[Recovery ROM] [15-August-2010] RA-hero-v1.7.0.1

Search This thread

Ciprilik

Senior Member
Aug 28, 2010
537
69
Piatra Neamt
On the OP u find the instructions if you allready have a custom recovery.
Install

via adb -> Requires a custom recovery (with test-keys) like Cyanogen's v1.4 or my previous recovery
Code:
Copy recovery-RA-hero-v1.7.0.1.img to the root of your sdcard
Boot into your current custom recovery (boot while holding HOME)
Connect your Hero via usb to your pc/mac/...
adb shell
$su (not required if you have root already)
#mount -a
#flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery-RA-hero-v1.7.0.1.img

After u did all those steps, turn off you phone and then boot into recovery and u will have Amon-Ra v1.7.0.1
 
Last edited:

Wampirate

Senior Member
May 3, 2010
263
15
Poznan
In cmd, when i type "adb devices" serial number of my phone appears. Does it mean that i can now try to flash recovery?

Where do i write this code? In cmd as well? And what is fastboot?
Sorry for my ignorance

via fastboot + adb -> In case you don't have a custom recovery, so when you get signature fail errors
Code:
adb shell reboot bootloader
fastboot boot recovery-RA-hero-v1.7.0.1.img
adb shell mount /sdcard
adb push recovery-RA-hero-v1.7.0.1.img /sdcard/recovery-RA-hero-v1.7.0.1.img
adb shell flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery-RA-hero-v1.7.0.1.img
adb shell reboot

One more question:
Cant i just flash it through Terminal writing :
su
flash_image recovery /sdcard/name-of-recovery.img
 
Last edited:

MentalDeath

Senior Member
Apr 6, 2010
382
39
Ontario
via fastboot + adb -> In case you don't have a custom recovery, so when you get signature fail errors
Code:
adb shell reboot bootloader
fastboot boot recovery-RA-hero-v1.7.0.1.img
adb shell mount /sdcard
adb push recovery-RA-hero-v1.7.0.1.img /sdcard/recovery-RA-hero-v1.7.0.1.img
adb shell flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery-RA-hero-v1.7.0.1.img
adb shell reboot
Okay navigate in command to where you AndroidSDK is (every new line is a new command so press enter, do not enter anything in brackets into command prompt):
Code:
cd\
cd C:\AndroidSDK\tools\ (this is where mine is yours may differ)
adb shell reboot bootloader (your phone has to be on and connected via usb with usb debugging for this to work)
(now make sure the recovery img in the tools directory of your AndroidSDK and continue with the rest of the commands)
This cannot be done on your phone with terminal since you won't have access to it while in fastboot. If you want download ROM Manager from the market, flash ClockworkMod and then just flash the zip posted above. Or if you already have a custom recovery just download the same zip from above and flash via recovery.
 

Wampirate

Senior Member
May 3, 2010
263
15
Poznan
Thanks for help although ive managed to flash the recovery via terminal. Ive put the recovery in the root of sd card and wrote in the terminal:

su
flash_image recovery /sdcard/name-of-recovery.img
 

enzydroid

Member
Apr 20, 2010
35
1
Custom recovery for Wildfire?

I don't see it listed, but is there a version of this custom recovery for the Wildfire?
 

biosfear

Member
Mar 24, 2009
17
0
Adelaide
question guys,

rather than me reading 100+ pages of info to see if the answer is in there i hope someone can reply to me directly, i would really appreciate it. :D

Currently on Elelinux speedmachine v3 Android 2.2.1, and i want to give a cyanogen rom a try.

my nandroid backup is cyanogen mod v1.4 +JF. do i need to load a different recovery.img or can i just do a full wipe and install cm_hero_full95.zip?

also, if i need to flash a different recovery, my hero is not recognised via usb anymore, i think the connection is stuff? although it still charges. what are my options? im guessing flash via sdcard?

thanks in advance!
 
Last edited:

Merdon

Senior Member
Mar 24, 2010
67
10
Im afraid I have done a terrible mistake..

I was going to update the recovery of an HTC hero I just got but flashed the wrong recovery my mistake (HTC hero CDMA)... Now I cant enter recovery of course but I can enter fastboot...

I am trying to do the command
adb shell flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery-RA-hero-v1.7.0.1.img

but I just get "error: device not found"

Is it possible for me to flash a new recovery and if that is the case, how do I do that now from fastboot or Hboot or whatever its called.

Thanks for any response....


****edit****
trying fastboot flash recovery C:\Users\Micke\Downloads\recovery-RA-hero-v1.7.0.1.img
but now I get message
"sending 'recovery' (3972 KB)... FAILED (remote: not allow)"

Please, if anyone could give me any help I would be so greatful


****edit****

created new thread for my question http://xdaforums.com/showthread.php?t=1339309
 
Last edited:

MMartins

Senior Member
Jan 11, 2010
273
2
this recovery on my htc magic spl 1.76.x don't work I flash it but when I try to load it the screen freezes at "HTC Magic"
the htc magic recovery loads but reboots when I try to access any option
 

MMartins

Senior Member
Jan 11, 2010
273
2
you are not right since the thread of magic points this recovery for it when you have a specific radio and spl
already solved with cwm recovery
 

Top Liked Posts

  • There are no posts matching your filters.
  • 3
    Or flash this in an older AmonRA or CWM

    Flashable 1.7.0.1 Thanks to Desean and Erasmux
    1
    This is a custom recovery based on Cyanogen's recovery source with a lot of things added by me. The purpose of this recovery is to avoid using adb by accessing all features directly from the menu.

    All source code is available at github.

    This recovery if for the HTC Hero only, so NOT the Sprint Hero!!!, if you have an :
    - HTC Dream/G1 you should go here.
    - HTC Magic/MT3G you should go here.
    - HTC Sprint Hero you should go here.
    - HTC Eris you should go here.
    - HTC Tattoo you should go here.
    - HTC Nexus One you should go here.
    - HTC Evo 4G you should go here.

    Important notes
    • Make sure your battery is at least 30% before using nandroid!!
    • Always check recovery.log before posting your issues!
      You can do this by doing :
      • "cat /tmp/recovery.log" OR "cat /cache/recovery/log" right after you had the issue.
      • Use the "move log to sd" option in the "others" menu right after you had the issue. This will move the log to /sdcard/recovery.log so you can easily open it with a text editor.

    How-to Navigate
    Use the trackball (up+down) to navigate through the menu, press the trackball to select items.
    You can also use the volume keys (vol-up + vol-down) to navigate, and the CALL-ANSWER key to select items (in case your trackball is broken).

    Features
    • full ADB access in recovery mode
    • Busybox v1.15.3
    • HW-Key navigation (volume keys + CALL-ANSWER) option
    • Extended menu (with keyboard-shortcuts):
      • Reboot system now :: reboot your phone
      • USB-MS Toggle :: enable/disable USB mass storage (use when the phone is connected to your PC)
      • Backup/Restore (recovery partition not included!)
        • Nand backup :: Make a Nand backup
        • Nand + ext backup :: Make a Nand + ext backup
        • Nand restore :: Restore a Nand backup
        • BART backup :: Make a BART backup (Nand + ext)
        • BART restore :: Restore latest BART backup
        • Bck Google files :: Makes a backup of the Google proprietary system files in /cache/google
        • Rst Google files :: Restores the Google proprietary system files from /cache/google
      • Flash zip from sdcard :: Flash a zip update file from your sdcard
      • Wipe
        • Wipe data/factory reset :: Wipe /data and /cache
        • Wipe cache :: Wipe /cache only
        • Wipe Dalvik-cache :: Wipe /cache/dalvik-cache
        • Wipe SD:ext partition : Wipe the ext partition on your sdcard
        • Wipe battery stats : Wipe the battery stats in /data
        • Wipe rotate settings : Wipe the sensor settings in /data
      • Partition sdcard
        • Partition SD :: Interactive SD partitioning
        • Repair SD:ext :: Repair the ext partition
        • SD:ext2 to ext3 :: Convert ext2 to ext3
        • SD:ext3 to ext4 :: Convert ext3 to ext4
      • Other
        • Fix apk uid mismatches :: Does extacly that
        • Move recovery.log to SD :: Moves the recovery log file to your sdcard. (Use when you want more detailed recovery log information)
      • Power off :: Powers off your phone
    • Scripts available via adb :

    Install

    There are several ways to install a custom recovery, choose the one that suits you most (I probably forgot a few).

    via adb -> Requires a custom recovery (with test-keys) like Cyanogen's v1.4 or my previous recovery
    Code:
    Copy recovery-RA-hero-v1.7.0.1.img to the root of your sdcard
    Boot into your current custom recovery (boot while holding HOME)
    Connect your Hero via usb to your pc/mac/...
    adb shell
    $su (not required if you have root already)
    #mount -a
    #flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery-RA-hero-v1.7.0.1.img

    via fastboot + adb -> In case you don't have a custom recovery, so when you get signature fail errors
    Code:
    adb shell reboot bootloader
    fastboot boot recovery-RA-hero-v1.7.0.1.img
    adb shell mount /sdcard
    adb push recovery-RA-hero-v1.7.0.1.img /sdcard/recovery-RA-hero-v1.7.0.1.img
    adb shell flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery-RA-hero-v1.7.0.1.img
    adb shell reboot

    Download

    • ALWAYS check the md5sum to make sure the zip isn't corrupted.

    Only flash recovery-RA-hero-v1.6.2.img if you have a 32A Sapphire with 6.35.x.x radio and 1.76.x SPL, recovery-RA-hero-v1.7.0.1.img will NOT boot! I'll create a new Sapphire version soon.


    Change-log :

    v1.7.0.1
    Code:
    - Fixed some minor bugs
    - Recovery and scripts use /sd-ext instead of /system/sd as mountpoint to support the new apps2sd method (implemented mostly by Chris Soyars)
    - Added an option to backup/restore Google proprietary Android system files (backuptool.sh written by Cyanogen)
    - Removed "move apps2sd"-option as it's not needed anymore with the new apps2sd method
    - Updated BART to v1.3.1 (updated by Dumfuq to support /sd-ext)
    - Added a wipe cache only option
    - Nandroid now backups/restores /cache again by default
    - Dalvik-cache wipes /cache/dalvik-cache now
    - Removed SDCARD: prefix in output when chosing zip to flash
    - Updated kernel to fully support ext4

    v1.6.2
    Code:
    - Added power off menu item
    - New unyaffs binary patched by Koushik Dutta and Packetlss to fix the "losing root"-issue and incorrect file-time after a Nandroid restore
    - New dump_image binary (by Brainaid) patched by Packetlss to fix the "bad blocks"- Nandroid restore issue.
    [COLOR="Red"][B](This will not fix old corrupted Nandroid backups! Please make new backups!!)[/B][/COLOR]
    - New mkyaffs2image binary
    - New flash_image binary
    - Updated busybox to v1.5.3
    - Nandroid menu options will NOT backup or restore recovery, cache, misc, splash1+2 (to avoid issues)
    - Fixed wipe option not wiping when ext was not present
    - Created carebear versions after the idea of packetlss
    - Switched the Nexus logo to a Green Carebear with Nexus One logo (Thanks Montalbert!)

    Special thanks to :
    • packetlss for all the hours of support and awesome coding skills, THANKS man ^^, donate to Haiti
    • Koushik Dutta for the unyaffs binary code fix and help ^^
    • pensive for adding awesome features to Nandroid :)
    • Bkmo for his utility script!
    • Devsk for his switchrom script!
    • 51dusty for his sdparted script!
    • k4str0 for his fix_permissions v2.03 update.
    • Devsk, Dumfuq, Overground for creating BART :D
    • Androidappcritics for the reboot idea in BART :p
    • rikupw for the ideas and toggle_ums script.
    • MLIGN for the idea to port my recovery to the Dream.
    • http://theunlockr.com for all the awesome video’s ^^
    • JesusFreke for his awesome JFv1.43's recovery , donate
    1
    How do we revert back to the original hboot in case we flash this to over the current hboot?

    In case someone will say "just flash the backed up hboot image", i also would like to ask how do you backup the current (original, never flashed anything before) hboot?

    Thank you!
    You can get the orginal HBOOT from the old RUU package.

    If you want to flash it back here's an update package to flash it (I'm not responsible for any bricks, make sure you know what you are doing, have the right HW etc).

    This is "original" 1.76.0004 hboot, that came shipped with the Hero.
    1
    i have tried everything and nothing is working here..i am still getting this annoying e:can't read misc message.

    Try : fastboot erase misc
    1
    don't seem to differ that much? what is the difference?