FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[KERNEL][stable: M1 (2.6.39.4) - exp: Alpha 31 (3.1.10)] Kowalski Kernel

2,140 posts
Thanks Meter: 23,027
 
By pengus77, Recognized Developer on 13th January 2013, 07:57 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
19th January 2013, 11:38 PM |#521  
icyeye's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 341
 
More
just interested, should we leave zRam at 18% - default or we can chose 26% ? ty
19th January 2013, 11:39 PM |#522  
pengus77's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Penguins' Republic of Antarctica
Thanks Meter: 23,027
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by KillerbeeNL

so this kernel is working constantly on 1000mz ?

No, it's actually using all the frequencies correctly, unlike the stock kernel handled by obsolete governors and nvidia crap...

Quote:
Originally Posted by hugoqueiroz94

If i install the psp module i need to activate using terminal emulator or is automatic?

No, if you install the psp module you'll make the PSP Full mode persistent. If you use the terminal the mode won't stick after a reboot.
The Following User Says Thank You to pengus77 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th January 2013, 11:39 PM |#523  
pengus77's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Penguins' Republic of Antarctica
Thanks Meter: 23,027
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by icyeye

just interested, should we leave zRam at 18% - default or we can chose 26% ? ty

Whatever you like, you can also disable it totally
If you are on a CM rom though, the defaults are set in the build.prop, so i suggest you remove the line that forces 18% zram and manage it yourself in the performance menu
The Following User Says Thank You to pengus77 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th January 2013, 11:50 PM |#524  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 802
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pengus77

Wishlist

* OTG Support
* HDMI
* USB fast charge (with sysfs interface maybe)

Straight awesomeness, looking forward to that one
19th January 2013, 11:50 PM |#525  
rottenwheel's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 398
 
Donate to Me
More
Re: [KERNEL][CM10/CM10.1/ICS - OLD/NEW BL][010 - 2013/01/19] Kowalski Kernel
Penguzz thank you so much again. I've a little question, I already did it but I want to know how we've to set the configuration now for RAM memory management? You're telling us the zRam is better at this time so... I already have your configuration: disabled the zRam, KSM, enabled swap and 4 process in background. I've to set on again zRam or I'm ok here? What's your suggestion? Can you tell me please? I'll modify the options you told a few last pages with Trickster Mod...
19th January 2013, 11:59 PM |#526  
Raum1807's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 730
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pengus77

*Compiled Zram as a module, installed a init.d script to enable it
*Moved from lzo to google's snappy as compression for zram

Really nice work with the 010 kernel.

I changed a lot around zram too last few days and I am testing my latest setup since.

Here is what I did basically:
  • algo changed from lzo to snappy
  • CONFIG_ZRAM=m
  • num_devices=2
  • swapon /dev/zswap0 -p 10
  • swapon /dev/zswap1 -p 10
  • swapfile enabled additionally with -p 100

Are you using two zram devices too now? Improves performance a bit on dual core machines.

Wanted to write about these changes next week but if you are already using the same set-up it is kind of useless to introduce.

Just let me know!
20th January 2013, 12:09 AM |#527  
pengus77's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Penguins' Republic of Antarctica
Thanks Meter: 23,027
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raum1807

Really nice work with the 010 kernel.

I changed a lot around zram too last few days and I am testing my latest setup since.

Here is what I did basically:

  • algo changed from lzo to snappy
  • CONFIG_ZRAM=m
  • num_devices=2
  • swapon /dev/zswap0 -p 10
  • swapon /dev/zswap1 -p 10
  • swapfile enabled additionally

Are you using two zram devices too now? Improves performance a bit on dual core machines.

Wanted to write about these changes next week but if you are already using the same set-up it is kind of useless to introduce.

Just let me know!

No, one device only because my kernel in idle turns always off the 2nd core and i don't want to introduce any kind of overhead and task switching when suspending/resuming... and LOL telepathy ?
20th January 2013, 12:33 AM |#528  
Raum1807's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 730
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pengus77

No, one device only because my kernel in idle turns always off the 2nd core and i don't want to introduce any kind of overhead and task switching when suspending/resuming... and LOL telepathy ?

No, no telepathy, maybe same way of thinking. When I tested my set-up a while back with swap file enabled I saw that the zram config needed some serious changes. After the thread of last week about swap file / partition on P990 I had some time to check what could be done about zram improvement next and what already has been done in this case by others...

My approach now is to use zram (with higher prio than swap file) and swap file (in your case: partition) at the same time. With zram then enabled, I made the observation that a swappiness value as high as 30 is no problem for the usage of the swap file to be rare while it helps the zram.

Would you agree on this?
20th January 2013, 12:37 AM |#529  
swifer_lf's Avatar
Senior Member
SAN SEBASTIAN
Thanks Meter: 77
 
More
performance scheduler deactivated?
20th January 2013, 12:41 AM |#530  
pengus77's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Penguins' Republic of Antarctica
Thanks Meter: 23,027
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raum1807

No, no telepathy, maybe same way of thinking. When I tested my set-up a while back with swap file enabled I saw that the zram config needed some serious changes. After the thread of last week about swap file / partition on P990 I had some time to check what could be done about zram improvement next and what already has been done in this case by others...

My approach now is to use zram (with higher prio than swap file) and swap file (in your case: partition) at the same time. With zram then enabled, I made the observation that a swappiness value as high as 30 is no problem for the usage of the swap file to be rare while it helps the zram.

Would you agree on this?

Yeah totally, also i tweaked a bit in my init.d script the vm dirty ratios to
Code:
echo 20 > /proc/sys/vm/dirty_background_ratio
echo 60 > /proc/sys/vm/dirty_ratio
This gives a better ram/vm balance and the phone feels a lot better... try it
20th January 2013, 12:45 AM |#531  
pengus77's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Penguins' Republic of Antarctica
Thanks Meter: 23,027
 
Donate to Me
More
Interesting Discovery
Guys, i found out why auto brightness doesn't work on 10/10.1
Apparently the lsensor is never turned on by the on/off switch of auto brightness. To enable it by hand just
Code:
su
echo 1 > /sys/devices/platform/i2c-gpio.5/i2c-5/5-0060/lsensor_onoff
and to disable it
Code:
su
echo 0 > /sys/devices/platform/i2c-gpio.5/i2c-5/5-0060/lsensor_onoff
For rom developers, adding this reads/writes to the auto on/off switch will fix it for good

For my kernel users, go by hand or add it to /etc/init.d/95kowalski and reboot
The Following 20 Users Say Thank You to pengus77 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
beware ! wild penguins, fish slapping takes place here, ics - cm10 - cm10.1, jelly bean, kernel, no polar bears - killer whales or sharks allowed, nvidia sucks - lg sucks more

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes