Any ideas? By the way, I'm now on v10e so I don't know if I have a purpose for this. Though I'd still like to give it a shot.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes