FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA
Post Reply Email Thread
Decided to update the instructions for this fix.

Thx to sruon for the fix

Original instructions pulled from IEFtm's post @ Modaco


These fixes require the Android SDK and very basic ADB knowledge. You can copy and paste for most.

Make sure in device manager the driver for fastboot is installed (Win 7 downloads them automatically)

For USB fix

Download the flash_image & mtd-eng.img attached, unzip them and put them on the SD card before starting


SD Card Fix

Press & hold vol down and power on the phone
Select fastboot by pressing the power button

ADB commands

fastboot oem enableqxdm 0
fastboot reboot

That should fix your SD card not being detected.


USB Fix * Root REQUIRED *

Update - Some have reported that updating the radio fixes this, so if this guide doesn't work, try that

Run from a terminal emulator in Android since ADB won't work if the USB port is not working

Terminal emulator & ADB commands

su
cat /sdcard/flash_image > /data/flash_image
cat /sdcard/mtd-eng.img > /data/mtd-eng.img
chmod 755 /data/flash_image
/data/flash_image misc /data/mtd-eng.img
reboot

And that should fix the USB issue
Attached Files
File Type: zip flash_image.zip - [Click for QR Code] (48.6 KB, 10921 views)
File Type: zip mtd-eng.zip - [Click for QR Code] (878 Bytes, 8558 views)
The Following 13 Users Say Thank You to Calkulin For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th June 2010, 12:55 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 382
 
More
factory reset?
5th June 2010, 12:56 AM |#3  
Calkulin's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 9,139
 
Donate to Me
More
That was the first thing I tried
5th June 2010, 12:58 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 382
 
More
did you try pulling the battery and trying the same process? I dont think you bricked it, seems like something else is going on. Did you remove the SD card while it was running?
5th June 2010, 12:59 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Btw to reenable SD Card and shits go into fastboot and type

fastboot oem enableqxdm 0
fastboot reboot
5th June 2010, 01:07 AM |#6  
Member
Flag Frisco
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
You tried hard resetting already?

Turn the power off.

If your HTC EVO 4G is frozen, pull the battery out and reinsert it

Hold the Volume Down button

Press and release the Power button

You are now presented with a menu that allows for Fastbook, Recovery, Clear Storage, and Simlock

Select Clear Storage by pressing the Volume Down button

Press and release the Power button

Now simply confirm your decision: Volume Up for YES and Volume Down for NO

If you selected YES, all data including third-party applications will be deleted from the HTC EVO 4G. Once the wipe is complete, the phone will reboot to its factory fresh state.
7th October 2010, 10:51 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
No keyboard?
Quote:
Originally Posted by sruon

Btw to reenable SD Card and shits go into fastboot and type

fastboot oem enableqxdm 0
fastboot reboot

Ok, so...i'm probably being dumb here...but when I get to fastboot...(FASTBOOT is highlighted in red) I have no keyboard option...and since the computer doesn't recognize it...i can't do this in CMD or Terminal. How shall I type the fastboot commands in?

I'm sure i'm missing something totally stupid...since you guys got it working just fine. Help? Thanks

UPDATE:

When i clicked 'FASTBOOT' tonight, it changed to 'FASTBOOT USB' which, it either did not do last time, or I did not notice. Anyway, i assumed that this meant that I could actually plug it in and run ADB commands...because this didn't seem to be stated anywhere. Well, I was then able to follow the rest of the steps to get it going. Thanks again guys for posting this fix.
15th June 2011, 11:49 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 73
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sruon

Btw to reenable SD Card and shits go into fastboot and type

fastboot oem enableqxdm 0
fastboot reboot

Can you be a little more detailed? When restart my Evo holding the power and vol down buttomn I see an option for Fastboot, but I don't see any way to enter commands.
5th June 2010, 12:57 AM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 274
 
More
Can you pull the battery and try a different sd card? Maybe reformatting (full) the card may help. You could always restore using the base sprint rom and try rooting again
5th June 2010, 12:57 AM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
This is probably the same thing known as "USB Bricks" for HTC Desires... It has been untested on EVO 4G but here is a topic that explains it for HTC Desire.


http://android.modaco.com/content/ht...-b0rked-fixed/

It should be the same mechanics so... I have good hope for you.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes