FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

 View Poll Results: What is the best screen DPI?

240
 
18 Vote(s)
69.23%
320
 
3 Vote(s)
11.54%
Like it the way it is
 
1 Vote(s)
3.85%
Don't Know
 
4 Vote(s)
15.38%

Change your phone to 240 DPI

66 posts
Thanks Meter: 7
 
By babureddy, Member on 27th November 2013, 08:32 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
I was looking for safer way to change the screen DPI to 240, but was a bit worried about installing any mods. Instead of installing apps, I thought of modding them using Xposed App Settings. For now, I have just changed the UI to 240 DPI and am looking at doing the same for other apps.

For those who are interested, below are the tweaks that I did (will continue to add them as and when I get them correctly on my phone).
I am using [N7100 MK4][23Nov]Dr.Ketan's Custom ROM V5 Deodexed|Prerooted|Note3 Fs, but this should also work with other ROMs too.

Note: I am just sharing what I have learnt and tried. But am not responsible for any kind of issues that you may face.

Install Xposed Installer and App Settings module (check out the respective threads for instructions). Once its ready you are all set to go.
  1. Change the System UI
    In the app, search for: System UI.
    Activate it and make the following changes:
    - DPI: 240
    - Screen: default
    And then click Save

    Repeat the same steps for
    1. Contacts
    2. Chrome
    3. Hangouts
    4. Music Hub - Change the DPI for both Music and Music Hub
    5. ES File Explorer
    6. S Note
    7. Email
  2. Change TouchWiz home
    In the app, search for: TouchWiz Home.
    Activate it and make the following changes:
    - DPI: 320
    - Screen: default
    And then click Save

    Repeat the same steps for Camera,

Check back later for updated list.
The Following User Says Thank You to babureddy For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift babureddy Ad-Free
 
 
27th November 2013, 08:52 AM |#2  
OP Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
240 DPI Mods from other XDA members
Reserved ...
27th November 2013, 08:53 AM |#3  
OP Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Misc
Reserved
27th November 2013, 09:30 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 77
 
More
Much easy is to install the 240 dpi mod from mannyvinny.

Sent from my GT-N7100 using Tapatalk 2
27th November 2013, 09:45 AM |#5  
OP Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by abauer

Much easy is to install the 240 dpi mod from mannyvinny.

Sent from my GT-N7100 using Tapatalk 2

Yes, even I have used it, but I did not find options to revert back if required. Its better with Xposed, only change those that you like
27th November 2013, 09:50 AM |#6  
mannyvinny's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Varanasi
Thanks Meter: 4,578
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by babureddy

Yes, even I have used it, but I did not find options to revert back if required. Its better with Xposed, only change those that you like

Reflash the rom you are using WITHOUT data wipe,everything will revert back to 320dpi.

Sent from my 240dpi'ed AweSomE Note2
The Following User Says Thank You to mannyvinny For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift mannyvinny Ad-Free
27th November 2013, 10:02 AM |#7  
OP Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mannyvinny

Reflash the rom you are using WITHOUT data wipe,everything will revert back to 320dpi.

Sent from my 240dpi'ed AweSomE Note2

Agree, and in no way I am saying your mod is not good. I used them for quite sometime.

Took this approach to avoid reflashing, when you can disable it without reflashing.
27th November 2013, 02:14 PM |#8  
rraaka's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 681
 
More
Changes to 'Android System'
DPI to 240, and the Screen (dp) to 800x1280 also made magical changes on 412...havent tried on 4.3 yet- if i remeber correctly it made the windows float too and be resizable.

TW launcher looks good even at 295 better than 320 !!
27th November 2013, 08:53 PM |#9  
dicht`'s Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mannyvinny

Reflash the rom you are using WITHOUT data wipe,everything will revert back to 320dpi.

Sent from my 240dpi'ed AweSomE Note2

good to know...
btw. love your mod. runs smooth on my omega v19 + note3mod.
no issues so far...
28th November 2013, 12:11 AM |#10  
nitol's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag dhaka
Thanks Meter: 3,979
 
More
The best is UI SWITCHER, you can change/switch whatever dpi you want. I'm using it flawlessly in my DN3V3. Just had to change the contact dpi to 320 with screen dp 800*1280, and using lg keyboard which is the best of the universe or you guys can use vinney's 240 dpi modded keyboard if you need to use direct input. That's all and BOOM!

Sent from my GT-N7100 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
30th November 2013, 01:52 PM |#11  
OP Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nitol

The best is UI SWITCHER, you can change/switch whatever dpi you want. I'm using it flawlessly in my DN3V3. Just had to change the contact dpi to 320 with screen dp 800*1280, and using lg keyboard which is the best of the universe or you guys can use vinney's 240 dpi modded keyboard if you need to use direct input. That's all and BOOM!

Sent from my GT-N7100 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

If you can post a link to the apk for the UI Switcher, it would be good.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes