[Unroot] How to Unroot Nexus 10! [Factory Firmware]

Search This thread

t-mizzle

Senior Member
Jan 3, 2010
265
227
St. Louis
Is anything here useful to unbrick the tablet?

11rdgjq.jpg


I'm thinking erase might be helful but what command do I use?
 

espionage724

Senior Member
Feb 8, 2010
2,937
733
wiki.realmofespionage.xyz
OnePlus 6
Is anything here useful to unbrick the tablet?

11rdgjq.jpg


I'm thinking erase might be helful but what command do I use?

What padest.com posted earlier would technically be all the available partitions to erase:

Code:
fastboot erase boot
fastboot erase cache
fastboot erase recovery
fastboot erase system
fastboot erase userdata

And technically, then running the commands needed to flash the ROM (Google's own batch file below):
Code:
@ECHO OFF
:: Copyright 2012 The Android Open Source Project
::
:: Licensed under the Apache License, Version 2.0 (the "License");
:: you may not use this file except in compliance with the License.
:: You may obtain a copy of the License at
::
::      http://www.apache.org/licenses/LICENSE-2.0
::
:: Unless required by applicable law or agreed to in writing, software
:: distributed under the License is distributed on an "AS IS" BASIS,
:: WITHOUT WARRANTIES OR CONDITIONS OF ANY KIND, either express or implied.
:: See the License for the specific language governing permissions and
:: limitations under the License.

PATH=%PATH%;"%SYSTEMROOT%\System32"
fastboot flash bootloader bootloader-manta-mantalj12.img
fastboot reboot-bootloader
ping -n 5 127.0.0.1 >nul
fastboot -w update image-mantaray-jop40c.zip

echo Press any key to exit...
pause >nul
exit

Should put the device in a factory state (bootloader still unlocked though). I haven't tried the erase commands listed above myself on the Nexus 10, so I have no idea how it would play out (doing this on my Nexus 7 worked fine though, but I'm a bit curious as to why Google didn't put the erase commands on the batch file for the Nexus 10)
 

t-mizzle

Senior Member
Jan 3, 2010
265
227
St. Louis
Thank you. I was able to erase running the commands you posted, I then ran the batch file but I am still in bootloop. I noticed the whole process lasted ~10 seconds shorter than the one from the original post, as if something is missing...

C:\Users\Alyssa\Downloads\fastboot>
C:\Users\Alyssa\Downloads\fastboot>fastboot erase boo
erasing 'boot'...
OKAY [ 0.028s]
finished. total time: 0.028s

C:\Users\Alyssa\Downloads\fastboot>fastboot erase cac
erasing 'cache'...
OKAY [ 0.034s]
finished. total time: 0.035s

C:\Users\Alyssa\Downloads\fastboot>fastboot erase rec
erasing 'recovery'...
OKAY [ 0.026s]
finished. total time: 0.027s

C:\Users\Alyssa\Downloads\fastboot>fastboot erase sys
erasing 'system'...
OKAY [ 0.048s]
finished. total time: 0.048s

C:\Users\Alyssa\Downloads\fastboot>fastboot erase use
erasing 'userdata'...
OKAY [ 0.223s]
finished. total time: 0.223s

C:\Users\Alyssa\Downloads\fastboot>PATH=%PATH%;"%SYST

C:\Users\Alyssa\Downloads\fastboot>fastboot flash boo
ntalj12.img
sending 'bootloader' (1280 KB)...
OKAY [ 0.161s]
writing 'bootloader'...
OKAY [ 0.134s]
finished. total time: 0.295s

C:\Users\Alyssa\Downloads\fastboot>fastboot reboot-bo
rebooting into bootloader...
OKAY [ 0.001s]
finished. total time: 0.002s

C:\Users\Alyssa\Downloads\fastboot>ping -n 5 127.0.0.

C:\Users\Alyssa\Downloads\fastboot>fastboot -w update
archive does not contain 'boot.sig'
archive does not contain 'recovery.sig'
archive does not contain 'system.sig'
--------------------------------------------
Bootloader Version...: MANTALJ12
Baseband Version.....: no modem
Serial Number........: R32CA04NW1T
--------------------------------------------
checking product...
OKAY [ 0.001s]
checking version-bootloader...
OKAY [ 0.001s]
sending 'boot' (4606 KB)...
OKAY [ 0.572s]
writing 'boot'...
OKAY [ 0.131s]
sending 'recovery' (5106 KB)...
OKAY [ 0.638s]
writing 'recovery'...
OKAY [ 0.139s]
sending 'system' (528847 KB)...
OKAY [ 65.922s]
writing 'system'...
OKAY [ 14.817s]
erasing 'userdata'...
OKAY [ 0.231s]
erasing 'cache'...
OKAY [ 0.035s]
rebooting...

finished. total time: 82.498s

C:\Users\Alyssa\Downloads\fastboot>
C:\Users\Alyssa\Downloads\fastboot>echo Press any key
Press any key to exit...

C:\Users\Alyssa\Downloads\fastboot>pause >nul


---------- Post added at 10:33 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:08 PM ----------

I was unable to find the variable t make it work so I went into the Nexus4 toolkit and placed Nexus 10 factory files and then proceeded to flash as if I'm flashing the stock rom and it worked. Don't ask me how but it worked. Thanks everyone.
 

mag13

Senior Member
Apr 16, 2009
279
17
I have done all the steps from the video, but I`m in bootloop.
What can I do next? Erase? Format?
It would be nice if you can help me.
 

t-mizzle

Senior Member
Jan 3, 2010
265
227
St. Louis
I have done all the steps from the video, but I`m in bootloop.
What can I do next? Erase? Format?
It would be nice if you can help me.

Same problem I had, bootloop.
From the Toolkit thread:

ANYONE WHO EXPERIENCES THE BOOTLOOP PROBLEM. REBOOT BACK INTO FASTBOOT MODE, SELECT RECOVERY, HOLD POWER BUTTON DOWN AND THEN PRESS THE VOL BUTTON WITHIN A SECOND TO BRING UP THE RECOVERY OPTIONS, SELECT WIPE/FACTORY RESET AND WHEN THE DEVICE REBOOTS IT SHOULD BOOT UP FINE.

If that doesn't work, use the erase command to delete all 5 partitions via fastboot command. And if that doesn't work, go here and download the kit, then flash factory images via the toolkit. If you can afford it, donate to mskip, he is an amazing contributor.

http://xdaforums.com/showthread.php?t=2001868
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: mag13

mag13

Senior Member
Apr 16, 2009
279
17
I can not get these recovery options you are talking about. If I press Power and then Vol up the Nexus reboots
 

t-mizzle

Senior Member
Jan 3, 2010
265
227
St. Louis
I can not get these recovery options you are talking about. If I press Power and then Vol up the Nexus reboots

erase cache system userdata recovery and boot partitions, type "fastboot erase cache" for example, without quotation marks to erase cache. Then try the method from the first post.. If that doesn't work, get the toolkit from the link

Ultimately, download the toolkit even if you get to recover without using it and donate if you can.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: mag13

mag13

Senior Member
Apr 16, 2009
279
17
I found out what I was doing wrong. I had to press Power and Vol up in Stock recovery. Thanks a lot.
 

siddardhab

Senior Member
Jun 21, 2011
124
12
UPDATE:The problem is solved.I tried adb with windows and everything worked fine.Not sure what's the problem with my mac.


I was able to flash the bootloader,but when I did the last step i.e update via image.I get the following
Code:
archive does not contain 'boot.sig'
archive does not contain 'recovery.sig'
archive does not contain 'system.sig'
--------------------------------------------
Bootloader Version...: MANTALJ12
Baseband Version.....: no modem
Serial Number........: R32CB01LGFE
--------------------------------------------
checking product... OKAY
checking version-bootloader... OKAY
sending 'boot' (4606 KB)... OKAY
writing 'boot'... OKAY
sending 'recovery' (5106 KB)... OKAY
writing 'recovery'... OKAY
sending 'system' (528847 KB)... ERROR: usb_write failed with status e00002be
FAILED (data transfer failure (No such file or directory))

And yes the image files are in the fasboot directory.

Any help?
 
Last edited:

Cyber Warrior

Senior Member
UPDATE:The problem is solved.I tried adb with windows and everything worked fine.Not sure what's the problem with my mac.


I was able to flash the bootloader,but when I did the last step i.e update via image.I get the following
Code:
archive does not contain 'boot.sig'
archive does not contain 'recovery.sig'
archive does not contain 'system.sig'
--------------------------------------------
Bootloader Version...: MANTALJ12
Baseband Version.....: no modem
Serial Number........: R32CB01LGFE
--------------------------------------------
checking product... OKAY
checking version-bootloader... OKAY
sending 'boot' (4606 KB)... OKAY
writing 'boot'... OKAY
sending 'recovery' (5106 KB)... OKAY
writing 'recovery'... OKAY
sending 'system' (528847 KB)... ERROR: usb_write failed with status e00002be
FAILED (data transfer failure (No such file or directory))

And yes the image files are in the fasboot directory.

Any help?
I'm having the same problem.. No such file or directory.
 

Flip35

Senior Member
Oct 20, 2010
1,439
134
florida
Google Pixel 5a
Google Pixel 6a
OMG!! thank you for this method zedo, just finished restoring mines, i chose a mod from rom toolbox where it changes ur frameworks or something like that is a nice screen animation and my table was going crazy, it kept rebooting into recovery, but i just finished restoring it back to stock thank to this method, thanx
 

schreibman

Senior Member
Nov 13, 2011
88
18
Plano
What padest.com posted earlier would technically be all the available partitions to erase:



And technically, then running the commands needed to flash the ROM (Google's own batch file below):
Code:
@ECHO OFF
:: Copyright 2012 The Android Open Source Project
::
:: Licensed under the Apache License, Version 2.0 (the "License");
:: you may not use this file except in compliance with the License.
:: You may obtain a copy of the License at
::
::      http://www.apache.org/licenses/LICENSE-2.0
::
:: Unless required by applicable law or agreed to in writing, software
:: distributed under the License is distributed on an "AS IS" BASIS,
:: WITHOUT WARRANTIES OR CONDITIONS OF ANY KIND, either express or implied.
:: See the License for the specific language governing permissions and
:: limitations under the License.

PATH=%PATH%;"%SYSTEMROOT%\System32"
fastboot flash bootloader bootloader-manta-mantalj12.img
fastboot reboot-bootloader
ping -n 5 127.0.0.1 >nul
fastboot -w update image-mantaray-jop40c.zip

echo Press any key to exit...
pause >nul
exit

Should put the device in a factory state (bootloader still unlocked though). I haven't tried the erase commands listed above myself on the Nexus 10, so I have no idea how it would play out (doing this on my Nexus 7 worked fine though, but I'm a bit curious as to why Google didn't put the erase commands on the batch file for the Nexus 10)

I don't know if it changed, but from https://developers.google.com/android/nexus/images#mantaray
The batch file
flash-all.bat

contains this:

@ECHO OFF
:: Copyright 2012 The Android Open Source Project
::
:: Licensed under the Apache License, Version 2.0 (the "License");
:: you may not use this file except in compliance with the License.
:: You may obtain a copy of the License at
::
:: http://www.apache.org/licenses/LICENSE-2.0
::
:: Unless required by applicable law or agreed to in writing, software
:: distributed under the License is distributed on an "AS IS" BASIS,
:: WITHOUT WARRANTIES OR CONDITIONS OF ANY KIND, either express or implied.
:: See the License for the specific language governing permissions and
:: limitations under the License.

PATH=%PATH%;"%SYSTEMROOT%\System32"
fastboot erase boot
fastboot erase cache
fastboot erase recovery
fastboot erase system
fastboot erase userdata
fastboot flash bootloader bootloader-manta-mantalj12.img
fastboot reboot-bootloader
ping -n 5 127.0.0.1 >nul
fastboot -w update image-mantaray-jop40c.zip

echo Press any key to exit...
pause >nul
exit
 

SerialExpat

New member
Apr 1, 2012
2
1
I'm having the same problem.. No such file or directory.

Okay so here is the solution to you guys have the "ERROR: usb_write failed with status e00002be" on Mac's.
I had this myself and it took me a while to sort it out but this is what you do.

Download the latest Android SDK for Mac build from Google and extract it so you have adt-bundle-mac (I extracted mine to the desktop)
Then go here /Users/Yourname/Desktop/adt-bundle-mac/sdk and copy the platform-tools folder and rename it to whatever you want it to be called say android.

I don't know what they changed with 4.2 but something obviously changed with Mac's since there are 100s of reports with this error popping up with people flashing.

Step 1
~/Desktop/android/adb reboot bootloader
~/Desktop/android/fastboot oem unlock


Step 2 (This is the latest Nexus 4 build im flashing here, I placed the image files from the zip within the Android folder)
cd "/Users/Yourname/Desktop/android"
./fastboot flash bootloader bootloader-mako-makoz10l.img
./fastboot reboot-bootloader
./fastboot flash radio radio-mako-m9615a-cefwmazm-2.0.1700.33.img
./fastboot reboot-bootloader
./fastboot -w update image-occam-jop40d.zip


Step 3
~/Desktop/android/adb reboot bootloader
~/Desktop/android/fastboot oem lock

Anyways hope this works for you guys if you're having the same error.
 
  • Like
Reactions: soccerwuedo5

TheEmpyre

Senior Member
Sep 23, 2012
502
69
This guide worked like a charm and it was so easyyyy. No problems at all and I was able to re lock no problem. Thanks for the files and commands

Sent from my Nexus 10 using Tapatalk 2
 

sameer1807

Senior Member
Dec 7, 2011
460
58
hey, i followed the instructions but after booting and everything, when i try to install the ota update, it reboots and attempts to update but after a few seconds, it gets an error with an exclimation mark in a triangle and the only way to reboot is to fastboot and stock recovery and wipe/reset.
 

kpetrem

New member
Dec 8, 2012
4
0
www.culture-games.com
hey, i followed the instructions but after booting and everything, when i try to install the ota update, it reboots and attempts to update but after a few seconds, it gets an error with an exclimation mark in a triangle and the only way to reboot is to fastboot and stock recovery and wipe/reset.

Same problem here.

EDIT :
I find the solution here :
groups.google.com/group/android-building/tree/browse_frm/thread/b3ea8da367f17876/20d1c5c4282378e3?rnum=11&lnk=nl&pli=1
 
Last edited:

cspctec

Member
Jan 23, 2013
22
2
Can someone please upload the stock manta ROM for me ( the same one that is on stockroms.net, used in this video )? The site stockroms.net is apparently down right now ( I can't download anything from them ). I must have the stock ROM tonight so I can send out my tablet for a refund.

EDIT: Nevermind, their site is back up and I'm downloading the ROM now. Ignore this post...
 
Last edited:

Top Liked Posts

  • There are no posts matching your filters.
  • 12
    Here's a video tutorial guide for noobs who want to unroot/unbrick your Nexus 10.


    Drivers: http://stockroms.net/file/Drivers/android/usb_driver.zip
    fastboot for Windows/Mac/Linux: http://downloadandroidrom.com/file/tools/fastboot.zip
    Stock Firmware: http://stockroms.net/file/Nexus10

    For Windows, type: (XXX may depend on the stock firmware)

    Code:
    fastboot flash bootloader bootloader-XXX.img
    fastboot reboot-bootloader
    fastboot flash radio radio-XXX-XXX.img
    fastboot reboot-bootloader
    fastboot -w update image-XXX-XXX.zip

    For Mac OSX, type: (XXX may depend on the stock firmware)

    Code:
    ./fastboot-mac flash bootloader bootloader-XXX.img
    ./fastboot-mac reboot-bootloader
    ./fastboot-mac flash radio radio-XXX-XXX.img
    ./fastboot-mac reboot-bootloader
    ./fastboot-mac -w update image-XXX-XXX.zip

    For Linux, type: (XXX may depend on the stock firmware)

    Code:
    ./fastboot-linux flash bootloader bootloader-XXX.img
    ./fastboot-linux reboot-bootloader
    ./fastboot-linux flash radio radio-XXX-XXX.img
    ./fastboot-linux reboot-bootloader
    ./fastboot-linux -w update image-XXX-XXX.zip

    *Note – If you do not have radio image, you can skip that one.
    *Note for Mac/Linux – If you get permissions error, try “chmod 755 *” before doing all the commands and also try adding “sudo” in front of the commands if you still have trouble.

    Step-by-Step guide with photos here
    1
    I have done all the steps from the video, but I`m in bootloop.
    What can I do next? Erase? Format?
    It would be nice if you can help me.

    Same problem I had, bootloop.
    From the Toolkit thread:

    ANYONE WHO EXPERIENCES THE BOOTLOOP PROBLEM. REBOOT BACK INTO FASTBOOT MODE, SELECT RECOVERY, HOLD POWER BUTTON DOWN AND THEN PRESS THE VOL BUTTON WITHIN A SECOND TO BRING UP THE RECOVERY OPTIONS, SELECT WIPE/FACTORY RESET AND WHEN THE DEVICE REBOOTS IT SHOULD BOOT UP FINE.

    If that doesn't work, use the erase command to delete all 5 partitions via fastboot command. And if that doesn't work, go here and download the kit, then flash factory images via the toolkit. If you can afford it, donate to mskip, he is an amazing contributor.

    http://xdaforums.com/showthread.php?t=2001868
    1
    I can not get these recovery options you are talking about. If I press Power and then Vol up the Nexus reboots

    erase cache system userdata recovery and boot partitions, type "fastboot erase cache" for example, without quotation marks to erase cache. Then try the method from the first post.. If that doesn't work, get the toolkit from the link

    Ultimately, download the toolkit even if you get to recover without using it and donate if you can.
    1
    I'm having the same problem.. No such file or directory.

    Okay so here is the solution to you guys have the "ERROR: usb_write failed with status e00002be" on Mac's.
    I had this myself and it took me a while to sort it out but this is what you do.

    Download the latest Android SDK for Mac build from Google and extract it so you have adt-bundle-mac (I extracted mine to the desktop)
    Then go here /Users/Yourname/Desktop/adt-bundle-mac/sdk and copy the platform-tools folder and rename it to whatever you want it to be called say android.

    I don't know what they changed with 4.2 but something obviously changed with Mac's since there are 100s of reports with this error popping up with people flashing.

    Step 1
    ~/Desktop/android/adb reboot bootloader
    ~/Desktop/android/fastboot oem unlock


    Step 2 (This is the latest Nexus 4 build im flashing here, I placed the image files from the zip within the Android folder)
    cd "/Users/Yourname/Desktop/android"
    ./fastboot flash bootloader bootloader-mako-makoz10l.img
    ./fastboot reboot-bootloader
    ./fastboot flash radio radio-mako-m9615a-cefwmazm-2.0.1700.33.img
    ./fastboot reboot-bootloader
    ./fastboot -w update image-occam-jop40d.zip


    Step 3
    ~/Desktop/android/adb reboot bootloader
    ~/Desktop/android/fastboot oem lock

    Anyways hope this works for you guys if you're having the same error.