FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA
Post Reply Email Thread
Shadowofzeus Guide to flashing CM7 SRC (Source) on Windows revision 2

Disclaimer: I am by no means responsible if you brick your phone doing this. Flashing new roms can cause problems with your phone, as can flashing new recoveries, but I cannot foresee you bricking your phone by doing this. Even if you screw up flashing a recovery image you should be able to just flash the old image back and things should be back to normal. I will answer any questions you might have as I am sure many other forum members will too.

First off you must be fully rooted if you are not then you need to get there including having the ENG bootloader. Here is a link on how to get to that point.

G2 Wiki Root and ENG HBoot method

Second download the android sdk for windows from

Android Developers SDK Site

I recommend this file installer_r08-windows.exe because it is easier to work with. The nice thing about the windows files is it comes with fastboot in the package already.

Third if you are not comfortable with fastboot, adb, ClockworkMod Recovery, and windows command prompt then maybe this is not the right thing for you to be doing.

Fourth you need to understand a few things.

As of right now if you decide to bite the bullet and go and try this beta of the release client remember that Cyanogen and his team are not supporting it. Also this is not really meant to be a everyday driver sort of rom. It works well enough to be, but some releases break things so remember that.

Fifth, you will not as of when I am writing this be able to flash back to any of the Foyo roms because the new version of Clockwork Mod Recovery still seems to have trouble flashing them. Gingerbread requires the rom to be flashed to a partition with ext4 files scheme which Foyo is not compatible with. So if you want to fall back you will need to flash back to an older version of ClockworkMod Recovery.
And finally Clockwork Mod Recovery is not the same thing as Rom Manager. Rom Manager is a visual front end for some of the features of Clockwork Mod Recovery. Its version number is independent of ClockworkMod Recovery.

Screenshot of Rom Manger





Screenshot of Clockwork Mod Recovery




Okay now to the tutorial.

The tutorial is based on the idea of a clean flash. Meaning that all of your apps will be erased and will need to be downloaded again. I recommend that you do a Titanium backup and restore you apps after you're done flashing for the first time. Titanium backup is available in the market.

First download a recovery img, rom and gapps package from ether

gridlock32404's site

Recovery Images

Roms


Google Apps

or

rhcp0112345's site

Everything in one place

and Now the Nightlies!

Rom Look for Vision

Recovery



Once everything is downloaded. Go to where you downloaded the files and copy them to the tools folder of where you installed your android sdk.

Now open a command prompt window by ether typing in “cmd” in the run box on the start menu (windows XP) or in the search box on the start menu (Windows Vista, 7).



Also you can go to “start menu > programs > accessories > command prompt”.



Now on the command prompt type cd < the path to your android sdk tool's folder> and hit enter.



Now type

“adb reboot bootloader”



Once it loads and says “fastboot usb” type

“fastboot flash recovery <name of recovery.img file>”



You will see some text about sending the file and flashing successfully.

Then type

“fastboot erase system -w”



This will erase your system and some personal setting so that you can flash with a clean install.

Next on the fastboot screen press the power button to go to the bootloader screen.

Wait for it to load and then press down on the volume down button once and then press the power button.

Wait for it to load in to you new ClockworkMod Recovery Version 3.0.0.5

Now we need to do somethings first before flashing the rom and Gapps.

Hopefully you know how to navigate ClockworkMod if not then this really is not the best thing for you to be doing. Scroll down to “wipe data/factory reset” and select it. Let it do its thing.

Then scroll down to “wipe cache partition” again let it do its thing. Next scroll down to advance and select it. Here select “Wipe Dalvik Cache” and let it again do its thing.

Ok now hit the power button to go back to the root menu. From here click on “install zip from sdcard”.

Ok now its time to transfer the file to your phone.

<Side note if you would perfer to transfer the files using the mount usb setting here is a tutorial on how to set it up by Ganii

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=901449
>

Type in the command prompt window.

“adb push <name of the rom> sdcard/”



This will take a few minutes depending on your computer and your sdcard.

Once it finishes type

“adb push <name of gapps package> sdcard/”



Let it do its thing.

Now back on the phone you should see the “choose zip form sdcard” Select it and scroll down till you see the name of the rom you pushed using adb.

Select it and then scroll down to “Yes – Install <name of rom file>” and select it.

Lets begin the file install.

Now there are two way to do the next part, you can ether install the gapps package with out mounting the system and data partitions or you can mount them and install that way. I will be doing it using the mounting method because I know that works.

Now once the rom file installs it drops you back to the “Apply update from .zip file on SD card” menu
Press the back button and it should take you back to the root menu. On the root menu scroll down and select the “mounts and storage”

On this menu screen select “mount /system” and then “mount /data” next press the power button to go back.

Then scroll back down to “install zip from sdcard” and repeat the flashing sequence that we used for the rom but select the file for the gapps.

After it flashes press the power button to go back to the root menu and scroll down to “advanced”

On the Advance menu select “Fix Permissions”

Let it do its thing.

Once it is done then press the power button to get back to the root menu. Select “reboot system now”
and wait and see if it works.

I hope this has helped clear up some confusion people have been having with all of this.

Shadowofzeus
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to shadowofzeus For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift shadowofzeus Ad-Free
12th January 2011, 03:20 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag NW Indiana
Thanks Meter: 70
 
More
Why did you label this as a "RC" when there is not even a nightly posted yet of CM7?
12th January 2011, 03:32 AM |#3  
shadowofzeus's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag McAllen
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ztmike

Why did you label this as a "RC" when there is not even a nightly posted yet of CM7?

Because that is how its been labeled. As RC0 meaning that its not even a release candidate yet.
12th January 2011, 04:13 PM |#4  
raitchison's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag West Hills, CA US
Thanks Meter: 60
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by shadowofzeus

Because that is how its been labeled. As RC0 meaning that its not even a release candidate yet.

I think to a lot of people (myself included) seeing the letters "RC" does indeed indicate that it's a release candidate. I got all excited when I saw your thread in the topic list.
GuestK00102
17th January 2011, 01:59 AM |#5  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
When I try to flash the recovery it says the syntax of the command is incorrect.
No I am not putting in the quotes, I even copied and pasted it and put the name of the recovery in there, I keep getting the same error. What to do?
17th January 2011, 02:05 AM |#6  
shadowofzeus's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag McAllen
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by James_Caliber

When I try to flash the recovery it says the syntax of the command is incorrect.
No I am not putting in the quotes, I even copied and pasted it and put the name of the recovery in there, I keep getting the same error. What to do?

Can you press ctrl alt print scrn on your keyboard and upload the picture of your command prompt please and let me look at it.
12th January 2011, 03:21 AM |#7  
dictionary's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,575
 
Donate to Me
More
You forgot that for fastboot, they'll need a ENG bootloader, or it'll fail. Otherwise, pretty good write up.
12th January 2011, 03:27 AM |#8  
shadowofzeus's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag McAllen
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dictionary

You forgot that for fastboot, they'll need a ENG bootloader, or it'll fail. Otherwise, pretty good write up.

That's why I mentioned that they need to be fully rooted, but I will change it to mention the ENG bootloader and point them to the tread about root and installing the bootloader.
12th January 2011, 03:43 AM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Fyi...

RC = Release Candidate

Sent from my HTC Vision using XDA App
12th January 2011, 10:44 AM |#10  
steviewevie's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag UK
Thanks Meter: 621
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by PabloCafe

Fyi...

RC = Release Candidate

This.

"RC0" makes it sound like a release candidate. It isn't.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes