[MOD] Getting tablet UI on CM9

Search This thread

AndroidON

Senior Member
May 10, 2011
209
533
Cheongju-si
Since I saw some people wants tablet UI on mirroring or lapdock,

I made a file for Atrix's CM9 based on this thread.

http://xdaforums.com/showthread.php?t=1467051


I didn't post a screenshot cause you can see it at link.

Every UI will change to that of tablet, and every app will act as tablet.


So here's the steps you have to do.


http://api2.ge.tt/0/81rFJED/0/blob/download

1. Download services.jar and overwrite it to /system/framework.
(Of course, need 644 permission.
If you are not sure, see other file's permission in folder.)

(This file is based on alpha 7)

2. Open /system/build.prop

3. Find the line 'ro.build.characteristics=default'
and change the 'default' to 'tablet'

4. Set the screen density to 120 by changing
'ro.sf.lcd_density=240' to 'ro.sf.lcd_density=120'

5. Save and reboot.

6. You will get tablet UI;)


So, If you want to get back,

just change your density to 240 and it will revert to phone UI.

We need reboot between UI change now,

but maybe devs can do some mod after CM9 have all feature:D
 
Last edited:

nikidorian

Senior Member
Aug 27, 2011
89
30
Somewhere In Time
Awesome but, it doesn't look very good on the lap dock - there is something wrong with the resolution. Im sure it will be fixed.
Additionally if the phone could switch the UI from Phone to Tablet when HDMI is connected it would be an awesome way to ditch the awful Webtop.
 
Last edited:

leonardoaraujo

Senior Member
Feb 17, 2009
990
1,436
Belo Horizonte
+1 Thanks to you man!!
was trying to do this by editing the services.jar, this is WONDERFUL.

if possible can you tell me how to do a PM? (where changing the file classes), baksmali, simali need not only change which line ...
 

leonardoaraujo

Senior Member
Feb 17, 2009
990
1,436
Belo Horizonte
soluttion calls

folks, you should now be aware that the "app called" force close, I've tried the app (phone) several roms without success .. == force close when calling ==
ps: but the calls continue in the background!

some options:

1 - ShakeCall (has other apps)
2 - accessibility options = end call button poweer
 

^^rac

Senior Member
Dec 19, 2006
1,438
215
Cape Town
This is cool!

I tried it, its like having a small tablet....

Just a pitty about the phone UI, its not actually usuable like that!

Whatching for development :D
 

Notorious544d

Senior Member
Aug 18, 2011
2,104
2,370
London
I see great potential in this.

If we could autoscript something, where if the phone recognises that it's been connected via HDMI (for mirroring), then it automatically changes into tablet UI. That'll be so freakin awesome! And it'll be a good webtop replacement for CM9! :D
 

slojko

Senior Member
Oct 30, 2011
706
57
I see great potential in this.

If we could autoscript something, where if the phone recognises that it's been connected via HDMI (for mirroring), then it automatically changes into tablet UI. That'll be so freakin awesome! And it'll be a good webtop replacement for CM9! :D
+1
I thought somebody was already working on this.

Sent from my MB860 using xda premium
 

leonardoaraujo

Senior Member
Feb 17, 2009
990
1,436
Belo Horizonte
try

is usable but ...

set large fonts ...
do not set the lcd_density so small, it can be adjusted, try 140 .... (I think)

I find it very usable ... hopefully someone with enough knowledge to resolve calls ...


D/AudioMgrRIL( 1321): setting volume, volume = 6
I/AudioService( 1469): AudioFocus requestAudioFocus() from AudioFocus_For_Phone_Ring_And_Calls
D/lights ( 1469): RGB: "attention", color=0x00000000, flash=2, onMs/offMs=0/0 => blink=0, RGB=0 0 0
D/CallNotifier( 2693): showIncomingCall()... phone state = OFFHOOK
D/dalvikvm( 2693): GC_CONCURRENT freed 358K, 27% free 6530K/8839K, paused 2ms+2ms
D/lights ( 1469): LCD: SENSOR, 88 * 1.00 => 88
D/lights ( 1469): LCD: SENSOR, 82 * 1.00 => 82
D/lights ( 1469): LCD: SENSOR, 75 * 1.00 => 75
D/lights ( 1469): LCD: SENSOR, 69 * 1.00 => 69
D/dalvikvm( 2693): GC_CONCURRENT freed 422K, 27% free 6653K/9031K, paused 1ms+2ms
D/lights ( 1469): LCD: SENSOR, 63 * 1.00 => 63
D/lights ( 1469): LCD: SENSOR, 56 * 1.00 => 56
I/ ( 1400): odm_disp_esd_thread is running(200) state=1
D/lights ( 1469): RGB: "attention", color=0x00ffffff, flash=2, onMs/offMs=7/1000 => blink=1, RGB=255 255
255
D/lights ( 1469): LCD: SENSOR, 50 * 1.00 => 50
D/lights ( 1469): RGB: "attention", color=0x00000000, flash=2, onMs/offMs=0/0 => blink=0, RGB=0 0 0
D/lights ( 1469): LCD: SENSOR, 44 * 1.00 => 44
D/lights ( 1469): LCD: SENSOR, 37 * 1.00 => 37
D/lights ( 1469): RGB: "attention", color=0x00000000, flash=0, onMs/offMs=0/0 => blink=0, RGB=0 0 0
I/CustomSpnReader( 2693): operatorNumberic = 72402
I/CustomSpnReader( 2693): oriSpnName = TIM
I/CustomSpnReader( 2693): Current language is : pt
E/CustomSpnReader( 2693): Config File Path : /system/etc/spn-conf.xml
D/lights ( 1469): LCD: SENSOR, 31 * 1.00 => 31
D/lights ( 1469): LCD: SENSOR, 25 * 1.00 => 25
I/CustomSpnReader( 2693): expression : /spnOverrides/spnOverride[@numeric='72402']
W/ActivityThread( 2693): ClassLoader.getResources: The class loader returned by Thread.getContextClassLoa
der() may fail for processes that host multiple applications. You should explicitly specify a context cla
ss loader. For example: Thread.setContextClassLoader(getClass().getClassLoader());
D/lights ( 1469): LCD: SENSOR, 18 * 1.00 => 18
E/CustomSpnReader( 2693): Not Found : 72402 in spn-conf.xml
D/lights ( 1469): LCD: SENSOR, 12 * 1.00 => 12
D/ComprehensiveCountryDetector( 1469): onServiceStateChanged
D/lights ( 1469): LCD: SENSOR, 6 * 1.00 => 6
D/lights ( 1469): LCD: SENSOR, 0 * 1.00 => 0
I/power ( 1469): *** set_screen_state 0
D/lights ( 1469): buttons: USER, 0
D/SurfaceFlinger( 1318): About to give-up screen, flinger = 0xf918
D/ ( 1400): NVRM_DAEMON(1137): pm_notifier_thread: calling power_displays(false)
I/ ( 1400): DispMgr recv'd NvDispMgrDisplayAttr_Suspend
I/ ( 1400): called NvDispMgrAttrSetTranslate() from attr_common err=0
I/ ( 1400): DispMgr recv'd NvDispMgrDisplayAttr_Suspend
I/ ( 1400): called NvDispMgrAttrSetTranslate() from attr_common err=0
D/ ( 1400): NvDdkDispBacklightTimeout() thread running
I/ ( 1400): enter motDsiSetMode
I/ ( 1400): exit motDsiSetMode
I/ ( 1400):
I/ ( 1400): enter motDsiSetPowerLevel
I/ ( 1400): enter motDsiSuspend
I/nvrm_daemon( 1394): NVRM_DAEMON(1137): pm_notifier_thread: calling power_displays(false)
E/AudioHardwareMot( 1321): Error:Unsupported key = tty_mode=tty_off
D/dalvikvm( 2693): GC_CONCURRENT freed 425K, 27% free 6718K/9095K, paused 3ms+2ms
I/ ( 1400): exit motDsiSuspend
I/ ( 1400):
I/ ( 1400): exit motDsiSetPowerLevel
I/ ( 1400):
D/ ( 1400): NVRM_DAEMON(1140): pm_notifier_thread: returned from power_displays(false)
I/nvrm_daemon( 1394): NVRM_DAEMON(1140): pm_notifier_thread: returned from power_displays(false)
E/AudioHardwareMot( 1321): Error:Unsupported key = screen_state=off
E/DefaultVoicemailNotifier( 2419): No voicemails to notify about: clear the notification.
D/AccelerometerListener( 2693): orientation: horizontal
D/MccTable( 2693): updateMccMncConfiguration: mcc=724, mnc=2
D/MccTable( 2693): locale set to null_br
D/MccTable( 2693): WIFI_COUNTRY_CODE set to br
I/WifiService( 1469): WifiService trying to set country code to br with persist set to true
D/dalvikvm( 1469): GC_EXPLICIT freed 558K, 31% free 9601K/13767K, paused 4ms+5ms
D/dalvikvm( 2693): GC_CONCURRENT freed 421K, 26% free 6839K/9223K, paused 2ms+3ms
D/Tethering( 1469): MasterInitialState.processMessage what=3
D/PicasaSyncManager( 2253): active network: null
D/PicasaSyncManager( 2253): background data: true
I/MediaUploader( 2232): No need to wake up


seems an error of speakers, and also a file in system/etc/spn-conf.xml
 
Last edited:

meztizo_kid

Member
Mar 22, 2011
22
1
WOW

I would love to have this ability. I am not a huge fan of the webtop as is, and if there was a method to use this UI through the HDMI connection (especially through a lapdock) I could see some cool things happening. :)
 

meztizo_kid

Member
Mar 22, 2011
22
1
The phone capability would be awesome to have, and I wouldn't doubt that the extremely talented DEV people could find a way to make that work, but no phone isn't a deal breaker for me.

I tried to get awareness of this in the CM9 thread of jokersax, but there is more important talk going on over there at the moment. Hopefully someone will pick up this project further, and make it available to those who want it (and hopefully add in the missing functionalities).

The UI experience I think would clean up the overall install of things on the phone, get rid of the webtop and/or separate OS installation, and provide one OS that will be used for both the phone and a docking experience.

We'll see though :).
 

backspacepc

Senior Member
May 25, 2008
276
36
Denham Springs
I can start working on this, this weekend, I've been busy working on a small version of vector Linux that runs through vnc on the lap dock.

Sent from my MB860 using XDA App
 

Vazay

Senior Member
Sep 20, 2011
215
65
Use buildroot or OpenEmbedded to keep it light as possible, plus you can optimize the compiler flags for tegra

Sent from my MB860 using XDA App
 

backspacepc

Senior Member
May 25, 2008
276
36
Denham Springs
OK, hadn't thought of build root, the only thing I'm having a little trouble is getting it to mount the 32 gb SD card, even after partitioning it for vector. Sometimes it'll mount. Some times mope

Sent from my MB860 using XDA App
 

Vazay

Senior Member
Sep 20, 2011
215
65
Mount loop img, I preffer it over reformating the SD card

Also check out Linux for Tegra from nVidia

Sent from my MB860 using XDA App
 

Vazay

Senior Member
Sep 20, 2011
215
65
I don't sure if it's possible, but can we run vnc server on android and connect from Chroot/vnc environment. Sort of vnc in vnc. If it's possible we can use it instead aiw application.

Sent from my MB860 using XDA App
 

meztizo_kid

Member
Mar 22, 2011
22
1
Heck Yeah

I started up the talk again! haha

Thanks guys for talking/looking into getting this to work. Hopefully bumping this post will get people to check into this more, and be guinea pigs for the testing.

Unfortunately, my schedule and how I use my phone doesn't allow me the time to easily help out with testing things, and I apologize about that ahead of time.

Keep up the good work, and please keep us informed! :)

Also, I'm not sure if the thread creator would get upset with you working on his stuff (and publishing it for testing, or whatever) without proper consent. Just wanted to throw that out there, just in case. I don't want to see the progress on things to be thwarted due to something as trivial as getting a "verbal" OK to work on making something better. :)

Thanks for the time all!
 
Last edited:

Top Liked Posts

  • There are no posts matching your filters.
  • 16
    Since I saw some people wants tablet UI on mirroring or lapdock,

    I made a file for Atrix's CM9 based on this thread.

    http://xdaforums.com/showthread.php?t=1467051


    I didn't post a screenshot cause you can see it at link.

    Every UI will change to that of tablet, and every app will act as tablet.


    So here's the steps you have to do.


    http://api2.ge.tt/0/81rFJED/0/blob/download

    1. Download services.jar and overwrite it to /system/framework.
    (Of course, need 644 permission.
    If you are not sure, see other file's permission in folder.)

    (This file is based on alpha 7)

    2. Open /system/build.prop

    3. Find the line 'ro.build.characteristics=default'
    and change the 'default' to 'tablet'

    4. Set the screen density to 120 by changing
    'ro.sf.lcd_density=240' to 'ro.sf.lcd_density=120'

    5. Save and reboot.

    6. You will get tablet UI;)


    So, If you want to get back,

    just change your density to 240 and it will revert to phone UI.

    We need reboot between UI change now,

    but maybe devs can do some mod after CM9 have all feature:D
    4
    Here's Some Fixed file

    Since I saw some people wants tablet UI on mirroring or lapdock,

    I made a file for Atrix's CM9 based on this thread.

    http://xdaforums.com/showthread.php?t=1467051


    I didn't post a screenshot cause you can see it at link.

    Every UI will change to that of tablet, and every app will act as tablet.


    So here's the steps you have to do.


    http://api2.ge.tt/0/81rFJED/0/blob/download

    1. Download services.jar and overwrite it to /system/framework.
    (Of course, need 644 permission.
    If you are not sure, see other file's permission in folder.)

    (This file is based on alpha 7)

    2. Open /system/build.prop

    3. Find the line 'ro.build.characteristics=default'
    and change the 'default' to 'tablet'

    4. Set the screen density to 120 by changing
    'ro.sf.lcd_density=240' to 'ro.sf.lcd_density=120'

    5. Save and reboot.

    6. You will get tablet UI;)


    So, If you want to get back,

    just change your density to 240 and it will revert to phone UI.

    We need reboot between UI change now,

    but maybe devs can do some mod after CM9 have all feature:D


    I made update.zip.
    and fixed phone problem.

    http://www.mediafire.com/?gwcsfzk8ugzji18
    3
    its due to changes in the code. If the op doesn't mind sharing how he modded the services.jar I'll put it in source so every version can use the tablet mod.

    Sent from my MB855 using XDA

    Sorry. I never checked this thread for long.

    Sent PM with source ;)
    3
    This is what it looks like so far:

    Screenshot_2012-02-17-15-53-02.jpg
    2
    Can't wait to see your ROM and Im aware that if I touch the clock I can see the toggles but I'd like to be able to add and remove what toggles I want to show there like I want to be able to toggle data and sync also some food for thought I'd like to be able to add shortcuts to the bottom bar also maybe change its colour to something like blue or red and maybe even find a way to make it see through just some ideas can't wait to see what your next build is like

    In other part is their anyway to make this mod work at LCD density lower then 120 and higher than 144
    And in about system the build shows as a type of tablet and when I change the LCD back and put tablet back to default it still shows up as a tablet in the about system

    Hit thanks if this was helpful
    Sent from my ics(tablet UI)+darkside dualboot MB860 using xda premium
    The services is what gives it the ability to render the UI, which is why it shows as a tablet in the about section. I'm working on an auto change script that'll render the UI once HDMI is plugged. That way you'll have the normal UI when not plugged.


    Sent from my MB860 using XDA App