FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA
Honor CEO Thread

How is Android Market location determined?

1,694 posts
Thanks Meter: 1,059
 
By plbelanger, Senior Member on 10th October 2009, 08:04 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
I've had 2 Hero's; one from UK and my current one from Asia. I notice certain applications were present in the market on my UK model but not my current one. How is this determined? Is it by the firmware? If I were to install the UK or European firmware opposed to the Asian firmware currently installed would I get different apps?
 
 
11th October 2009, 11:25 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I would say by your network and location. An IP address already tells the internet where you are located.
11th October 2009, 01:41 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Flag Skien
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
i think it has to do with your apn provider settings
if im not mistaken, thats how marketenabler works...
here in the cold nort, Norway, my provider is NetCom, and i can only access free apps, but when i use marketenabler, and fake T-Mobile, i get all paid and such...
11th October 2009, 02:32 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by marazi

i think it has to do with your apn provider settings
if im not mistaken, thats how marketenabler works...
here in the cold nort, Norway, my provider is NetCom, and i can only access free apps, but when i use marketenabler, and fake T-Mobile, i get all paid and such...

yes thats correct, this is the way it works..
11th October 2009, 03:57 PM |#5  
plbelanger's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Washington
Thanks Meter: 1,059
 
Donate to Me
More
Hm, well I'm in the US so I wonder why I'm missing apps such as Pandora
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes