FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

HTC One M8 firmware collection for different CID/MID | 4.16.401.10

38,830 posts
Thanks Meter: 77,174
 
Post Reply Email Thread




This thread is a placeholder for all possible firmwares we can get from official HTC OTA's.
Your CID number must be exactly the same. If it's written "HTC__001" it means you can't flash it, if your CID is "02__001". The whole text must match!



Please READ this small F.A.Q. before continuing!


What is firmware.zip?
Firmware.zip is a part of each OTA update from HTC. It contains important part of the firmware like radio, bootloader, recovery, kernel etc..

Why it's important to flash firmware.zip and when should I flash it?
It is recommended to have flashed latest firmware on your device for best modem performance and system stability. Sometimes it's necessary to have latest bootloader flashed because otherwise your device might not work well with new system update.

Does firmware.zip contains radio?
Yes, it does contain radio, and for S-ON devices the only method to update radio is to flash latest firmware.zip

Why it's important to flash it before flashing custom ROM?
Because firmware.zip contains boot.img (ramdisk and kernel) that will replace custom boot.img from any custom ROM you have. That's why you have to flash firmware.zip first, because otherwise boot.img will be overwritten with stock one.
If you already flashed firmware.zip after flashing custom ROM, just flash this particular custom ROM again.

Does firmware.zip contains recovery?
Yes, it does contain recovery image, that's why after flashing firmware.zip you will have to flash custom recovery again, to be able to flash custom ROM afterwards.

Can I flash this firmware.zip on any HTC One?
Not if your device is S-ON. To be able to flash it on S-ON device, your modelid (example: PN0710000) and cidnum (example: HTC__001) must match the firmware.zip version you are about to flash.

If my modelid or cidnum doesn't match, can I brick my device if I try to flash firmware.zip anyway?
As long as your device is S-ON flashing firmware.zip with non matching modelid or cidnum will result in error and nothing will be flashed, so there is no risk of brick.

Do I need to have locked, unlocked or relocked bootloader to be able to flash firmware.zip?
Your bootloader needs to be relocked.

If I can't flash newest firmware.zip because of wrong modeid (MID) or cidnum (CID) does it mean I can't use custom ROM based on the latest HTC update?
In most cases you should be able to run any custom ROM as long as hboot update is not mandatory.

What if there is no firmware.zip for my MID/CID?
Try to find latest OTA update for your original stock ROM and send it to me. I will post firmware.zip here.







How to flash?
(bootloader needs to be relocked)
  1. If you are S-ON ---> Re-lock your bootloader (this will most probably wipe content of your device)
  2. If you are S-OFF ---> no need to re-lock the bootloader.
  3. Copy downloaded .zip to fastboot.exe location (e.g. c:/SDK/platform-tools/fastboot.exe)
  4. Re-name .zip file to firmware.zip
  5. Open command prompt
  6. Boot your device in fastboot mode (vol down + power ===> fastboot)
  7. Connect device to the PC
  8. In command prompt cd to fastboot.exe location
  9. Make sure you have correct modeid and cidnum (type: fastboot getvar all)
  10. Type: fastboot oem lock (if your device is not relocked yet or in case it's S-ON)
  11. Type: fastboot oem rebootRUU and wait for device to reboot
  12. Type: fastboot flash zip firmware.zip and wait for process to complete
  13. Sometimes flashing for the first time doesn't work, so flash firmware.zip again just to make sure.
  14. Type: fastboot flash zip firmware.zip and wait for process to complete
  15. Type: fastboot reboot
  16. Unlock your bootloader and flash custom recovery if you are going to use custom ROM.

RUUs variants:
Click here
The Following 60 Users Say Thank You to mike1986. For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift mike1986. Ad-Free
 
 
27th March 2014, 11:20 AM |#2  
ZANGETSU786's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Manchester
Thanks Meter: 23
 
More
thxs mate.
The Following User Says Thank You to ZANGETSU786 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift ZANGETSU786 Ad-Free
27th March 2014, 01:46 PM |#3  
fisha21's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4,306
 
More
Just got my M8 today, managed to grab the 1.54.401.5 OTA zip. Thought I'd post the firmware zip here

1.54.401.5 firmware

Code:
HBOOT 3.16.0.0000
RADIO 1.15.2133156.UA13G
OS 1.54.401.5
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to fisha21 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift fisha21 Ad-Free
29th March 2014, 07:25 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 57
 
More
this wont require me to factory reset right? i can never remember this like an idiot
29th March 2014, 11:19 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 518
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fisha21

Just got my M8 today, managed to grab the 1.54.401.5 OTA zip. Thought I'd post the firmware zip here

1.54.401.5 firmware

Code:
HBOOT 3.16.0.0000
RADIO 1.15.2133156.UA13G
OS 1.54.401.5

Can you post the recovery as well?
The Following User Says Thank You to SaHiLzZ For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift SaHiLzZ Ad-Free
29th March 2014, 11:35 PM |#6  
mike1986.'s Avatar
OP Senior Member
XDA-Developers
Thanks Meter: 77,174
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SaHiLzZ

Can you post the recovery as well?

It's all in the first post...
30th March 2014, 05:24 AM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 57
 
More
nvm...i just did it and got my answer...
1st April 2014, 11:32 PM |#8  
jonata's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Casette d'Ete
Thanks Meter: 117
 
More
flaSHINg now but have :
remote 12 signature verify fail
2nd April 2014, 05:51 AM |#9  
l1ttl3z's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
hello... so I found my mode is 0P6B70000 and my cid is SPCS_001.. Will this work for my phone? if not what I really need is jus a way to flash back to stock since I screwed up my phone so bad that most of my stuff doesn't work.. I am rooted/unlocked/s-on.. thankx for any help in pointing me in the right direction

---------- Post added at 12:51 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:46 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by l1ttl3z

hello... so I found my mode is 0P6B70000 and my cid is SPCS_001.. Will this work for my phone? if not what I really need is jus a way to flash back to stock since I screwed up my phone so bad that most of my stuff doesn't work.. I am rooted/unlocked/s-on.. thankx for any help in pointing me in the right direction

just read this again and I now know that this will not work for me.. I think I found a sys dump under sprint section.. Is that something that I can just flash with twrp and have my stock rom back?
The Following User Says Thank You to l1ttl3z For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift l1ttl3z Ad-Free
2nd April 2014, 06:01 AM |#10  
mike1986.'s Avatar
OP Senior Member
XDA-Developers
Thanks Meter: 77,174
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonata

flaSHINg now but have :
remote 12 signature verify fail

fastboot getvar all

Sent from my HTC One
2nd April 2014, 06:01 AM |#11  
mike1986.'s Avatar
OP Senior Member
XDA-Developers
Thanks Meter: 77,174
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by l1ttl3z

hello... so I found my mode is 0P6B70000 and my cid is SPCS_001.. Will this work for my phone? if not what I really need is jus a way to flash back to stock since I screwed up my phone so bad that most of my stuff doesn't work.. I am rooted/unlocked/s-on.. thankx for any help in pointing me in the right direction

---------- Post added at 12:51 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:46 AM ----------



just read this again and I now know that this will not work for me.. I think I found a sys dump under sprint section.. Is that something that I can just flash with twrp and have my stock rom back?

also: fastboot getvar all

Sent from my HTC One
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes