GPS fix

Search This thread

affan94

Senior Member
May 21, 2009
114
48
Hi guys, I've just fix my ob gps!.. now I can get satellite fix easily outside building. I change this parameter at /etc/gps_brcm_conf.xml

arp-supl-enable="true" arp-supl-cap-msb="true" arp-supl-cap-msa="true" arp-supl-cap-ecid="false"
acSuplServer="lge.glpals.com" SuplPort="7275" tlsCertPath="/system/etc/cert/lge.cer"
tlsStopForInvPath="true" arp-supl-use-apn="true"
ReAidingType="3" ReAidingRetryIntervalSec="5" ReAidingIntervalSec="1800"

LbsEnable="true" LbsLocal="false" LbsServer="bcmlbsqa2.glpals.com" LbsPort="7275"
LbsSyncLto="true" LbsSyncCells="true" ltoFileName="lto.dat"
LbsGetGpsAssistance="true" LbsSyncLtoThresholdDays="3"
LbsCellEnable="true" LbsGpsEnable="true" LbsWlanEnable="false"
/>

Hope this will be a solution for someone who need gps fix.

Sent from my LG-P970 using xda app-developers app
 

anto_c78

Member
Jan 17, 2014
8
0
45
Turin
hello,
I tried, but I have not noticed any improvement

30 nameless rom

a) gps fix by dcop7
b) updated rows in xml file.

No satellite found waiting more than 10, 15 minutes

I'm planning to copy some files from the rom mackay .... maybe do damage, or maybe I'm lucky ...
 

mint-an

Senior Member
Jul 27, 2011
166
87
hello,
I tried, but I have not noticed any improvement

30 nameless rom

a) gps fix by dcop7
b) updated rows in xml file.

No satellite found waiting more than 10, 15 minutes

I'm planning to copy some files from the rom mackay .... maybe do damage, or maybe I'm lucky ...

yes i have the same problem but i dont try it yet at nameless rom, stay tuned.
 

affan94

Senior Member
May 21, 2009
114
48

Hi anto,

This is what I do, when I make my gps working like it should:

- turn off gps
- uninstall any gps status/monitor/test software
- install only gps test by chartcross from play store
- try to clean the gps data by going to gps test setting.
- And go to open sky (it's just for the first time)
- goto terminal emulator and type the following:

su
stop glgps
/system/bin/glgps -d /system/etc/gps_brcm_conf.xml

-Turn on data connection
-Turn on gps
-Run gps test
-It will download lto.dat and start to sync with cell tower. This is an old broadcom chip it must use lto.dat to work properly.
-Wait until its fixed. And you're ready to go.

Ps. this is very important, please use your left hand, and use index finger at the top edge and your thumb at the bottom edge to hold the phone. I don't know why but it should give better signal reception.

This is my gps_brcm_conf.xml look like:

<!--taesook.yoon@lge.com 20110725 - change devicename from vsnet0 to rmnet0 -->
<!--taesook.yoon@lge.com 20110725 - change arp-supl-cap-ecid from true to false -->
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<glgps xmlns="http://www.glpals.com/" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance" xsi:schemaLocation="http://www.glpals.com/ glconfig.xsd" >
<!--HAL Confguration: Please make sure to split the hal configuration when it's bigger than 1K bytes. -->
<hal
acPortName="/dev/ttyO0" lBaudRate="460800" cLogEnabled="true" acLogDirectory="/sdcard/gps/log" cLogEnableInitState="false"

enhanced-assisted="false"

arp-supl-enable="true" arp-supl-cap-msb="true" arp-supl-cap-msa="true" arp-supl-cap-ecid="false"
acSuplServer="lge.glpals.com" SuplPort="7275" tlsCertPath="/system/etc/cert/lge.cer"
tlsStopForInvPath="true" arp-supl-use-apn="true"
ReAidingType="3" ReAidingRetryIntervalSec="5" ReAidingIntervalSec="1800"

LbsEnable="true" LbsLocal="false" LbsServer="bcmlbsqa2.glpals.com" LbsPort="7275"
LbsSyncLto="true" LbsSyncCells="true" ltoFileName="lto.dat"
LbsGetGpsAssistance="true" LbsSyncLtoThresholdDays="3"
LbsCellEnable="true" LbsGpsEnable="true" LbsWlanEnable="false"
/>

<hal
acNmeaOutName="/data/gpspipe"
ResetOnStart="false"
gpioDelayMs="80"
ctrlPipe="/data/gps/glgpsctrl"
lcsApiSockName="/data/gps/lcs.socket"
acNvStoDir="/data/gps/"
gpioNStdbyPath="/sys/devices/platform/hub_gps_gpio/poweron"
gpioNResetPath="/sys/devices/platform/hub_gps_gpio/reset"
/>
<!-- Sample HAL Conf to enable TLS CA checking and GPIO setting.
acSuplServer="www.spirent-lcs.com" SuplPort="7275" tlsCertPath="/system/etc/spirentroot.cer" arp-supl-interface-device="vsnet0"
-->

<!-- Parameters passed to GlEngine -->
<!--gll
LogPriMask="LOG_DEBUG"
LogFacMask="LOG_GLLAPI | LOG_DEVIA | LOG_NMEA | LOG_RAWDATA | LOG_DEVMS | LOG_ASIC_IO | LOG_BBTEST | LOG_DEVET | LOG_MESM | LOG_DEVKF | LOG_DEVJG | LOG_DEVMR"
FrqPlan="FRQ_PLAN_10MHZ_2PPM_10MHZ_100PPB" FrqPlan="FRQ_PLAN_10MHZ_2PPM" "FRQ_PLAN_16_8MHZ_2PPM"
RfType="GL_RF_PALS7" "GL_RF_BARRACUDA" "GL_RF_2075_LN22" "GL_RF_2075_BRCM" "GL_RF_PALS7_BRCM" "GL_RF_BARRACUDA_BRCM" "GL_RF_BARRACUDA_EXT_LNA"
NOTE: "GL_RF_BARRACUDA_EXT_LNA" should be used for BAS
FrqPlan="FRQ_PLAN_26MHZ_2PPM_26MHZ_300PPB"
/-->

<!-- NOTE: BrcmRFwildBase, BrcmRFclkDiv, anBrcmRFclkRefHz only needed for Broadcom RF front end test chips
( i.e. GL_RF_2075_BRCM and GL_RF_PALS7_BRCM )
BrcmRFwildBase="0x1E2D6409"
BrcmRFclkDiv="21"
BrcmRFclkRefHz="26000000"
pps-enable="false" pps-offset-madb shell chmod 777 /system/bin/gpsd/glgps_tmp
s="0" pps-width-ns="100"

LogFacMask="LOG_GLLAPI | LOG_DEVIA | LOG_NMEA | LOG_RAWDATA | LOG_DEVMS | LOG_ASIC_IO | LOG_BBTEST | LOG_DEVET | LOG_MESM | LOG_DEVKF | LOG_DEVJG | LOG_DEVMR | LOG_DEVCV"

-->

<gll
LogPriMask="LOG_DEBUG"
LogFacMask=" LOG_DEVMR"
FrqPlan="FRQ_PLAN_26MHZ_2PPM_26MHZ_300PPB"
RfType="GL_RF_4751_DANUBE_EXT_LNA"
psf-not-connected="true"
/>




<!-- List of jobs can be performed by the GPS controller -->

<!-- The default job all parameters are set to default values -->
<job id="normal">
<task >
<startup ignore_osc="true" ignore_rom_alm="true" ignore_nav="true" ignore_pos="false" ignore_ram_alm="true" ignore_time="true"/>
</task>
</job>



</glgps>

Sent from my LG-P970 using xda app-developers app
 

anto_c78

Member
Jan 17, 2014
8
0
45
Turin
Hi,
thanks so much for your detailed explanation,
I have tried many times following step by step in this afternoon but
really I can't give a precise and accurate feedback,
sometimes it seems to work better with your xml, sometimes with the original xml.

The phone sees an average of 5, 6 satellites and I saw to fix with 4,5 satellites,
so generally is improved :)

I am trying to follow all the threads to have a complete whole information and
I have a basic knowledge of the SO linux, therefore my role is only as monkey tester :)

I also want to thank mint-an for his work to find a better gps on nameless rom.

I keep trying with some test until we get a stable solution.

For now thank you all very much.
 

affan94

Senior Member
May 21, 2009
114
48
Hi anto,

Did you try to hold the ob with your midle finger and your thumb using your left hand? It will boost your signal reception. Just look at the attached picture.

. uploadfromtaptalk1391479415142.jpg

Sent from my LG-P970 using xda app-developers app
 

anto_c78

Member
Jan 17, 2014
8
0
45
Turin
Yeah!! It's true, works better with the phone in that position, I've got a fix in 30 seconds and with 6 satellite!!
This is a new mystery...

The bad news is,as you know, that i can't drive my car with only one hand :) :) :)

Also without any connection (wi-fi or data mobile) the signal
is not stable and is lost frequently; it back to a view of three satellites without fix.

So I think that is a great workaround, but not the final solution on nameless rom.

Thanks for your though.
 

affan94

Senior Member
May 21, 2009
114
48
Yeah!! It's true, works better with the phone in that position, I've got a fix in 30 seconds and with 6 satellite!!
This is a new mystery...

The bad news is,as you know, that i can't drive my car with only one hand :) :) :)

Also without any connection (wi-fi or data mobile) the signal
is not stable and is lost frequently; it back to a view of three satellites without fix.

So I think that is a great workaround, but not the final solution on nameless rom.

Thanks for your though.

Maybe you can use a cup :)

I will try driving without data connection and see if its still working good.
I will let you know the result.

FYI the A-GPS always use cell towers to finding satellite position faster.
Broadcom uses LTO and qualcomm chip uses XTRA data.
AFAIK sirfstar can find and lock satellite without towers, like samsung did for their gs2..

No worries bro :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: anto_c78

affan94

Senior Member
May 21, 2009
114
48
Hi, attached are the screenshot pictures of my OB when I traveling today without data connection.
Look at the yellow dots, its almost perfect, it gives fine snr level.
not bad for old gps chip ei... :D
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_2014-02-07-17-15-47.png
    Screenshot_2014-02-07-17-15-47.png
    117.4 KB · Views: 101
  • Screenshot_2014-02-07-17-15-55.png
    Screenshot_2014-02-07-17-15-55.png
    67.6 KB · Views: 101
  • Screenshot_2014-02-07-17-22-58.png
    Screenshot_2014-02-07-17-22-58.png
    69.8 KB · Views: 96
  • Screenshot_2014-02-07-17-43-28.png
    Screenshot_2014-02-07-17-43-28.png
    66.8 KB · Views: 93
  • Screenshot_2014-02-07-17-49-14.png
    Screenshot_2014-02-07-17-49-14.png
    67.9 KB · Views: 91
  • Screenshot_2014-02-07-18-04-15.png
    Screenshot_2014-02-07-18-04-15.png
    70 KB · Views: 90
Last edited:

Top Liked Posts

  • There are no posts matching your filters.
  • 2
    hello,
    I tried, but I have not noticed any improvement

    30 nameless rom

    a) gps fix by dcop7
    b) updated rows in xml file.

    No satellite found waiting more than 10, 15 minutes

    I'm planning to copy some files from the rom mackay .... maybe do damage, or maybe I'm lucky ...

    yes i have the same problem but i dont try it yet at nameless rom, stay tuned.
    2

    Hi anto,

    This is what I do, when I make my gps working like it should:

    - turn off gps
    - uninstall any gps status/monitor/test software
    - install only gps test by chartcross from play store
    - try to clean the gps data by going to gps test setting.
    - And go to open sky (it's just for the first time)
    - goto terminal emulator and type the following:

    su
    stop glgps
    /system/bin/glgps -d /system/etc/gps_brcm_conf.xml

    -Turn on data connection
    -Turn on gps
    -Run gps test
    -It will download lto.dat and start to sync with cell tower. This is an old broadcom chip it must use lto.dat to work properly.
    -Wait until its fixed. And you're ready to go.

    Ps. this is very important, please use your left hand, and use index finger at the top edge and your thumb at the bottom edge to hold the phone. I don't know why but it should give better signal reception.

    This is my gps_brcm_conf.xml look like:

    <!--taesook.yoon@lge.com 20110725 - change devicename from vsnet0 to rmnet0 -->
    <!--taesook.yoon@lge.com 20110725 - change arp-supl-cap-ecid from true to false -->
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
    <glgps xmlns="http://www.glpals.com/" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance" xsi:schemaLocation="http://www.glpals.com/ glconfig.xsd" >
    <!--HAL Confguration: Please make sure to split the hal configuration when it's bigger than 1K bytes. -->
    <hal
    acPortName="/dev/ttyO0" lBaudRate="460800" cLogEnabled="true" acLogDirectory="/sdcard/gps/log" cLogEnableInitState="false"

    enhanced-assisted="false"

    arp-supl-enable="true" arp-supl-cap-msb="true" arp-supl-cap-msa="true" arp-supl-cap-ecid="false"
    acSuplServer="lge.glpals.com" SuplPort="7275" tlsCertPath="/system/etc/cert/lge.cer"
    tlsStopForInvPath="true" arp-supl-use-apn="true"
    ReAidingType="3" ReAidingRetryIntervalSec="5" ReAidingIntervalSec="1800"

    LbsEnable="true" LbsLocal="false" LbsServer="bcmlbsqa2.glpals.com" LbsPort="7275"
    LbsSyncLto="true" LbsSyncCells="true" ltoFileName="lto.dat"
    LbsGetGpsAssistance="true" LbsSyncLtoThresholdDays="3"
    LbsCellEnable="true" LbsGpsEnable="true" LbsWlanEnable="false"
    />

    <hal
    acNmeaOutName="/data/gpspipe"
    ResetOnStart="false"
    gpioDelayMs="80"
    ctrlPipe="/data/gps/glgpsctrl"
    lcsApiSockName="/data/gps/lcs.socket"
    acNvStoDir="/data/gps/"
    gpioNStdbyPath="/sys/devices/platform/hub_gps_gpio/poweron"
    gpioNResetPath="/sys/devices/platform/hub_gps_gpio/reset"
    />
    <!-- Sample HAL Conf to enable TLS CA checking and GPIO setting.
    acSuplServer="www.spirent-lcs.com" SuplPort="7275" tlsCertPath="/system/etc/spirentroot.cer" arp-supl-interface-device="vsnet0"
    -->

    <!-- Parameters passed to GlEngine -->
    <!--gll
    LogPriMask="LOG_DEBUG"
    LogFacMask="LOG_GLLAPI | LOG_DEVIA | LOG_NMEA | LOG_RAWDATA | LOG_DEVMS | LOG_ASIC_IO | LOG_BBTEST | LOG_DEVET | LOG_MESM | LOG_DEVKF | LOG_DEVJG | LOG_DEVMR"
    FrqPlan="FRQ_PLAN_10MHZ_2PPM_10MHZ_100PPB" FrqPlan="FRQ_PLAN_10MHZ_2PPM" "FRQ_PLAN_16_8MHZ_2PPM"
    RfType="GL_RF_PALS7" "GL_RF_BARRACUDA" "GL_RF_2075_LN22" "GL_RF_2075_BRCM" "GL_RF_PALS7_BRCM" "GL_RF_BARRACUDA_BRCM" "GL_RF_BARRACUDA_EXT_LNA"
    NOTE: "GL_RF_BARRACUDA_EXT_LNA" should be used for BAS
    FrqPlan="FRQ_PLAN_26MHZ_2PPM_26MHZ_300PPB"
    /-->

    <!-- NOTE: BrcmRFwildBase, BrcmRFclkDiv, anBrcmRFclkRefHz only needed for Broadcom RF front end test chips
    ( i.e. GL_RF_2075_BRCM and GL_RF_PALS7_BRCM )
    BrcmRFwildBase="0x1E2D6409"
    BrcmRFclkDiv="21"
    BrcmRFclkRefHz="26000000"
    pps-enable="false" pps-offset-madb shell chmod 777 /system/bin/gpsd/glgps_tmp
    s="0" pps-width-ns="100"

    LogFacMask="LOG_GLLAPI | LOG_DEVIA | LOG_NMEA | LOG_RAWDATA | LOG_DEVMS | LOG_ASIC_IO | LOG_BBTEST | LOG_DEVET | LOG_MESM | LOG_DEVKF | LOG_DEVJG | LOG_DEVMR | LOG_DEVCV"

    -->

    <gll
    LogPriMask="LOG_DEBUG"
    LogFacMask=" LOG_DEVMR"
    FrqPlan="FRQ_PLAN_26MHZ_2PPM_26MHZ_300PPB"
    RfType="GL_RF_4751_DANUBE_EXT_LNA"
    psf-not-connected="true"
    />




    <!-- List of jobs can be performed by the GPS controller -->

    <!-- The default job all parameters are set to default values -->
    <job id="normal">
    <task >
    <startup ignore_osc="true" ignore_rom_alm="true" ignore_nav="true" ignore_pos="false" ignore_ram_alm="true" ignore_time="true"/>
    </task>
    </job>



    </glgps>

    Sent from my LG-P970 using xda app-developers app
    1
    Yeah!! It's true, works better with the phone in that position, I've got a fix in 30 seconds and with 6 satellite!!
    This is a new mystery...

    The bad news is,as you know, that i can't drive my car with only one hand :) :) :)

    Also without any connection (wi-fi or data mobile) the signal
    is not stable and is lost frequently; it back to a view of three satellites without fix.

    So I think that is a great workaround, but not the final solution on nameless rom.

    Thanks for your though.

    Maybe you can use a cup :)

    I will try driving without data connection and see if its still working good.
    I will let you know the result.

    FYI the A-GPS always use cell towers to finding satellite position faster.
    Broadcom uses LTO and qualcomm chip uses XTRA data.
    AFAIK sirfstar can find and lock satellite without towers, like samsung did for their gs2..

    No worries bro :)