FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[SOLVED] - Manually enable adb debugging from recovery

1,557 posts
Thanks Meter: 713
 
By workdowg, Account currently disabled on 23rd June 2013, 07:40 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
2nd May 2014, 06:01 PM |#11  
OP Account currently disabled
Flag Seneca Falls
Thanks Meter: 713
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pnz

Sorry to resurrect a dead thread, but I need a bit more help with this. I've successfully followed these instructions to enable the adb service on my i9505 with a dead screen, however it hasn't authorised it. When I try to connect I get the following error: error: device unauthorized. Please check the confirmation dialog on your device.

Is there anyway to bypass this confirmation dialog from ADB in recovery (Philz Touch)?

Thanks.

I Googled it a little and it seems to be a Samsung thing. Apparently it isn't booting to recovery. Sorry for the lack help

From my Debloated Stock Kitkat VS980 4G VZN
 
 
2nd May 2014, 10:03 PM |#12  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by workdowg

I Googled it a little and it seems to be a Samsung thing. Apparently it isn't booting to recovery. Sorry for the lack help

From my Debloated Stock Kitkat VS980 4G VZN

No, I'm quite sure it is booting to my custom recovery, as I have full ADB access to that. What I'm trying to do is enable ADB access to the Android 4.4.2 proper from my custom recovery. So far following the instructions in this thread I've managed to enable ADB there, but whenever you try to connect to this phone a dialog box is meant to come up asking if you want to accept incoming ADB requests from your computer's key. Unfortunately I have no way of selecting accept (or even seeing that dialog box), so I'm hoping there's a way to bypass it.
9th May 2014, 10:22 PM |#13  
Jarmezrocks's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Gold Coast
Thanks Meter: 503
 
Donate to Me
More
Hey mate,

Sorry to necro-bumb the thread. I have been reading and have much similar issue to your self. Maybe some drivers that automatically enable adb, android usb or MTP without debugging enabled might be something to take a look at?

Check this thread out >>> here

Hope that might help (you and I both?)

Besides that I am still searching for a post I saw where you can edit the init-rc in the kernel (the guy explained how to extract the boot.img) and then decompile the kernel, edit the init-rc, recompile the kernel and then flash it back in recovery.

At the moment I am really stuck with a customer device that is bricked, so have a bash script and busybox binary that loads from a signed update.zip that should allow editing of the init-rc and add the lines mentioned in this thread to the build.prop and system.prop.

Fingers crossed it works for a completely stock device
3rd April 2015, 07:53 PM |#14  
FSDown's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Colnbrook
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jarmezrocks

Hey mate,

Sorry to necro-bumb the thread. I have been reading and have much similar issue to your self. Maybe some drivers that automatically enable adb, android usb or MTP without debugging enabled might be something to take a look at?

Check this thread out >>> here

Hope that might help (you and I both?)

Besides that I am still searching for a post I saw where you can edit the init-rc in the kernel (the guy explained how to extract the boot.img) and then decompile the kernel, edit the init-rc, recompile the kernel and then flash it back in recovery.

At the moment I am really stuck with a customer device that is bricked, so have a bash script and busybox binary that loads from a signed update.zip that should allow editing of the init-rc and add the lines mentioned in this thread to the build.prop and system.prop.

Fingers crossed it works for a completely stock device

Hi mate, did you manage to get into the customers mobile? I have the same problem as I'm locked out with no access to enable USB debugging and a home button which does not work, meaning I can't load recovery mode to wipe the phone

Sent from my C6903 using XDA app
11th April 2015, 12:07 AM |#15  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Wink
Quote:
Originally Posted by workdowg

Code:
echo "persist.service.adb.enable=1" >> default.prop 
echo "persist.service.debuggable=1" >> default.prop
echo "persist.sys.usb.config=mtp,adb" >> default.prop
echo "persist.service.adb.enable=1" >> /system/build.prop 
echo "persist.service.debuggable=1" >> /system/build.prop
echo "persist.sys.usb.config=mtp,adb" >> /system/build.prop

Thank you, I had no clue how, but my phone's (MUCH Snail, aka MUCH W1, aka MUCH 78P01) manufacturer (China's Snail Mobile) had removed from Android's Developer Options menu the option to Enable/Disable USB Debugging.

I was looking all over the web for days, this was the only way I could effectively turn on USB debugging in my phone. Thanks!
There's only one difference, instead of performing the above steps from an ADB console window (for obvious reasons) I did it with Build.prop Editor, but first I needed to change permissions to 666 on the default.prop file (otherwise it wouldn't save my changes).

Curiously, every time I do a full reboot the default.prop file somehow is overwritten with the manufacturer's original settings - that doesn't happen when I soft reboot my device though. Any clues as to what could be reversing my changes at boot?
The Following User Says Thank You to wmoecke For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift wmoecke Ad-Free
3rd May 2015, 09:02 AM |#16  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmoecke

Thank you, I had no clue how, but my phone's (MUCH Snail, aka MUCH W1, aka MUCH 78P01) manufacturer (China's Snail Mobile) had removed from Android's Developer Options menu the option to Enable/Disable USB Debugging.

I was looking all over the web for days, this was the only way I could effectively turn on USB debugging in my phone. Thanks!
There's only one difference, instead of performing the above steps from an ADB console window (for obvious reasons) I did it with Build.prop Editor, but first I needed to change permissions to 666 on the default.prop file (otherwise it wouldn't save my changes).

Curiously, every time I do a full reboot the default.prop file somehow is overwritten with the manufacturer's original settings - that doesn't happen when I soft reboot my device though. Any clues as to what could be reversing my changes at boot?

Everytime you boot your phone, the root path is extracted from ramdisk which is usually bound to kernel. As a result, your modification is overwritten. In order to modify files under root path(such as default.prop), you must change the file in ramdisk.

There is many tools and tutorials about this task, I think this is a good point to google.

Addition:
The poster of this thread try to edit default.prop via adb, which is not possible to achieve, at least, for every android device I has hold.

For the unauthorized issue, It's because secure adb, which could be disabled via ro.adb.secure=0, but if there is a ro.adb.secure=1 in default.prop, modification of ramdisk is needed.
3rd May 2015, 12:32 PM |#17  
OP Account currently disabled
Flag Seneca Falls
Thanks Meter: 713
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Given92

Everytime you boot your phone, the root path is extracted from ramdisk which is usually bound to kernel. As a result, your modification is overwritten. In order to modify files under root path(such as default.prop), you must change the file in ramdisk.

There is many tools and tutorials about this task, I think this is a good point to google.

Addition:
The poster of this thread try to edit default.prop via adb, which is not possible to achieve, at least, for every android device I has hold.

For the unauthorized issue, It's because secure adb, which could be disabled via ro.adb.secure=0, but if there is a ro.adb.secure=1 in default.prop, modification of ramdisk is needed.

I had edited both default.prop AND /system/build.prop not knowing which one to use. This worked for me on JB and I used the tablet for a while after that.

From my Nexus 9
3rd May 2015, 01:06 PM |#18  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by workdowg

I had edited both default.prop AND /system/build.prop not knowing which one to use. This worked for me on JB and I used the tablet for a while after that.

From my Nexus 9

In my view, the /system/build.prop works.
The Following User Says Thank You to Given92 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Given92 Ad-Free
14th June 2015, 10:44 PM |#19  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I am a huge noob and i dont really understand where i am inputing that code ?
17th June 2015, 06:54 PM |#20  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Unhappy
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.3.9600]
(c) 2013 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Windows\system32>adb shell
'adb' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.

C:\Windows\system32>su
'su' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.

C:\Windows\system32>mount -o remount,rw /system
'mount' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.

C:\Windows\system32>cd /

C:\>echo "persist.service.adb.enable=1" >> default.prop

C:\>echo "persist.service.debuggable=1" >> default.prop

C:\>echo "persist.sys.usb.config=mtp,adb" >> default.prop

C:\>echo "persist.service.adb.enable=1" >> /system/build.prop
The system cannot find the path specified.

C:\>echo "persist.service.debuggable=1" >> /system/build.prop
The system cannot find the path specified.

C:\>echo "persist.sys.usb.config=mtp,adb" >> /system/build.prop
The system cannot find the path specified.

C:\>
Getting this on S$..any1 here to help me!
9th August 2015, 06:28 AM |#21  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Tutorial You should've stopped at " 'adb' is not..."
Quote:
Originally Posted by avro.bd

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.3.9600]
(c) 2013 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Windows\system32>adb shell
'adb' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.
. . .
Getting this on S$..any1 here to help me!

You need to first install ADB, the installer can be found via Google.
Once installed (Press 'Y' > 'ENTER' for each option during install, this should install it to the default location, i.e. "C:").
Run "cmd" and enter the command "dir" . . . you should see "adb" as the first or second <DIR> listed; if you do not, find where 'adb' is installed and navigate to its folder via the commands 'cd' and 'dir'. Once in the 'adb' dir...
Begin typing "adb shell" and you'll see something other than..
Quote:

"'adb' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file."

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to digital_carpenter For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift digital_carpenter Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes