FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Note on T-Mobile after flashing T-Mobile radio still not 4G speeds

164 posts
Thanks Meter: 9
 
By eastbayarb, Senior Member on 5th June 2012, 05:12 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
5th June 2012, 06:29 PM |#11  
bbobarino's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag pawtucket
Thanks Meter: 233
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by babymatteo

This. Also *#301279# and select 2 change then select 6 HSDPA/HSUPA.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using Tapatalk 2

What would happen if I force hspa+ in that menu
Is that the same as forcing 1700 band in the *#2263#?
Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using xda premium
 
 
5th June 2012, 06:50 PM |#12  
babymatteo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag SoCal
Thanks Meter: 775
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbobarino

What would happen if I force hspa+ in that menu
Is that the same as forcing 1700 band in the *#2263#?
Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using xda premium

Nothing really. I just get more stable data connection/speed with Release 6.
The Following User Says Thank You to babymatteo For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift babymatteo Ad-Free
5th June 2012, 07:56 PM |#13  
OP Senior Member
Flag San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbobarino

Try that setup hope this helps did wonders for me I was on the same boat as u. After flashing rom and radio press *#2263# and select automatic band wcdma don't force 1700 that made my data very unstable

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using xda premium

Quote:
Originally Posted by bbobarino

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?p=382

Modem

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using xda premium

The link to the modem doesn't work.

when you said,

" After flashing rom and radio press *#2263# and select automatic band wcdma don't force 1700 that made my data very unstable"

did you mean option [6] WCDMA ALL ?
5th June 2012, 09:54 PM |#14  
bbobarino's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag pawtucket
Thanks Meter: 233
 
More
I just meant to pick automatic not wcmda all I'll repost the modem link

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using xda premium
5th June 2012, 09:55 PM |#15  
bbobarino's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag pawtucket
Thanks Meter: 233
 
More
Won't work its in the development section T-Mobile pics modems date 5/30 is the date not the 5/28 one

New modem link
Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using xda premium
6th June 2012, 03:08 AM |#16  
OP Senior Member
Flag San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbobarino

Won't work its in the development section T-Mobile pics modems date 5/30 is the date not the 5/28 one

New modem link
Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using xda premium

Sorry but I don't see the new modem link...
6th June 2012, 03:22 AM |#17  
bbobarino's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag pawtucket
Thanks Meter: 233
 
More
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=26982075
Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using xda premium
6th June 2012, 04:10 AM |#18  
itsjusttim's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag SoCal
Thanks Meter: 177
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rotohammer

The issue is thats the antenna is not designed for T-Mobile bands. There is no software fix.

So since it's a hardware issue, would it work if I took the antenna from the t989 or the upcoming Tmobile Note and put it in my Note?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using xda premium
6th June 2012, 05:08 AM |#19  
rotohammer's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New Jersey
Thanks Meter: 1,072
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by itsjusttim

So since it's a hardware issue, would it work if I took the antenna from the t989 or the upcoming Tmobile Note and put it in my Note?

I have a T989 and swapped the main antenna lead to use the T989 antenna on the Note, it was hard to test but I didnt see much improvement. The antennas are physically different between the two units.

If I am correct, the real fix is to purchase the correct antenna. Since detuning the stock antenna with foil improves data throughput, I feel that this is the best solution.

I just switched to At&t last week as I needed international data for this month while I'm in Europe and so far my At&t speeds are half that of T-Mobile with the foil. I'll tweak when I get home, as I just flashed the CM9 rom so I have something to play with while I'm away.
The Following User Says Thank You to rotohammer For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift rotohammer Ad-Free
6th June 2012, 06:46 AM |#20  
itsjusttim's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag SoCal
Thanks Meter: 177
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rotohammer

I have a T989 and swapped the main antenna lead to use the T989 antenna on the Note, it was hard to test but I didnt see much improvement. The antennas are physically different between the two units.

If I am correct, the real fix is to purchase the correct antenna. Since detuning the stock antenna with foil improves data throughput, I feel that this is the best solution.

I just switched to At&t last week as I needed international data for this month while I'm in Europe and so far my At&t speeds are half that of T-Mobile with the foil. I'll tweak when I get home, as I just flashed the CM9 rom so I have something to play with while I'm away.

So you think that a Tmobile Note antenna would be the only true fix?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using xda premium
6th June 2012, 06:49 PM |#21  
OP Senior Member
Flag San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Looks like the aluminum tape did the trick. I get 4g speeds at home and other places (still some bad spots, but that is to be expected). Thanks so much for all your help. The only gripe I have now is the battery life isn't so great, even with my 5400mah extended battery...
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes