FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[Q] HTC Wildfire A3333 HARDLOCKED

16 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By Donnydave, Junior Member on 3rd April 2014, 03:29 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
I am a 65 year old android phone nooby I do not have a clue how these things work, I got the Wildfire A3333 off my son who purchased it secondhand off e-bay. It was completely locked up, but I purchased an unlock code that did not work? So went on you tube and found out how to reset it by clearing it? I put in a new sim card and I connected to the internet ok but when I tried to phone to set up the SIM it would not connect, nor will it send messages, it has a phone number in there that does not belong to it? because when I phoned it instead of ringing, a bloke answered?? Is there a way to get pass this hardlock or is it useless for phoning /messaging, everything else works internet,camera etc.
 
 
3rd April 2014, 03:36 PM |#2  
LS.xD's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Luebeck
Thanks Meter: 1,049
 
Donate to Me
More
Sign
Quote:
Originally Posted by Donnydave

I am a 65 year old android phone nooby I do not have a clue how these things work, I got the Wildfire A3333 off my son who purchased it secondhand off e-bay. It was completely locked up, but I purchased an unlock code that did not work? So went on you tube and found out how to reset it by clearing it? I put in a new sim card and I connected to the internet ok but when I tried to phone to set up the SIM it would not connect, nor will it send messages, it has a phone number in there that does not belong to it? because when I phoned it instead of ringing, a bloke answered?? Is there a way to get pass this hardlock or is it useless for phoning /messaging, everything else works internet,camera etc.

Did you perform a "factory reset" ? Can you tell me the installed Android version? (Can be found in phone info)
The Following User Says Thank You to LS.xD For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift LS.xD Ad-Free
3rd April 2014, 04:02 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by LS.xD

Did you perform a "factory reset" ? Can you tell me the installed Android version? (Can be found in phone
info)

No the factory reset line did not appear?It said FASTBOOT-RECOVERY-CLEAR STORAGE-SIMLOCK So I used the clear storage line? The android version 2.2.1
3rd April 2014, 04:22 PM |#4  
LS.xD's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Luebeck
Thanks Meter: 1,049
 
Donate to Me
More
Info 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Donnydave

No the factory reset line did not appear?It said FASTBOOT-RECOVERY-CLEAR STORAGE-SIMLOCK So I used the clear storage line? The android version 2.2.1

clear storage is just about the sdcard as far as i know. Other way is to factory reset in the android settings under "storage" or "security"

Just in case that will not help we can think about further steps to reset the phone. If its a used phone i CLEARLY recommend to reset or better reflash it bacause you cant if the last owner installed any malicious software on the phone.
The Following User Says Thank You to LS.xD For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift LS.xD Ad-Free
3rd April 2014, 04:41 PM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by LS.xD

clear storage is just about the sdcard as far as i know. Other way is to factory reset in the android settings under "storage" or "security"

Just in case that will not help we can think about further steps to reset the phone. If its a used phone i CLEARLY recommend to reset or better reflash it bacause you cant if the last owner installed any malicious software on the phone.

Ok thank you I will try that
3rd April 2014, 05:12 PM |#6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I followed your instructions and did a factory reset, but it is still the same? except now there is no red triangle when I try to phone 150 to register the SIM card, I still can not access the call forwarding/call barring settings? And to be honest I do not have a clue what reflash means?
Thanks for help anyway
3rd April 2014, 05:35 PM |#7  
LS.xD's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Luebeck
Thanks Meter: 1,049
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Donnydave

I followed your instructions and did a factory reset, but it is still the same? except now there is no red triangle when I try to phone 150 to register the SIM card, I still can not access the call forwarding/call barring settings? And to be honest I do not have a clue what reflash means?
Thanks for help anyway

Reflash means to reinstall the operating system (Android) on the phone. Compared to install windows on a home computer. It needs some more experience flashing a firmware but i can assisst you.

The point is that it seems as someone modified the phone on his own or the phone is from a different region/country. Just to be clear. Why did you buy a locked phone?


To know how to act pls do as followed:

Turn off phone. Go into "BOOTLOADER" by pressing "Vol down + Power" for some seconds. It will show some info. Please take a photo and upload it. then go to section "SIMLOCK" and take a photo too.

With this informations i can easiest tell you if its modified and how to get rid of the lock.
The Following User Says Thank You to LS.xD For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift LS.xD Ad-Free
3rd April 2014, 06:51 PM |#8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by LS.xD

Reflash means to reinstall the operating system (Android) on the phone. Compared to install windows on a home computer. It needs some more experience flashing a firmware but i can assisst you.

The point is that it seems as someone modified the phone on his own or the phone is from a different region/country. Just to be clear. Why did you buy a locked phone?


To know how to act pls do as followed:

Turn off phone. Go into "BOOTLOADER" by pressing "Vol down + Power" for some seconds. It will show some info. Please take a photo and upload it. then go to section "SIMLOCK" and take a photo too.

With this informations i can easiest tell you if its modified and how to get rid of the lock.

I did not buy it, it was given to me by my youngest son, he has learning difficulties and I do not think he knew what he was buying? And I think he tried accessing it until it completely locked up? It has been in a drawer for two years and came to light when he recently moved house, he also took out the SD card and misplaced it.
3rd April 2014, 07:09 PM |#9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I hope I have done this right
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	boot.JPG
Views:	30
Size:	171.6 KB
ID:	2666595   Click image for larger version

Name:	simlock.JPG
Views:	28
Size:	190.4 KB
ID:	2666596  
3rd April 2014, 07:53 PM |#10  
LS.xD's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Luebeck
Thanks Meter: 1,049
 
Donate to Me
More
Just right. I Look Out for compatible files.

Sent from my loved HTC One S using (most time buggy) Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 07:38 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:23 PM ----------

@Donnydave

Please download this --> HTC Wildfire unbranded RUU

and HTC USB drivers

you will also need a working usb cable and of course your computer

BTW it was good to have a micro sd card (Not necessary)

---------- Post added at 07:53 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:38 PM ----------

Install the driver and Make sure HTC sync (in case you installed it before) is closed. Start the phone into bootloader and select "fastboot" while connected to your computer. It should show up "fastboot usb" then you can run the RUU ( the big file you downloaded ) it will flash the stock firmware on your phone. Keep in mind that all personal data will be cleared during the flash process. If it runs successfully you should not face trouble anymore. If issues remain just tell me. Its important that the firmware update is NOT INTERRUPTED in any way, as it could make the device temporarily unusable. This should work fine for you, but of course its in YOUR RESPONCE what happens to the phone. So just go on, if you're sure how to act.

Sent from my loved HTC One S using (most time buggy) Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to LS.xD For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift LS.xD Ad-Free
3rd April 2014, 09:18 PM |#11  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by LS.xD

Just right. I Look Out for compatible files.

Sent from my loved HTC One S using (most time buggy) Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 07:38 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:23 PM ----------

@Donnydave

Please download this --> HTC Wildfire unbranded RUU

and HTC USB drivers

you will also need a working usb cable and of course your computer

BTW it was good to have a micro sd card (Not necessary)

---------- Post added at 07:53 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:38 PM ----------

Install the driver and Make sure HTC sync (in case you installed it before) is closed. Start the phone into bootloader and select "fastboot" while connected to your computer. It should show up "fastboot usb" then you can run the RUU ( the big file you downloaded ) it will flash the stock firmware on your phone. Keep in mind that all personal data will be cleared during the flash process. If it runs successfully you should not face trouble anymore. If issues remain just tell me. Its important that the firmware update is NOT INTERRUPTED in any way, as it could make the device temporarily unusable. This should work fine for you, but of course its in YOUR RESPONCE what happens to the phone. So just go on, if you're sure how to act.

Sent from my loved HTC One S using (most time buggy) Tapatalk

I can not get my computer to run the HTC Driver programme? I think a virus programme or firewall is stopping it opening?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes