FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[APP]carrier name

32 posts
Thanks Meter: 72
 
By Holabalola, Member on 6th January 2011, 01:50 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
7th January 2011, 01:54 AM |#11  
sageDieu's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 421
 
More
on my USCC Samsung mesmerize it says "original operator name: USCC" when my phone in the notification pulldown and the lockscreen say US Cellular.

Sent from my Galaxy S.
 
 
7th January 2011, 02:31 AM |#12  
OP Member
Flag Luleå
Thanks Meter: 72
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sageDieu

on my USCC Samsung mesmerize it says "original operator name: USCC" when my phone in the notification pulldown and the lockscreen say US Cellular.

Sent from my Galaxy S.

The text in your status bar is the network you're currently connected to and the text in the app is your carrier name that is taken from your sim card. If you have cyanogenmod you can change if spn or plmn will be displayed, usually it will be son but otherwise I can help you sorry.
7th January 2011, 02:36 AM |#13  
chrisrotolo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Corona, CA
Thanks Meter: 469
 
Donate to Me
More
Dell Streak DJ_Steve v1.5.2 ROM froyo,

carrier name 1.2.apk, made a successful backup : /system/etc/spn-conf.xml.BACKUP

but is missing the file /system/etc/spn-conf.xml

still shows AT&T carrier.

any idea?
7th January 2011, 02:42 AM |#14  
OP Member
Flag Luleå
Thanks Meter: 72
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisrotolo

Dell Streak DJ_Steve v1.5.2 ROM froyo,

carrier name 1.2.apk, made a successful backup : /system/etc/spn-conf.xml.BACKUP

but is missing the file /system/etc/spn-conf.xml

still shows AT&T carrier.

any idea?

Try again but click no when it asks you if you want to make a backup and reboot after.

Sent from my Tattoo using XDA App
7th January 2011, 02:57 AM |#15  
chrisrotolo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Corona, CA
Thanks Meter: 469
 
Donate to Me
More
No Dice

still gAyT&T
7th January 2011, 03:11 AM |#16  
OP Member
Flag Luleå
Thanks Meter: 72
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisrotolo

No Dice

still gAyT&T

Please check if it is generating the file properly otherwise try manually remounting /system to be rw and try again

Sent from my Tattoo using XDA App
7th January 2011, 03:24 AM |#17  
chrisrotolo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Corona, CA
Thanks Meter: 469
 
Donate to Me
More
yes, now the file is there, I opened in a text editor and my custom name is in there now.

I mounted r/o and rebooted.

still nothing..
7th January 2011, 03:32 AM |#18  
OP Member
Flag Luleå
Thanks Meter: 72
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisrotolo

yes, now the file is there, I opened in a text editor and my custom name is in there now.

I mounted r/o and rebooted.

still nothing..

That probably means your status bar isn't showing the spn, what the app modifies. If you have a rom that allows you to change it to spn it would work if you can't, you'll just have to wait for an update.
7th January 2011, 03:34 AM |#19  
chrisrotolo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Corona, CA
Thanks Meter: 469
 
Donate to Me
More
yeah custom ROM, probably.
Thanks anyway I'll keep trying.
7th January 2011, 04:00 AM |#20  
Pajorve's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Osasco/SP
Thanks Meter: 44
 
More
Thumbs up Worked like a charm ... thanks!
Thanx ...great job man...

Simple and good idea...

Congratulations !
7th January 2011, 04:19 AM |#21  
secondskin's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pennsylvania
Thanks Meter: 79
 
More
Holabalola, I just wanted to let you know that I sent you a PM with the info you requested. I hope this helps you out.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
app, carrier, holabalola, root

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes