FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

How to root 1.4.1 (or any other version) using just an sdcard {easy}

2,346 posts
Thanks Meter: 3,055
 
By Indirect, Senior Member on 27th January 2012, 02:09 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
29th January 2012, 10:46 PM |#101  
cobrato's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,967
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maggot226

Thanks, but I don't think i can install it, because unknown sources is disabled

You can still use adb.
Code:
adb install NTHiddenSettings.apk
or Add this to the gapps and root zip file (in /system/app folder)
 
 
29th January 2012, 10:53 PM |#102  
Member
Flag Peoria, IL
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cobrato

You can still use adb.

Code:
adb install NTHiddenSettings.apk
or Add this to the gapps and root zip file (in /system/app folder)

Thanks, I should've thought of that...

Working like a dream, thanks man!
30th January 2012, 12:06 AM |#103  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Will this work with unregistered device ?
I have an NT that I have never taken out of the box and should still have 1.4.0. I am wondering if I can use the sd card method to root without ever logging into a BN account?
30th January 2012, 02:09 AM |#104  
Senior Member
Philly
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Delete.......
30th January 2012, 04:48 AM |#105  
Senior Member
Flag Davie, FL
Thanks Meter: 482
 
More
This is old see thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1488035

I added to Indirects setup and created an image that includes:

root
superuser
Gapps
Unknown sources hack
ez file explorer
adw launcher
Home Catcher
Home Manager (allows you to switch between launchers easily)
BHT
busybox
NT Hidden Setting
GetJar
Amazon App Store
Slashtop HD (Free from getjar)

This image includes the update.zip

Flash this image to an SDCard greater than 2GB
Power Down Nook
Hold N button and Power until the nook power on then back off
Put in sdcard
Choose "Apply update.zip from sdcard"
When it is finish, remove sdcard and choose reboot.

http://www.mediafire.com/?vxcq59bbis3naba 5eef8a10cdeb666011e4d4a81076bf53

Indirect, I added more than you asked for, but I needed the other stuff for my own purposes. I hope you don't mind.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to brianf21 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift brianf21 Ad-Free
30th January 2012, 06:07 AM |#106  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
work on nook color?
Will this work on the Nook Color?
30th January 2012, 06:14 AM |#107  
Land Master's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Highlands Ranch, CO.
Thanks Meter: 173
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by brianf21

I added to Indirects setup and created an image that includes:

root
superuser
Gapps
Unknown sources hack
ez file explorer
adw launcher
Home Catcher
Home Manager (allows you to switch between launchers easily)
BHT
busybox
NT Hidden Setting
GetJar
Amazon App Store
Slashtop HD (Free from getjar)

This image includes the update.zip

Flash this image to an SDCard greater than 2GB
Power Down Nook
Hold N button and Power until the nook power on then back off
Put in sdcard
Choose "Apply update.zip from sdcard"
When it is finish, remove sdcard and choose reboot.

http://www.mediafire.com/?vxcq59bbis3naba

Indirect, I added more than you asked for, but I needed the other stuff for my own purposes. I hope you don't mind.

When using the windows instructions (post 14) do we simply extract the files from Indirect's Zip and replace the .img file with yours? (To flash the Image)


Thanks in advance for your clarification and for packaging this!
30th January 2012, 06:34 AM |#108  
Senior Member
Flag Davie, FL
Thanks Meter: 482
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Land Master

When using the windows instructions (post 14) do we simply extract the files from Indirect's Zip and replace the .img file with yours? (To flash the Image)


Thanks in advance for your clarification and for packaging this!

Yes, the update.zip is already included in the image. Let me know if it works and what os you started with.
30th January 2012, 08:49 AM |#109  
Land Master's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Highlands Ranch, CO.
Thanks Meter: 173
 
Donate to Me
More
Brand New NT just taken out of box

Ran through initial set-up just to find current firmware version (1.4.0)

Tried writing image using external card reader. Image wrote fine but I once again experienced the "Factory Reset" screen upon boot. Hooked up NT to computer, re-wrote image using NT drive path, left cable connected and was able to boot into CWM.

Upon attempting to apply update.zip noted the following:

-- Installing: /sdcard/update.zip
Finding update package...
Opening update package...
E :Can't open /sdcard/update.zip
(bad)
Installation aborted

I tried unmounting and remounting the SD card as well as removing the SD card and copying the update.zip to another SD card. The 2nd SD card wouldn't even mount. The original card could be mounted and unmounted but the error persists.

I toggled signature verification on and off ... No dice
30th January 2012, 09:05 AM |#110  
Senior Member
Flag Davie, FL
Thanks Meter: 482
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Land Master

Brand New NT just taken out of box

Ran through initial set-up just to find current firmware version (1.4.0)

Tried writing image using external card reader. Image wrote fine but I once again experienced the "Factory Reset" screen upon boot. Hooked up NT to computer, re-wrote image using NT drive path, left cable connected and was able to boot into CWM.

Upon attempting to apply update.zip noted the following:

-- Installing: /sdcard/update.zip
Finding update package...
Opening update package...
E :Can't open /sdcard/update.zip
(bad)
Installation aborted

I tried unmounting and remounting the SD card as well as removing the SD card and copying the update.zip to another SD card. The 2nd SD card wouldn't even mount. The original card could be mounted and unmounted but the error persists.

I toggled signature verification on and off ... No dice

When you booted it and got the factory reset, how did you boot it? Did you hold down the n button and power button to boot and shutdown? Which image are you flashing?

I don't think you can flash the image using the actual nook. You have to use a card reader. Once you get it booted to CWM, try connecting to the nook via adb and go into the /sdcard and you should see the update.zip there.
30th January 2012, 09:18 AM |#111  
Land Master's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Highlands Ranch, CO.
Thanks Meter: 173
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by brianf21

When you booted it and got the factory reset, how did you boot it? Per the instructions. Held down N + Power until unit turned on/off and then turned on normally Did you hold down the n button and power button to boot and shutdown? Yes Which image are you flashing? Yours

I don't think you can flash the image using the actual nook. You have to use a card reader. Image wrote fine both ways. That's not the issue Once you get it booted to CWM, try connecting to the nook via adb and go into the /sdcard and you should see the update.zip there.

The update.zip IS there. I was able to remove the SD card. Insert it into my card reader, copy the Update.Zip to another card .... etc. Just can't get it to install.

Edit: I'm hitting the rack. I'll check back in the morning. Thanks for this and I'm sure we can work out the details.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes