FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

rtmpdump 2.0 for Android

870 posts
Thanks Meter: 264
 
By highlandsun, Inactive Recognized Developer on 20th December 2009, 07:35 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
18th June 2010, 12:57 AM |#21  
OP Inactive Recognized Developer
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 264
 
Donate to Me
More
Not sure how that will work. You need an sdp file to be able to receive an RTP stream, do you have that already?
 
 
21st June 2010, 04:08 AM |#22  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Well I was planning on streaming out via RTSP to the local mediaplayer so that should pass the SDP through that protocal?

Output -> RTSP
Input -> (for now) video file on phone
21st June 2010, 06:23 AM |#23  
OP Inactive Recognized Developer
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 264
 
Donate to Me
More
I guess that could work. Does ffplay or ffmpeg work with the original RTP stream already?
21st June 2010, 09:41 AM |#24  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Yes it does.
21st June 2010, 09:42 AM |#25  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Actually I have managed to compile ffmpeg (and ffserver) and run them on the phone without issues.

My problem now is that I can't seem to get the Android media player to play the RTSP stream from ffserver. Any tricks on doing this?

I simply want to play from a local file (I have confirmed the phone can play the local file without issues).
21st June 2010, 07:40 PM |#26  
OP Inactive Recognized Developer
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 264
 
Donate to Me
More
The ffmpeg/ffserver RTP muxer still doesn't work properly for H.264 videos without a patch.

https://lists.mplayerhq.hu/pipermail...ne/090821.html

It ought to be going into svn soon, I dunno why it's been delayed...
22nd June 2010, 09:53 AM |#27  
mrono's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
Donate to Me
More
I'm sorry but i'm just dead in the water on getting this working, it could be that whenever I try it's 2am lol. I don't suppose there's any way you could hold my hand a little bit and tell me exactly what files to use and where to put them and what to do with them. Also how to get h,u,l,u, to work
27th June 2010, 11:57 AM |#28  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Running ffserver on the phone is for various reasons something I'd like avoid or at least postpone at the moment (don't you need to be root to install programs?)

As Howard already got streaming to his G1 working (with only a ffserver on the host), I'd like to get that working. Actually I'm already trying for a few days, but can't get it working. Please give a little help.

I am using the ffserver svn version of today (r23819). The phone retrieves info using "DESCRIBE" and after that decides it cannot play the stream.

I have assumed all relevant patches Howard suggested are now in svn tree. The last patch "rtpenc_h264.c.patch" I've applied additionally, as suggested by Howard. BTW this patch is really not in svn (yet), although Luca says so.

Also I still get these warnings: "Sun Jun 27 12:37:19 2010 [NULL @ 0x1463f70]AAC with no global headers is currently not supported." so I guess there are more patches that have not made it to current svn. I am using the ffserver config file as suggested, with two times "AVOptionVideo flags +global_header" as suggested (audio and video section).
27th June 2010, 12:30 PM |#29  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
This patch has not been applied to svn, so I applied it manually, but it doesn't solve the global headers error.

url://lists.mplayerhq.hu/pipermail/ffmpeg-devel/2010-May/088678.html
27th June 2010, 08:33 PM |#30  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I was thinking... the real problem (imho) is that the media framework of android requires (for http transfer) the moov atom to be at the start, while ffmpeg places it at the end (or fills it in when the input is done, I am not sure). Suppose ffmpeg could be patched (just theory) to create a moov atom that's been filled just enough to satisfy android, could that be a solution? Http is so much simpler than rtp/rtsp and also tcp... If it could be feasible I might have a look, I know for sure the ffmpeg developers themselves aren't going to be implementing this, but maybe with a nice patch ;)
28th June 2010, 10:01 PM |#31  
OP Inactive Recognized Developer
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 264
 
Donate to Me
More
I haven't tested a fresh SVN build in a while, so possibly some other things have broken along the way. Will do a new build shortly and see what I get.

I really haven't looked enough at the MP4 format spec to know what needs to go into the moov atom. I assumed it was a frame index, and if that's the case then you obviously can't generate it on the fly because you don't know what the frames are yet. If it's something simpler, it may be possible but I just haven't looked yet.

By the way, it's quite a common problem and there are tons of emails about it all over. This thread, for example

http://lists.mplayerhq.hu/pipermail/...er/022631.html
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes