Unable to flash latest firmware (s-off)

Search This thread

Ardmanz

Senior Member
Nov 2, 2011
271
26
I'm having a problem flashing the latest firmware - 4.19.401.11 (currently on 4.19.401.8).

I get:

Code:
sending 'zip' (71868 KB)...
OKAY [  4.936s]
writing 'zip'...
(bootloader) zip header checking...
(bootloader) zip info parsing...
(bootloader) checking model ID...
(bootloader) checking custom ID...
(bootloader) start image[hboot] unzipping for pre-update check...
(bootloader) start image[hboot] flushing...
(bootloader) [RUU]WP,hboot,0
(bootloader) [RUU]WP,hboot,99
(bootloader) [RUU]WP,hboot,100
(bootloader) ...... Successful
FAILED (remote: 90 hboot pre-update! please flush image again immediately)
finished. total time: 6.410s

I then try to write again immediately and it just hangs on

Code:
sending 'zip' (71868 KB)...

(the file size is obviously different I just copied the code from Vomer's thread).

Eventually I have to just reset my phone. Any ideas?

I've never had any problems flashing firmware in the past.

I have checked the MD5 (it matches), i've tried downloading it again and tried on different PCS (both running Windows 7) with different USB cables.

Currently running Viperone 5.8.0

Thanks in advance.
 

bored_stupid

Senior Member
Jul 10, 2011
669
188
Hereford
How are you trying to flash the firmware?
Post link to firmware please.
Post a fastboot getvar all

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 

Ardmanz

Senior Member
Nov 2, 2011
271
26
Hi there,

I'm using the guide that Vomer has posted and the latest firmware on the following page (I have followed this process many times):

http://xdaforums.com/showthread.php?t=2365506

My getvar:

Code:
C:\adb>fastboot getvar all
INFOversion: 0.5
INFOversion-bootloader: 1.56.0000
INFOversion-baseband: 4A.23.3263.28
INFOversion-cpld: None
INFOversion-microp: None
INFOversion-main: 4.19.401.8
INFOversion-misc: PVT SHIP S-OFF
INFOserialno: 
INFOimei: 
INFOmeid: 00000000000000
INFOproduct: m7_ul
INFOplatform: HBOOT-8064
INFOmodelid: PN0710000
INFOcidnum: 11111111
INFObattery-status: good
INFObattery-voltage: 4228mV
INFOpartition-layout: Generic
INFOsecurity: off
INFObuild-mode: SHIP
INFOboot-mode: FASTBOOT
INFOcommitno-bootloader: dirty-4dab9d12
INFOhbootpreupdate: 11
INFOgencheckpt: 0
all: Done!
finished. total time: 0.074s

Thanks!
 

bored_stupid

Senior Member
Jul 10, 2011
669
188
Hereford
Hi there,

I'm using the guide that Vomer has posted and the latest firmware on the following page (I have followed this process many times):

http://xdaforums.com/showthread.php?t=2365506

My getvar:

Code:
C:\adb>fastboot getvar all
INFOversion: 0.5
INFOversion-bootloader: 1.56.0000
INFOversion-baseband: 4A.23.3263.28
INFOversion-cpld: None
INFOversion-microp: None
INFOversion-main: 4.19.401.8
INFOversion-misc: PVT SHIP S-OFF
INFOserialno: 
INFOimei: 
INFOmeid: 00000000000000
[COLOR="Red"]INFOproduct: m7_ul[/COLOR]
INFOplatform: HBOOT-8064
INFOmodelid: PN0710000
INFOcidnum: 11111111
INFObattery-status: good
INFObattery-voltage: 4228mV
INFOpartition-layout: Generic
INFOsecurity: off
INFObuild-mode: SHIP
INFOboot-mode: FASTBOOT
INFOcommitno-bootloader: dirty-4dab9d12
INFOhbootpreupdate: 11
INFOgencheckpt: 0
all: Done!
finished. total time: 0.074s

Thanks!

You do realise that is for HTC HTC One Dual Sim(M7C_DUG) You have a m7ul single sim.
Get the firmware from here and follow the guide
No need to lock your bootloader,{ your S-Off }
http://xdaforums.com/showthread.php?t=2182823
 
Last edited:

bored_stupid

Senior Member
Jul 10, 2011
669
188
Hereford
Last edited:

Ardmanz

Senior Member
Nov 2, 2011
271
26
Let me know how you get on

Dont feel to bad, I almost download that at one time too

Hmm, same thing again. :(

I've noticed something weird in my HBOOT though..

It's in red text:

OS-4.19.401.8 (4.19.401.11)

Does this have anything to do with it?

Edit - I've also tried the .9 firmware and it's giving me the same problem however, the red message above now has the .9 firmware in brackets???

Edit - Also, my phone works fine, I just can't flash any firmwares.
 
Last edited:

bored_stupid

Senior Member
Jul 10, 2011
669
188
Hereford
Hmm, same thing again. :(

I've noticed something weird in my HBOOT though..

It's in red text:

OS-4.19.401.8 (4.19.401.11)

Does this have anything to do with it?

Because you only ran the "fastboot flash zip <name of firmware>.zip" once, your firmware is in a state of limbo.

Flash the firmware again

fastboot oem rebootRUU

Now your booted to the black HTC screen. Make sure your firmware.zip file is in your adb/fastboot folder

fastboot flash zip firmware.zip

This takes a couple minutes and you will most likely get a error
(pre-hboot update: please flush immediately)

fastboot flash zip firmware.zip

Let it run and it should finish this time

fastboot reboot
 

Ardmanz

Senior Member
Nov 2, 2011
271
26
Because you only ran the "fastboot flash zip <name of firmware>.zip" once, your firmware is in a state of limbo.

Flash the firmware again

fastboot oem rebootRUU

Now your booted to the black HTC screen. Make sure your firmware.zip file is in your adb/fastboot folder

fastboot flash zip firmware.zip

This takes a couple minutes and you will most likely get a error
(pre-hboot update: please flush immediately)

fastboot flash zip firmware.zip

Let it run and it should finish this time

fastboot reboot

The above is exactly what I'm doing. I flash the second time but it does nothing. Maybe I'll leave it longer but it's never taken more than about 30 seconds to send it to my phone previously. I'll leave it for a good 5 mins and see how I go.
 

bored_stupid

Senior Member
Jul 10, 2011
669
188
Hereford

bored_stupid

Senior Member
Jul 10, 2011
669
188
Hereford
I realise the risk but RUU is like starting from fresh. May give it a go, it's a pain though!

I think it maybe your only hope if the hboots wont take.
Its just that some users have had some luck by flashing 1.44 hboot
I just hope that trying to flash the wrong firmware hasn't corrupted the hboot.
Backup your user apps with TB
Also if your using 4.4.2 RUU then dont sign into google when setting up the phone.
Once setup has finished then sign into Google.
Your notifications will work then.
 

Ardmanz

Senior Member
Nov 2, 2011
271
26
I think it maybe your only hope if the hboots wont take.
Its just that some users have had some luck by flashing 1.44 hboot
I just hope that trying to flash the wrong firmware hasn't corrupted the hboot.
Backup your user apps with TB
Also if your using 4.4.2 RUU then dont sign into google when setting up the phone.
Once setup has finished then sign into Google.
Your notifications will work then.

I was planning on using this one:

http://www.htc1guru.com/dld/ruu_m7_...0-38r-1157-04l_release_353069_signed_2-1-exe/
 

Top Liked Posts