FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[Kernel] OC to 1100Mhz and linaro gcc 4.7 (New version with fast display mode)

361 posts
Thanks Meter: 1,106
 
By guevor, Senior Member on 26th September 2012, 01:55 PM
Thread Closed Email Thread
19th November 2012, 01:15 PM |#81  
Senior Member
Flag Warszaw
Thanks Meter: 85
 
More
On my NST with 1.2.0 fast mode does not work, nothing happens when activated.

i5700/Tapatalk 2
 
 
19th November 2012, 03:57 PM |#82  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Thanks, guevor! You know what I'm going to ask... Would you mind posting the source?
20th November 2012, 08:01 AM |#83  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Retroillumination doesn't work on glowlight 1.1.5
Hi guevor,

I've tried it on a Nook glowlight 1.1.5 and the backlight ceased to work.
Tried to disable/enable from settings, no effect.

P.S: Does your kernel integrate ADB, if not is possible to add it?
Thanks.
21st November 2012, 11:08 PM |#84  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Hi guevor,

Another one with the glowlight 1.1.5 that after installing #174 the backlight ceased to work.

Previously I had installed one of the very first uimages you compiled and backlight was working OK.

After installing CWM #174 it's no longer working, so I installed back #166 and same situation (not working).

Trying some possibilities I've found that I can turn it on /off (works both in #166 and #174):
- Turn on: open glowlight menu, mark the ON checkbox and touch on de brightness slider.
- Turn off: only way is presing power button and getting screensaver.

Please guevor, is there any possibitily to get backlight working normally?

Regards and thanks in advance.

Ctot

PS: restoring previous uRamDisk brings back backlight. Does anybody know if there can be any impact having original uRamDisk?
21st November 2012, 11:12 PM |#85  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by domi.nos

On my NST with 1.2.0 fast mode does not work, nothing happens when activated.

i5700/Tapatalk 2

This is not true! Fastmode works perfectly fine, the only problem is the app toggling.
"adb push fmode /sys/devices/platform/omap3epfb.0/graphics/fb0/fmode" with config "1" works, app toggles perfectly back to "0" with root access, but nothing happens if you want to toggle to "1"

Cheers
22nd November 2012, 06:47 PM |#86  
enrsil1983's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Abruzzo (PE)
Thanks Meter: 56
 
More
NST no glowlight with latest firmware
Works perfectly, fastmode and 1ghz cpu
23rd November 2012, 12:55 AM |#87  
osowiecki's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Poznań
Thanks Meter: 136
 
Donate to Me
More
There seems to be a problem with Sdcard handling in the latest 174 FW version.
The nook tends not to boot with sdcard inserted (It boots once every 3 tries).
Problem does not occur with v.166.

32GB Transcend class 2

also..
NoRefresh app stopped working in 174.
23rd November 2012, 04:11 PM |#88  
Junior Member
Flag Poznan
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hi, I am newbie of NST owner.
I install NoRefreshToogle.apk, but it does not work as should it.
I have just like Asterix0108:
Quote:
Originally Posted by asterix0108

In detail, when I did 4 downward right taps, nothing happened, I must run No Refresh first then when in app, hold home button for a while then choose No Refresh in Recent Apps. It's quite inconvinient. But for a wonder, when No Refresh is activated, when I did 4 upward taps, No refresh was disabled.

but when I run theNoRefresh, the screen is very bright and low contrast and text is unreadable.


Write as rooting and hacking my NST:
1. I wrote on sdcard sd_2gb_clockwork-rc2.zip and I install install_cwm_recovery_rc2.zip from CWM [http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?t=1360994]
2. I installed Kernel OC 1100MHz, with fastmode and multitouch -> "Cwm recovery install zip" pack #174 [http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?t=1906507]
3. I installed MinimalTouch 1.1. Precisely, I installed XWFullTouch-PART-1-START. Next, I register device by YT i GMail. Finally I installed XWU-NWU-MFTouch-PART-2-END-1.zip [http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?t=1346748]
4. I installed NoRefreshToggle.apk by ADB [http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=10]

If I did something wrong (or in the wrong order), then correct me!
Maybe the problem is with the kernel?
23rd November 2012, 10:17 PM |#89  
osowiecki's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Poznań
Thanks Meter: 136
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by martin_155

This is not true! Fastmode works perfectly fine, the only problem is the app toggling.
"adb push fmode /sys/devices/platform/omap3epfb.0/graphics/fb0/fmode" with config "1" works, app toggles perfectly back to "0" with root access, but nothing happens if you want to toggle to "1"

Cheers

He's right, you know?

Same problem here. Fw 1.2 US.

---------- Post added at 11:17 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:35 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by osowiecki

He's right, you know?

Same problem here. Fw 1.2 US.

To get FastRefresh start at boot add :

echo 1 > /sys/devices/platform/omap3epfb.0/graphics/fb0/fmode

at the end of "/system/bin/clrbootcount.sh"

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1241419

Mdall :
Quote:

Method 2: adding commands at the end of /system/bin/clrbootcount.sh (this file is executed when the boot is completed)
Code:
adb pull /system/bin/clrbootcount.sh
//Now you can edit this file and add at the end a command (echo 1 > /sys/devices/platform/omap3epfb.0/graphics/fb0/fmode)
//Then
adb shell mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/mmcblk0p5 /system
adb push clrbootcount.sh /system/bin/clrbootcount.sh
adb shell chmod 755 /system/bin/clrbootcount.sh

Thank you for great info Mdall

Temporary solution to run FastRefresh after we have disabled it is to run an '.sh' script using
'GScript'

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=486486

You can place shortcut to the Gscript's script on your desktop just like with any apk.
Scripts goes to /sdcard/gscript/
The Following User Says Thank You to osowiecki For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift osowiecki Ad-Free
24th November 2012, 11:16 AM |#90  
OP Senior Member
Flag Valencia
Thanks Meter: 1,106
 
Donate to Me
More
Sorry I can not give more time but lately I'm not feeling too well and being in front of the screen only makes things worse, so I can only spend a few minutes.
I created the patch with the latest changes.
About the problem with the glow, I understand it is due to a difference in the ramdisk, so if someone gives me the glow version to see the differences, will try to make one that works for everyone.
About the problem with the program to switch to FastMode, I have not clear what may be the cause, since it does is really simple, but when I can, will try to modify it to see if it works on 1.2.
Attached Files
File Type: patch kernel-mod-v4.patch - [Click for QR Code] (110.6 KB, 172 views)
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to guevor For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift guevor Ad-Free
27th November 2012, 10:16 AM |#91  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by guevor

Sorry I can not give more time but lately I'm not feeling too well and being in front of the screen only makes things worse, so I can only spend a few minutes.
I created the patch with the latest changes.

Thanks for all your hard work guevor, that's excellent. I hope your health improves soon!
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes