FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

 View Poll Results: Do You Think We Should Get This Thread Stickied?

Yes
 
1,115 Vote(s)
95.79%
No
 
49 Vote(s)
4.21%

[TOOL] HTC One S All-In-One Toolkit v4.0 [7-10-2013] [PERM ROOT][Noob-Proof]

3,559 posts
Thanks Meter: 9,751
 
Thread Closed Email Thread
28th April 2013, 04:59 PM |#501  
Super_Dork_42's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag To-puke-a, KS
Thanks Meter: 65
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darknites

No use TWRP to backup, that will backup everything.

Sent from my HTC One S using Tapatalk 2

It won't let me back it up. Would moving whatever apps I can from the internal storage to the sdcard help that?

Code:
Updating partition details...
E:Unable to mount '/usb-otg'
Updating partition details...
 * Total number of partitions to back up: 6
 * Total size of all data: 2429MB
E:Not enough free space on storage.
 
 
28th April 2013, 05:09 PM |#502  
Darknites's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,594
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Super_Dork_42

It won't let me back it up. Would moving whatever apps I can from the internal storage to the sdcard help that?

Code:
Updating partition details...
E:Unable to mount '/usb-otg'
Updating partition details...
 * Total number of partitions to back up: 6
 * Total size of all data: 2429MB
E:Not enough free space on storage.

Backup everything you need that's on the sd and then delete everything(but not the 2 android folders) on it then you should have the room to backup but make sure you also backup the TWRP backup.
The Following User Says Thank You to Darknites For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Darknites Ad-Free
28th April 2013, 05:42 PM |#503  
Super_Dork_42's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag To-puke-a, KS
Thanks Meter: 65
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darknites

Backup everything you need that's on the sd and then delete everything(but not the 2 android folders) on it then you should have the room to backup but make sure you also backup the TWRP backup.

How would cleaning up space on the sdcard change anything since TWRP default is to backup to the internal storage?
28th April 2013, 06:04 PM |#504  
Darknites's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,594
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Super_Dork_42

How would cleaning up space on the sdcard change anything since TWRP default is to backup to the internal storage?

Ya it backups to the internal sd so if you got no space you need make space.
28th April 2013, 06:40 PM |#505  
Super_Dork_42's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag To-puke-a, KS
Thanks Meter: 65
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darknites

Ya it backups to the internal sd so if you got no space you need make space.

It backs up to the internal storage, not the sdcard. It's a weird distinction in this phone, but that's the distinction it makes.
28th April 2013, 06:43 PM |#506  
Darknites's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,594
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Super_Dork_42

It backs up to the internal storage, not the sdcard. It's a weird distinction in this phone, but that's the distinction it makes.

Lol the internal storage you taking about is the sd for this phone.

Sent from my HTC One S using Tapatalk 2
28th April 2013, 06:46 PM |#507  
Super_Dork_42's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag To-puke-a, KS
Thanks Meter: 65
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darknites

Lol the internal storage you taking about is the sd for this phone.

Sent from my HTC One S using Tapatalk 2

In TWRP it differentiates between 'sdcard' and 'internal storage'. Yes, they are both actually internal storage, but the only storage available to copy to a computer is the 'sdcard' storage. However, TWRP stored the backup in a different partition than that. That partition is the one where the space is low, so how would changing what's in the sdcard partition change that?

As a different question, would it work if I enabled compression?
28th April 2013, 06:53 PM |#508  
Darknites's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,594
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Super_Dork_42

In TWRP it differentiates between 'sdcard' and 'internal storage'. Yes, they are both actually internal storage, but the only storage available to copy to a computer is the 'sdcard' storage. However, TWRP stored the backup in a different partition than that. That partition is the one where the space is low, so how would changing what's in the sdcard partition change that?

As a different question, would it work if I enabled compression?

TWRP backs up to the sd for me and don't see no setting to change that.

Sent from my HTC One S using Tapatalk 2
28th April 2013, 08:13 PM |#509  
Super_Dork_42's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag To-puke-a, KS
Thanks Meter: 65
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darknites

TWRP backs up to the sd for me and don't see no setting to change that.

Sent from my HTC One S using Tapatalk 2

I see it but it won't let me choose differently than 'internal storage'. There's a checkbox but it won't let me select the sdcard.
28th April 2013, 08:57 PM |#510  
Darknites's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,594
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Super_Dork_42

I see it but it won't let me choose differently than 'internal storage'. There's a checkbox but it won't let me select the sdcard.

Flash 2.3.3.0 then it should backup to sd.

Sent from my HTC One S using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to Darknites For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Darknites Ad-Free
29th April 2013, 10:27 AM |#511  
Super_Dork_42's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag To-puke-a, KS
Thanks Meter: 65
 
Donate to Me
More
I backed everything up, copied it all to my computer, erased almost all of the sdcard, then backed up the rom in TWRP. Then I ran the RUU, rebooted, updated, reunlocked the bootloader, rerooted and all that. Then I went into TWRP again to restore from my backup. Now it won't boot. It goes to the white HTC screen but then the screen goes blank and it stops responding. I reran the RUU and it booted fine. Then I updated again, but still nothing. Do I just have to start at stock and copy the contents of my backed up copy of the sdcard back to the phone before I reflash the rom backup or what?
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes