FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[DEV] BACKTRACK 5 on Xperia X10 chroot

687 posts
Thanks Meter: 321
 
Post Reply Email Thread
14th May 2011, 11:12 AM |#101  
Tony84's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bex (Switzerland) But I'm Italian
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by depulle87

what happens when you do?

can't cd to /sdcard/bt ^^
14th May 2011, 11:12 AM |#102  
OP Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 321
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony84

Hi, I'm not able to run the commands
su
cd /sdcard/bt <-- it says "can't cd to /sdcard/bt
sh installbt.sh


few quick questions

1) did you downloaded the bt5.7z.001 to 003
2) did you extracted the file and got a folder with file : bt startbt stopbt installbt.sh bt.img
3) did you copied all the files to SDCARD under folder names bt

if you miss any of these steps you will get error
14th May 2011, 11:15 AM |#103  
Tony84's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bex (Switzerland) But I'm Italian
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by anantshri

few quick questions

1) did you downloaded the bt5.7z.001 to 003
2) did you extracted the file and got a folder with file : bt startbt stopbt installbt.sh bt.img
3) did you copied all the files to SDCARD under folder names bt

if you miss any of these steps you will get error

off course I did I have a folder with 3.3 gb and the 5 files
14th May 2011, 11:20 AM |#104  
OP Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 321
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by depulle87

This is what I get after reboot, the only problem now is that I can not connect to it


ohk so everything is running on your machine buddy.

all you need is to type ui and then you can connect on vncviewer in your phone.

You get kind of scrambled output because of use of windows command prompt.


ohk some quick tips will update them on front also.


1) sh installbt.sh is to be only used once in liftime. till you flash a new rom.
2) startbt is to be used once after every reboot.
3) bt is command to be used everytime after first use of startbt to get command prompt.
4) stopbt is to be used when you want to stop the bt service which is running in the background.
4) and inside the [email protected] prompt you can use ui and killui command to start and stop the vncserver.
The Following User Says Thank You to anantshri For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift anantshri Ad-Free
14th May 2011, 11:20 AM |#105  
OP Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 321
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony84

off course I did I have a folder with 3.3 gb and the 5 files

ohk can you post the output of this command

ls -l /sdcard/bt

also

ls -l /sdcard

do you see bt or BT
14th May 2011, 11:22 AM |#106  
Tony84's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bex (Switzerland) But I'm Italian
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
btw now I remounted the sdcard on ubuntu and sow the bt folder war renamed as it was before, "Backtrack". I've allready changed it in "bt", now I try again

yes now It works, maybe the folder wasn't well renamed before.
14th May 2011, 11:28 AM |#107  
Tony84's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bex (Switzerland) But I'm Italian
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
now other problem:
after the startbt command I put the bt command and I get: chroot: can't change root directory to /data/loacl/bt: Operation not permitted
14th May 2011, 11:30 AM |#108  
depulle87's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 118
 
More
It works :
ROM : Cyanogen CM7.0.3 J020a K010 Gingerbread 2.3.3
BB : the .52 midified BB in ROM package
Kernel : custom kerneel 009

Just let me know what you need tested

and thanks alot anantshri

@doomlord you are everywhere on the x10 forum at anytime always helping people thanks for that
14th May 2011, 11:31 AM |#109  
DooMLoRD's Avatar
Inactive Recognized Developer
Flag Pune
Thanks Meter: 39,785
 
Donate to Me
More
@anantshri
just prepare some gsctipt shell scripts to do bug hunting (ls -l OR mount points OR path OR busybox)... dump logs to /sdcard/ubuntu_log (or something similar) then just tell ppl to upload logs here...
14th May 2011, 11:49 AM |#110  
Tony84's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bex (Switzerland) But I'm Italian
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
ok now I managed how to do and I was able to start the ui command after the bt. no errors and problems, it says that he set the vcn server config. now how it works vcn? how to start backtrack?
14th May 2011, 11:54 AM |#111  
OP Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 321
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony84

now other problem:
after the startbt command I put the bt command and I get: chroot: can't change root directory to /data/loacl/bt: Operation not permitted


are you in su

and alsoo is it a typo or you actaully get this error
/data/loacl/bt
should be /data/local/bt
The Following User Says Thank You to anantshri For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift anantshri Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
backtrack, bt5, chroot

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes