FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[N2E][1.1] TouchNooter 2.1.31

650 posts
Thanks Meter: 516
 
By GabrialDestruir, Senior Member on 12th November 2011, 07:39 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
14th November 2011, 03:50 PM |#21  
user4242's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Is it possibile to uninstall these two:

  • Installs Button Savior
  • Installs Go Launcher
?

Why use Button Savior considering that physical buttons can be remapped to work as "back" and "menu"?

Thanks!
 
 
14th November 2011, 04:45 PM |#22  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 141
 
Donate to Me
More
Yes, you can uninstall Button Savior and Go Launcher. Just delete the regarding apks
14th November 2011, 05:20 PM |#23  
Senior Member
Flag Sao Paulo
Thanks Meter: 31
 
More
My quest for rooting my nook 1.1.0 still goes on.
I was trying eded333's way, and still didn't manage to root it.
Restored via nookrestore, resetted using two lower buttons when screen flicker, updated, created sd with touchnooter 1.6.24, changed both uramdisk (for 1.1 wifi version) and framework.jar (for 1.1 version). Booted with SD in and it either locks up or goes to regular nook (on 12 tries, 10 lock ups and 2 going to regular nook). Remove the SD, and it goes back to regular nook.
Am I missing something????
14th November 2011, 05:48 PM |#24  
eded333's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 217
 
More
When I get home, I'll give you a guide, on how to do it manually over adb.
14th November 2011, 05:51 PM |#25  
Senior Member
Flag Sao Paulo
Thanks Meter: 31
 
More
Sorry to bother, eded, but I'm also on a free day. It would be good to finish that today.
Thanks
14th November 2011, 05:57 PM |#26  
eded333's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 217
 
More
I'm from Europe, dont really know what time is it over there

I'll get home in 2 or 3 hours.
14th November 2011, 06:25 PM |#27  
Member
Flag Paris
Thanks Meter: 29
 
More
Do we know if it is possible to modify the content of B&N update zip file so that we could use it to root the device for instance ?
14th November 2011, 06:48 PM |#28  
ros87's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bodø
Thanks Meter: 164
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdall

Do we know if it is possible to modify the content of B&N update zip file so that we could use it to root the device for instance ?

One of the first things I tried when I got my NST, no luck.
I'm certain it's doable, but some re-engineering of the update process will be needed to figure it out as they're not using the stock Android one.
14th November 2011, 09:33 PM |#29  
eded333's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 217
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by apeine

Sorry to bother, eded, but I'm also on a free day. It would be good to finish that today.
Thanks

I made a small guide:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1346748
Hope I made it in time, and helps
16th November 2011, 12:19 PM |#30  
Member
Flag Paris
Thanks Meter: 29
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GabrialDestruir

Go through all the steps manually with something like noogie. The reason TouchNooter can't do it is because to get the script to run requires the the system to boot, replacing the files while the system is active will cause the system to crash when you go to reboot it to complete the steps for Market. Because of this to install Gapps you have to use a method that doesn't require the system to be active like Noogie.

Another method which would allow us to add Gapps, is if someone completed a version of CWM for Nook Touch.

But, if I burn touchnooter 1.6.24 on my sdcard and replace framework.jar and uRamdisk (as it is said here), it works for me, that's strange.

And +1 CWM would be very interesting


BTW, out of curiosity, I'm wondering, if I burn touchnooter 1.11.11 on my sdcard, I can't see any Nooter directory as in TN 1.6.24. How does it works ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ros87

One of the first things I tried when I got my NST, no luck.
I'm certain it's doable, but some re-engineering of the update process will be needed to figure it out as they're not using the stock Android one.

You mean, if the content of the zip is modified, it is not applied ?
16th November 2011, 12:59 PM |#31  
ros87's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bodø
Thanks Meter: 164
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdall

You mean, if the content of the zip is modified, it is not applied ?

I'm sure there are some basic checks involved yes.

IIRC I tried several different approaches and in every case the zip was read and removed
I could not get the update process to trigger at all.

With some reverse engineering it should be fairly easy to figure it out, B&N didn't put much effort into locking down the NST which is why I love it
But I have other projects ongoing for the NST right now so I don't have the time to look into this.
The Following User Says Thank You to ros87 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift ros87 Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes