FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[APP] Linux-on-Android project (Complete Linux Installer)

2,889 posts
Thanks Meter: 1,816
 
Post Reply Email Thread
8th April 2012, 09:40 AM |#21  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
More
Performance juice-squeezer
Hi! just that i had idea to make

* bootable-sd or Android variant that would kill all non-linux functionality processes. and run only linux i.e. Performance juice-squeezer
* is it possible to connect through "USB OTG host" devices into the linux?

see ya
 
 
8th April 2012, 09:52 AM |#22  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hi,
I kindly know if this can work on Novo7Basic with MIPS architeture .. (with Magic Code..)...
8th April 2012, 10:09 AM |#23  
DarkhShadow's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Essex
Thanks Meter: 278
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrWax

Hi! just that i had idea to make

* bootable-sd or Android variant that would kill all non-linux functionality processes. and run only linux i.e. Performance juice-squeezer
* is it possible to connect through "USB OTG host" devices into the linux?

see ya

That would have to be done for EVERY type of android device there is, its not just generic
If I'm right in saying what Zack is doing is one of the best ways(aside from ubuntu for android)

I'm pretty sure you can, you may need to mount it though

Sent from my ice cream powered Nexus S
The Following User Says Thank You to DarkhShadow For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift DarkhShadow Ad-Free
8th April 2012, 11:24 AM |#24  
zacthespack's Avatar
OP Inactive Recognized Developer
Flag Likes: XDA,Coffee,Android,Beer Dislikes: No Beer
Thanks Meter: 1,816
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkhShadow

That would have to be done for EVERY type of android device there is, its not just generic
If I'm right in saying what Zack is doing is one of the best ways(aside from ubuntu for android)

I'm pretty sure you can, you may need to mount it though

Sent from my ice cream powered Nexus S

Indeed, its possible but would have to be done for each device, a few devices are lucky to have this kind of thing but I can not signal handedly maintain something like that
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to zacthespack For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift zacthespack Ad-Free
8th April 2012, 02:10 PM |#25  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
More
Boot linux for android on PC
is theoretically possible:

*use advanced usb devices like soundcards, ethernet, gps, gsm in linux on andraoid?
*to be able to boot the linux i use on the android on the comp - i.e. to boot PC from sdcard - the same image i use on android - when is mobile device connected to PC via usb. i.e. can be the sdcard PC-bootable at the same time?

?

thx
8th April 2012, 07:00 PM |#26  
DarkhShadow's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Essex
Thanks Meter: 278
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrWax

is theoretically possible:

*use advanced usb devices like soundcards, ethernet, gps, gsm in linux on andraoid?
*to be able to boot the linux i use on the android on the comp - i.e. to boot PC from sdcard - the same image i use on android - when is mobile device connected to PC via usb. i.e. can be the sdcard PC-bootable at the same time?

?

thx

Unless those devices can be used on your phone/android then no

Unless your PC is a ARM then I don't think so

Sent from my ice cream powered Nexus S
8th April 2012, 07:31 PM |#27  
zacthespack's Avatar
OP Inactive Recognized Developer
Flag Likes: XDA,Coffee,Android,Beer Dislikes: No Beer
Thanks Meter: 1,816
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrWax

is theoretically possible:

*use advanced usb devices like soundcards, ethernet, gps, gsm in linux on andraoid?
*to be able to boot the linux i use on the android on the comp - i.e. to boot PC from sdcard - the same image i use on android - when is mobile device connected to PC via usb. i.e. can be the sdcard PC-bootable at the same time?

?

thx

*the linux uses the android kernel so the device has to work under android to work in ubuntu.
*you would need a arm computer or ubuntu with quem which is a arm emulator for chroot on ubuntu

Sent from my GT-N7000 using xda premium
8th April 2012, 09:41 PM |#28  
Senior Member
Flag Slovenj Gradec
Thanks Meter: 766
 
More
How do I remove the default resolution that I set?

I set it a bit too big

EDIT: Found it under bootdefault.txt
8th April 2012, 09:48 PM |#29  
zacthespack's Avatar
OP Inactive Recognized Developer
Flag Likes: XDA,Coffee,Android,Beer Dislikes: No Beer
Thanks Meter: 1,816
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nejc121

How do I remove the default resolution that I set?

I set it a bit too big

in ubuntu go to /root there is a text file called defualtsettings or something cant remember what i called it. either way should only be the one .txt file just delete rthis then restart ubuntu

Sent from my GT-N7000 using xda premium
8th April 2012, 10:48 PM |#30  
zacthespack's Avatar
OP Inactive Recognized Developer
Flag Likes: XDA,Coffee,Android,Beer Dislikes: No Beer
Thanks Meter: 1,816
 
Donate to Me
More
I have added videos to the third post along with the screen shoots, can't seem to embed the videos mind you, any ideas?
8th April 2012, 10:52 PM |#31  
LunaticSerenade's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Columbus
Thanks Meter: 239
 
More
So, the terminal aspect of this runs fine:



Here is how I'm setting up VNC (I'm a complete VNC noob though):



And here is the result:



Any thoughts?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ubuntu_terminal.jpg
Views:	7786
Size:	97.3 KB
ID:	991183   Click image for larger version

Name:	vnc_config.jpg
Views:	7752
Size:	84.2 KB
ID:	991184   Click image for larger version

Name:	vnc_fail.jpg
Views:	7740
Size:	40.3 KB
ID:	991185  
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes