FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA
Honor 7x
Win an Honor 7X!

HTC Homeplug Weather fix - get your LOCAL weather! [New universal patch uploaded!]

524 posts
Thanks Meter: 6
 
Post Reply Email Thread
1st February 2008, 04:32 PM |#1011  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by N2A

Running Windows 98 perchance, or something similar? It's a .cmd file, which was designed to be used with the Win2K or above command interpreter. I have however renamed them to .bat in the new packages, which should work on any Windows operating system. Grab yourself a fresh download from the download page.

All fixed. Just have to edit my .xml file. Was grabbing the wrong .dll, and was doing it on the phone, LOL! I feel dumber than ever.
 
 
1st February 2008, 05:27 PM |#1012  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Works great, but still a problem.

I've edit the XML file with Crimson and sent it back to the Windows directory. Its showing my city (Columbia, TN) at 61 degrees. Its 30 something outside as I've checked. What have I done wrong?
1st February 2008, 06:01 PM |#1013  
N2A's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Colne, United Kingdom
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sullivan26

Works great, but still a problem.

I've edit the XML file with Crimson and sent it back to the Windows directory. Its showing my city (Columbia, TN) at 61 degrees. Its 30 something outside as I've checked. What have I done wrong?

You using your zip code, or the international format? Also, is celsius/fahrenheit set correctly? Last person who had bizarre errors like that actually had it pointing to the wrong city with the same name.
1st February 2008, 09:03 PM |#1014  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by N2A

You using your zip code, or the international format? Also, is celsius/fahrenheit set correctly? Last person who had bizarre errors like that actually had it pointing to the wrong city with the same name.

Using the zip code as the international way is different. Columbia, TN 38401 United States is how I have it in there. Set to farenheit.
2nd February 2008, 01:16 AM |#1015  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by N2A

The first message, the "The system cannot find the file specified." suggests it's not finding the htchome.dll file at all for the initial copy, which is weird - it should abort before going any further.

I've repackaged them, with a specific text file saying exactly where to put the DLL file - try the new package from the download page, and let me know if you still have the same issue.

New error with the packager. Here it is:
================================================== ==========
N2A's Automatic Weather Patched DLL Package Creator
Created by N2A @ XDA-Developers.com
For all questions, please see the thread at XDA-Developers
and the site at http://weather.not2advanced.com/files/
================================================== ==========

UPX compressed file detected. Decompressing...
Performing patch...
Reading from unpatched.dll...
================================================== =====================
Process failed! Unable to patch the HTCHome.dll file correctly.
Either this file has already been patched, or something has gone wrong.
If you are sure the file is not pre-patched, please report this error
on the XDA-Developers forums, using the link from
http://weather.not2advanced.com/files/
================================================== =====================

Press a key to exit.

Also, based on the last error, it says it can't find unpatched.dll from the tools folder. When I browse it, I don't see it either. I feel like such a numbskull, sorry for all this mess.
2nd February 2008, 03:28 AM |#1016  
godfa7h3r's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Wow, that was a pretty complicated process just to get local weather. I don't know why they don't just let you put a zip code in there and keep the data on their servers rather than in an xml on every phone.

Anyway, I got it working on my Kaiser! Thanks for all the hard work N2A!
2nd February 2008, 01:30 PM |#1017  
N2A's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Colne, United Kingdom
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tenizkid

New error with the packager. Here it is:
================================================== ==========
N2A's Automatic Weather Patched DLL Package Creator
Created by N2A @ XDA-Developers.com
For all questions, please see the thread at XDA-Developers
and the site at http://weather.not2advanced.com/files/
================================================== ==========

UPX compressed file detected. Decompressing...
Performing patch...
Reading from unpatched.dll...
================================================== =====================
Process failed! Unable to patch the HTCHome.dll file correctly.
Either this file has already been patched, or something has gone wrong.
If you are sure the file is not pre-patched, please report this error
on the XDA-Developers forums, using the link from
http://weather.not2advanced.com/files/
================================================== =====================

Press a key to exit.

Also, based on the last error, it says it can't find unpatched.dll from the tools folder. When I browse it, I don't see it either. I feel like such a numbskull, sorry for all this mess.

Can you zip up and attach the DLL file you're using? I'd like to see if I can diagnose this one myself.
2nd February 2008, 01:33 PM |#1018  
N2A's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Colne, United Kingdom
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sullivan26

Using the zip code as the international way is different. Columbia, TN 38401 United States is how I have it in there. Set to farenheit.

I'm confused by the above statement. Can you clarify?

Is your ZIP code in the XML file, or the international format?

Just trying to get this diagnosed.
2nd February 2008, 03:28 PM |#1019  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by N2A

I'm confused by the above statement. Can you clarify?

Is your ZIP code in the XML file, or the international format?

Just trying to get this diagnosed.

Using 38401 as my zip code. You said NOT to use the international one, as it differs from the American one. Plus I've never seen a zip code written like that over here. Am I doing it wrong?
2nd February 2008, 04:18 PM |#1020  
N2A's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Colne, United Kingdom
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sullivan26

Using 38401 as my zip code. You said NOT to use the international one, as it differs from the American one. Plus I've never seen a zip code written like that over here. Am I doing it wrong?

You're doing it correctly, just wanted to make sure - your initial wording wasn't clear. I'll investigate further shortly.
2nd February 2008, 04:48 PM |#1021  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by N2A

Can you zip up and attach the DLL file you're using? I'd like to see if I can diagnose this one myself.


Here it is, thanks for your help
Attached Files
File Type: zip N2A-Patcher.zip - [Click for QR Code] (1.28 MB, 57 views)
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes