FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[HOW TO] UNROOT, get phone to STOCK firmware

1,088 posts
Thanks Meter: 13
 
By tubaking182, Senior Member on 9th March 2009, 11:16 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
4th May 2009, 04:17 PM |#11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DreamingTTE

I just unrooted myself, just for a while.

Now I am on RC8, am I going to have to play the waiting game for RC9 uk or can I grab RC9 elsewhere? I have searched on this site for RC9 and it just returns 0 results.

Excuse my fatal error newbish ways, there is lots of us out there. ;o)

Thanks.

***EDIT***
It just automatically did it! Ignore my post.

ERRRR.....its 1.5 now, and im in the uk. it says firmware 1.5!!!!! build number CRB17 KERNEL 2.6.27.-00392-G8312BAF ANDROID BUILD@apa27 #72

lol Am I the first in the uk to recieve this ?

I did the same thing. But I am still on RC8... Did you upgrade to RC9 before 1.5?
 
 
4th May 2009, 10:18 PM |#12  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 148
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DreamingTTE

I just unrooted myself, just for a while.

Now I am on RC8, am I going to have to play the waiting game for RC9 uk or can I grab RC9 elsewhere? I have searched on this site for RC9 and it just returns 0 results.

Excuse my fatal error newbish ways, there is lots of us out there. ;o)

Thanks.

***EDIT***
It just automatically did it! Ignore my post.

ERRRR.....its 1.5 now, and im in the uk. it says firmware 1.5!!!!! build number CRB17 KERNEL 2.6.27.-00392-G8312BAF ANDROID BUILD@apa27 #72

lol Am I the first in the uk to recieve this ?


I rooted my fone for the first time today and played around. In the end I decided to unroot, because I need steeel and chompsms too much.
I went back to RC7 (my phone was previously RC9 before I rooted). How long should I expect to wait before my G1 auto-updates?
Thanks!
8th May 2009, 04:14 AM |#13  
Senior Member
Flag FORT WORTH TX
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
this should be a sticky... thanx
8th May 2009, 05:16 AM |#14  
tubaking182's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
Donate to Me
More
the greatest thing about the thread? well since making it i have only seen two people post that they need to unroot their phone and don'w know how. woo hoo
8th May 2009, 08:55 AM |#15  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
how long does it usually take to upgrade on its own? its been over 2 hours now and nothing..
10th May 2009, 05:56 AM |#16  
kiladubz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Miami
Thanks Meter: 12
 
Donate to Me
More
its been over 24 hours since ii brought mine back to "stock" and i still havent received the update, what the f is going on? is this normal? sorry but im a newb.
10th May 2009, 04:02 PM |#17  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 59
 
More
same here I am back to the orignal RC29 but have not received any OTA like RC33???
10th May 2009, 09:42 PM |#18  
tubaking182's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
Donate to Me
More
to all of you that haven't recieved an update yet, there is an option in settings that will allow you to check for updates. or download anycut and create a shortcut. if you do not know how to follow the instructions in this thread you probably shouldn't have rooted your phone. i have reciueved many PM's about how to do this and as much as i am willing to help you, i expect you to have SOME common sense, if you do not i will not help
11th May 2009, 02:21 AM |#19  
kiladubz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Miami
Thanks Meter: 12
 
Donate to Me
More
sorry man, didn't mean to piss you off, i stated im a newbie, i have the firm belief that nobody learns unless they try it themselves, albeit some help from others never hurts, + the version checker is on rc33, not rc29, hence i cannot take that route, if not i already would have. i guess ill simply continue to wait, phone works fine, just does not load any apps that have to be paid for on marketplace, i work for t-mobile, so im hoping that they may have stopped ota's of rc33 since we are launching 1.5 soon. quick question for those who know, is the build number supposed to be TC4-RC29 115247? this is the one i have. Thanks man!

+ I followed your instructions to a t. and have the classic "rainbow" android boot screen.
11th May 2009, 07:19 PM |#20  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
What happend to the sticky?? I culd have sworn this was stick yesterday.. PS thanks for this thread as i had to unroot my first g1 now i might have to do my second one .. argg..
12th May 2009, 08:04 AM |#21  
Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
Alternate way to revert to stock firmware without waiting for update
Hello,
This is my first post. I have been using an alternate way that I figured out to return to stock. This also works when you try to install an official update and it rejects the package due to invalid keys or device checks. You MUST already have root on your phone for this to work.

1) download official firmware image (whatever version you want)
2) extract recovery image from package to root of SD card
3) rename downloaded package to update.zip and place in root of SD card
3) reflash recovery image from terminal on rooted g1

mount -o rw,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
cd sdcard flash_image recovery recovery.img
cat recovery.img > /system/recovery.img

4) Restart phone in recovery mode and proceed with update
5)Profit! Well, stock g1 without having to flash to RC29 and wait for an update.

I feel this is a more straightfoward way to flash back to stock. YMMV.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes