The OnePlus 6 is officially on sale! Buy now →
FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[How To] Retrieve MSL CDMA Workshop Method

76 posts
Thanks Meter: 17
 
By techwerkz, Member on 8th June 2010, 06:15 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
7th September 2010, 06:07 PM |#121  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Smile
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmastrac

Try the "MSL Reader" from the market. I wrote that a few weeks ago to make MSL reading much easier.

This worked perfectly. You are awesome! Thank you!
 
 
15th September 2010, 07:25 PM |#122  
techwerkz's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Fort Myers, FL
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmastrac

Try the "MSL Reader" from the market. I wrote that a few weeks ago to make MSL reading much easier.

Good work man. Updated my first post.
21st September 2010, 01:50 AM |#123  
ChaosShadow's Avatar
Junior Member
Chi-Town!
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by squiggie

"MSL Reader" from the market is much quicker.

This.

Worked like a charm! Thanks
18th October 2010, 05:20 AM |#124  
cytherian's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag NJ
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
For those who haven't rooted (thus MSL Reader isn't an option), you can easily use CDMA-Workshop. The main trick is getting the proper software installed (HTC Sync, drivers, etc) and then using it in various ways, depending upon your situation and operating system. I'm running Windows Vista x64.

First, you have to know what COM port the phone is on, when connected via USB. When you run CDMA-Workshop, there's a choice of 25 ports, so it would be major pain testing connectivity on all of them. Normally QPST can help you in this regard. It should show your active phone on one of the listed ports when you run QPST Configuration. However, it won't always see the phone as-is. Sometimes you have to put your phone into diagnostic mode, via ##3424#.

I'd had a slightly older version of QPST, so I uninstalled it and put the newer one on (b323). After that, QPST would not see my phone on the available ports. However, what I noticed when I plugged my phone in, was the "new device installed" dialog pop-up. If you click on it, it'll tell you what port the phone was installed on. In QPST, you can select to add additional ports. It'll show you a few in the list. If the port that the phone is on isn't listed, you can select one of the ports and modify it to match. In my case, it was port10. Upon adding it, QPST showed the phone active in the list.

CDMA-Workshop requires you to select the active port that the phone is on and then connect, in the Main tab. Make sure QPST is stopped, or else CDMA-Workshop will fail (only one program can access the port at any given time). Once connected, perform a read for the basic info. Then go to the security tab and perform a read with the default dropdownlist selection. If it fails, try restarting your phone. In my case, it didn't work the first time. Restarting the phone worked, but I also had to put it into diagnostic mode. Once that was done, I connected, performed a basic read, then did an SPC read from the security tab. I got the MSL ID with no problem.
23rd October 2010, 08:50 PM |#125  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Midnigh7

I get this error when I try to run the SPC/User lock read.

Any Ideas?


-Midnigh7-

I get the same error "Phone ask for SPC. SPC (6 digits) is required. Check "Security" tab - "SPC" section. I power cycled the phone trying to power cycle my pc now as well.
25th October 2010, 02:23 PM |#126  
techwerkz's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Fort Myers, FL
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cytherian

For those who haven't rooted (thus MSL Reader isn't an option), you can easily use CDMA-Workshop. The main trick is getting the proper software installed (HTC Sync, drivers, etc) and then using it in various ways, depending upon your situation and operating system. I'm running Windows Vista x64.

First, you have to know what COM port the phone is on, when connected via USB. When you run CDMA-Workshop, there's a choice of 25 ports, so it would be major pain testing connectivity on all of them. Normally QPST can help you in this regard. It should show your active phone on one of the listed ports when you run QPST Configuration. However, it won't always see the phone as-is. Sometimes you have to put your phone into diagnostic mode, via ##3424#.

I'd had a slightly older version of QPST, so I uninstalled it and put the newer one on (b323). After that, QPST would not see my phone on the available ports. However, what I noticed when I plugged my phone in, was the "new device installed" dialog pop-up. If you click on it, it'll tell you what port the phone was installed on. In QPST, you can select to add additional ports. It'll show you a few in the list. If the port that the phone is on isn't listed, you can select one of the ports and modify it to match. In my case, it was port10. Upon adding it, QPST showed the phone active in the list.

CDMA-Workshop requires you to select the active port that the phone is on and then connect, in the Main tab. Make sure QPST is stopped, or else CDMA-Workshop will fail (only one program can access the port at any given time). Once connected, perform a read for the basic info. Then go to the security tab and perform a read with the default dropdownlist selection. If it fails, try restarting your phone. In my case, it didn't work the first time. Restarting the phone worked, but I also had to put it into diagnostic mode. Once that was done, I connected, performed a basic read, then did an SPC read from the security tab. I got the MSL ID with no problem.

There is an easier way to find the COM port, just look at device manager.

Windows Key + R -> devmgmt.msc -> expand Ports (COM + LPT). Look for the diagnostic driver and the port will be shown.

Taking this a step further ... Right click on it, go to properties, head to the Ports tab, and click advanced. You can change the COM port there.

I explained this in my first post that I wouldn't explain this lol. It is pretty easy information to find via Google, however I will just leave that here. I was just being lazy in the first post
25th October 2010, 05:34 PM |#127  
treo4life's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta, Ga.
Thanks Meter: 101
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmastrac

Try the "MSL Reader" from the market. I wrote that a few weeks ago to make MSL reading much easier.

Simple as pie! thanks
26th October 2010, 04:00 AM |#128  
Senior Member
Flag Orlando
Thanks Meter: 187
 
More
I can verify that msl reader works great. Thanks for the app.

Sent from my PC36100 using XDA App
27th October 2010, 12:37 AM |#129  
vaelek's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Near Madison, WI
Thanks Meter: 119
 
Donate to Me
More
Not sure if this has been mentioned or not. I was looking at my contract the other day, and right on it was both mine and my wife's MSL. It was printed at Best Buy.
5th November 2010, 05:20 PM |#130  
wherestheanykey's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Hi, I am using Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit and have downloaded the diag drivers from post 1, but when try to do the update driver from device manager, and browse out to the 64bit folder, I get the windows did not fine the right driver for your device. Is this working for others using WIN7, what am I missing?

Thanks,
17th November 2010, 08:57 PM |#131  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 200
 
More
Anybody have the Windows XP 64-bit version? This worked for me on Windows 7 64-bit but not my XP 64...
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes