FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

ADB.exe

883 posts
Thanks Meter: 154
 
By hav0c, Senior Member on 10th January 2011, 04:59 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
11th January 2011, 12:29 AM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 219
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dr.m0x

Platform-tools doesn't come with the sdk by default if I recall correctly. You need to run the sdk manager and select it as an optional component to download. I'm a long way from my computer right now so I can't double check for you sorry.

Sent from my performance enhanced Desire HD.


lol prob why can't find it
 
 
11th January 2011, 03:34 PM |#12  
hav0c's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Amsterdam
Thanks Meter: 154
 
More
It's not there (even after update all)

Thanks anyway..
11th January 2011, 04:55 PM |#13  
CitizenLee's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 505
 
More
Looks like it's all change since the version I downloaded when I got my Hero last year.

Taken from the SDK Readme in the latest SDK download, confirming what has been said above:

Quote:


Welcome to the Android SDK!

The Android SDK archive now only contains the tools. It no longer comes
populated with a specific Android platform or Google add-on. Instead you
use the SDK Manager to install or update SDK components such as platforms,
tools, add-ons, and documentation.

In order to start developing applications, you must install at least one
version of the Android platform using the SDK Manager.

This requires an Internet connection, so if you plan to use the SDK
offline, please make sure to download the necessary components while online.

To start the SDK Manager, please execute the program "SDK Setup.exe".

From the command-line you can also directly trigger an update by
executing:
tools\android.bat update sdk

For more information, please consult the Android web site at
http://developer.android.com

The Following User Says Thank You to CitizenLee For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift CitizenLee Ad-Free
27th October 2011, 10:37 AM |#14  
Senior Member
Flag Z├╝rich
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hav0c

Sorry for the noob question but when I download the latests SDK there is no ADB.exe file in the tools directory anymore.

How do I start ADB with the latest SDK release?

there is a adb_blabla.txt file with tells you how you can find adb.exe
28th October 2011, 09:47 AM |#15  
hopscotchjunkie's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag The Metropolitan Borough of Gateshead
Thanks Meter: 349
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aivilon

there is a adb_blabla.txt file with tells you how you can find adb.exe

I reckon he's probably worked that out in the last nine months

//sent from my Desire HD using Tapatalk; all errors entirely intentional.
18th December 2011, 05:06 PM |#16  
paulckruger's Avatar
Member
Flag NE Florida
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Question Is someone going to just solve the mystery?
Lots of talk

So bottom line, will someone just solve the mystery.

1) If it is installed with SDK where is it and why does search not find it.
2) If it is NOT installed where do we get it.

Thanks
18th December 2011, 05:24 PM |#17  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 89
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulckruger

Lots of talk

So bottom line, will someone just solve the mystery.

1) If it is installed with SDK where is it and why does search not find it.
2) If it is NOT installed where do we get it.

Thanks

You have to install platform tools from "sdk manager.exe".....adb will be under the platform-tools folder after that

Sent from my HTC Inspire 4G using Tapatalk
18th December 2011, 08:13 PM |#18  
zelendel's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Anchorage
Thanks Meter: 20,885
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulckruger

Lots of talk

So bottom line, will someone just solve the mystery.

1) If it is installed with SDK where is it and why does search not find it.
2) If it is NOT installed where do we get it.

Thanks

Don't search for it. Go to the directory and look for it. Windows search is a joke
19th December 2011, 05:05 PM |#19  
paulckruger's Avatar
Member
Flag NE Florida
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Question
Quote:
Originally Posted by zelendel

Don't search for it. Go to the directory and look for it. Windows search is a joke

I have done that as well and find to trace of that file? I use a third party search which is better than windows search...does not exist c:/android/***** which is the install directory for the SDK.


Again...if it is not there where do I get it?
19th December 2011, 05:35 PM |#20  
hopscotchjunkie's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag The Metropolitan Borough of Gateshead
Thanks Meter: 349
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulckruger

I have done that as well and find to trace of that file? I use a third party search which is better than windows search...does not exist c:/android/***** which is the install directory for the SDK.


Again...if it is not there where do I get it?

As already stated, it is not installed with the SDK by default. In the tools folder there's a text file called "adb_has_moved.txt" which tells you that you need to launch the SDK and install "Android SDK Platform-tools" to get it. Like chrisz5z said.
19th December 2011, 05:59 PM |#21  
paulckruger's Avatar
Member
Flag NE Florida
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Question
Quote:
Originally Posted by hopscotchjunkie

As already stated, it is not installed with the SDK by default. In the tools folder there's a text file called "adb_has_moved.txt" which tells you that you need to launch the SDK and install "Android SDK Platform-tools" to get it. Like chrisz5z said.


It showed the tools to be installed but after I just did a new update that file now appears under /platform-tools

I guess for some reason the original install of the tools did not complete yet still indicated in the SDK that it was installed.

Thanks.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes