FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[aosp-gps] easy *working* gps fix

1,612 posts
Thanks Meter: 207
 
By voxigenboy, Senior Member on 3rd September 2011, 08:17 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
[EDIT] It has been verified that this "fix" takes care of the Google Maps application. It will pick up your location just fine as well as allow you to use the 'Directions' portion of the application. However, if you are trying to use the Navigation application, there is a good chance it will not work. Navigation seems to be an issue on practically all AOSP roms.


=============================================

you will need to open your " GPS.CONF " file which is located in:

/etc/gps.conf

use 'Root Explorer' and select " Mount R/W " (to allow you to edit the file
long press on it and select " Open In Text Editor "


now make sure it is EXACTLY like this:
----------------------------------------------

NTP_SERVER=us.pool.ntp.org
NTP_SERVER=north-america.pool.ntp.org
NTP_SERVER=0.north-america.pool.ntp.org
NTP_SERVER=1.north-america.pool.ntp.org
NTP_SERVER=2.north-america.pool.ntp.org
NTP_SERVER=3.north-america.pool.ntp.org
XTRA_SERVER_1=http://xtra1.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
XTRA_SERVER_2=http://xtra2.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
XTRA_SERVER_3=http://xtra3.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
C2K_HOST=default
C2K_PORT=0

-----------------------------------------------


when you are done, simply save it and that's it (may have to reboot).

now GPS works without having to do any weird GPS FIXES or anything.

==========
==========

[EDIT]: I received an email suggesting that people who are experiencing issues with this fix may have DNS problems. If that is the case, then try this fix instead:
------------------------------------------------

NTP_SERVER=65.49.70.245
NTP_SERVER=68.67.69.235
NTP_SERVER=0.68.67.69.235
NTP_SERVER=1.68.67.69.235
NTP_SERVER=2.68.67.69.235
NTP_SERVER=3.68.67.69.235
XTRA_SERVER_1=http://216.187.118.44/xtra.bin
XTRA_SERVER_2=http://69.90.74.97/xtra.bin
XTRA_SERVER_3=http://216.187.118.44/xtra.bin
C2K_HOST=default
C2K_PORT=0

------------------------------------------------
The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to voxigenboy For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift voxigenboy Ad-Free
3rd September 2011, 08:26 PM |#2  
Member
Flag VA
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Cool. Thanks.

That last line is hilarious.

Sent from the Bolt via Tapatalk
3rd September 2011, 08:35 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Boston
Thanks Meter: 65
 
Donate to Me
More
For network location weirdness, try opening build.prop and editing the line that says "persist.radio.agps.mode=[either 8 or 6]" to persist.radio.agps.mode=2 - that's the setting from sense roms and it seems to have fixed it for me.
3rd September 2011, 09:32 PM |#4  
pmdied's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 43
 
More
Can this be done through terminal emulator?

Sent from my SHIFTAO5P using XDA App
Nvm
3rd September 2011, 11:29 PM |#5  
pmdied's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 43
 
More
So far, this location error fix seems to have worked.

Sent from my SHIFTAO5P using XDA App
3rd September 2011, 11:46 PM |#6  
Southern_mind's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Charlotte, NC
Thanks Meter: 228
 
Donate to Me
More
Will be trying this when I restore my backup later. I want the NFL app to work next. Get to it.

Sent from my GooPhone 3G via Tapatalk
4th September 2011, 01:48 AM |#7  
pmdied's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 43
 
More
I'll buy someone a ham sandwich to permanently solve this and incorporate it into a build.

Sent from my SHIFTAO5P using XDA App
4th September 2011, 02:02 AM |#8  
scotty1223's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,069
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmdied

Can this be done through terminal emulator?

Sent from my SHIFTAO5P using XDA App
Nvm

not really. all you need to do is open root explorer,navigate to that folder,open in a text editor and then make it look the same. you could carefully type all that on your phones keyboard,but i personally went to this thread on the xda app,and copied it. went to the folder,deleted wat was there,and pasted it. change back to r/o and rebooted.
4th September 2011, 02:06 AM |#9  
MyComputerDoctor's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Philadelphia, PA
Thanks Meter: 629
 
Donate to Me
More
Red face
Quote:
Originally Posted by voxigenboy

you will need to open your " GPS.CONF " file which is located in:

/etc/gps.conf

use 'Root Explorer' and select " Mount R/W " (to allow you to edit the file
long press on it and select " Open In Text Editor "

now make sure it is EXACTLY like this:
----------------------------------------------

NTP_SERVER=us.pool.ntp.org
NTP_SERVER=north-america.pool.ntp.org
NTP_SERVER=0.north-america.pool.ntp.org
NTP_SERVER=1.north-america.pool.ntp.org
NTP_SERVER=2.north-america.pool.ntp.org
NTP_SERVER=3.north-america.pool.ntp.org
XTRA_SERVER_1=http://xtra1.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
XTRA_SERVER_2=http://xtra2.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
XTRA_SERVER_3=http://xtra3.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
C2K_HOST=default
C2K_PORT=0

-----------------------------------------------

when you are done, simply save it and that's it (may have to reboot).

now GPS works without having to do any weird GPS FIXES or anything.

Nice work. For someone who utilizies GPS as much as I do, this is a big help. Now I feel comfortable running the AOSP ROM's again. Thanks.
4th September 2011, 02:35 AM |#10  
Account currently disabled
West Michigan
Thanks Meter: 90
 
More
hopefully the devs will put this mod in their aosp roms.
4th September 2011, 03:34 AM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 624
 
More
Crap, I blew the damn file away and forgot to look at the permissions. Can anybody out there tell me what they are?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes